Ratings based on 16 Verified Reviews

2.4 out of 5
44% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
2.8 Service & staff
2.6 Room comfort
2.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice Hotel Good Value

Posted Sep 5, 2015
Nice and clean comfortable hotel. Good value for the price in my opinion. Not in the city centre - but only a few mins on nearby tram or metro. Neighbourhood is vibrant and not the prettiest but totally safe. Only downside from my point of view is you have to pay extra for gym facilities. I was under the impression this was included in booking price. Friendly staff. Good breakfast and well kept place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Azami

nice hotel close to whole sellers

Posted Nov 19, 2014
i had a good time over there, the reception staff were very helpful.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Advertising Indoor pool but NO POOL AT ALL

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: UPDATE THEIR ONLINE HOTEL AD. NO INOOR POOL
Cons: SERVICE
Location: Close to grand Bazar
Recently on 24th July 2014, we stay in The city hotel. We booked from expedia and on their hotel website it shows that they got indoor pool that's why we booked but when we get to hotel there was NO INDOOR POOL. Wrong advertisement. 2ndly on website airport pick and drop is 140 lira but they tried to charge us 200 lira. We booked this hotel just because of indoor pool. But they are advertising something that they don't provide.. NO kettle in room for tea. Some staff ( rajab and their driver ) are really nice and friendly but most of Staff are miserable and GRUMPY. Overall I WONT RECOMMEND THIS HOTEL.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alex from USA

The City Hotel

Posted Dec 5, 2012
Pros: sauna
Cons: no internet access in my room
Location: location is ok...
The people are very friendly in general. Make sure you really have wifi internet is working for your particular room before moving in. The sauna / spa salon in the basement is just great! There are three different kinds of sauna, very clean, just a joy! ...for 10 dollars only. 40 lirs=20 dollars from the airport is the taxi charge. There is another hotel with almost similar name about a mile away in the Ahmet Palace district - this is not what you want. Your district is Ak Saray , tell this to your driver.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant hotel

Posted Oct 5, 2012
Initially when we arrived we found that the double room was booked but they put us in the large suite with no extra charge. The room was clean. food was ok although one day I found a fungi in the cheese !. The staff were overall helpful and pleasant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

not so good

Posted Sep 6, 2012
rooms are very small and the photographs are misleading theis is a 3 star not a 4 star
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad service

Posted Feb 21, 2012
Cons: quality of staff is really poor
People at the front desk are the worst I seen in a long time
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful awful hotel

Posted Sep 18, 2011
DO NOT STAY HERE. It's in a terrible part of town down a back alley, there is a metal detector in the lobby. The ACs in the room do not work, and the beds are not as advertised "select comfort beds" they are just regular innerspring mattresses. You can get a private room at a hostel in Sultanahmet for much much cheaper and it will be of better quality.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tel Aviv, Israel

Almost okay

Posted Apr 9, 2010
The hotel was almost okay, but I cannot recommend. It was nice in many areas, but was always missing something. The biggest complaint is that no smoking means you aren’t smoking. Ours was a non-smoking room on the only non-smoking floor. It reeked of smoke. The front desk couldn’t understand English, but acted friendly. They took the ashtrays from the room and gave us a can of scented spray. The room was nice and large with the amenities described, but always almost. The tables great, but no lamp; no way to control temp – staff has to come change for you; small closet. The room safe never worked – but they let us use the main safe. The spa was great; exercise equipment was only treadmills – no weights. We like to walk, from the hotel we were able to walk to the primary sites from the hotel. The tram was only three blocks away and cost approx $1 per person and was convenient for travel, but crowded sometimes. The hotel is off the tourist path in a local neighborhood that is okay (a lot cheaper food), but has some adult clubs (we saw and heard a couple fights). The breakfast was Turkish. Hard boiled eggs, bread, some cheese, and instant coffee. Used the hotel shuttle – arriving it was a guy with a friend in a small car for our family of four and luggage. Going out it was a van, but the priced doubled until we got the manager involved and back to the originally quoted price.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

gute Verkehrsanbindung

Posted Sep 27, 2015
Pros: gutes preis-Leistungsverhältnis
Cons: nein
Stadtrundfahrt, Bosorusfahrt, Moscheenbesichtigung, Topkapi Palast