Ratings based on 38 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Safwan from Cairo, Egypt

Great small hotel

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
I liked the convenience of the location. Breakfast included in the rate was very well served People were nice and friendly I hoped there was a setting arrangement in the room; seat and coffee table
5 out of 5
by Anita from New York

The best place

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
I am so happy, my dream come true
4 out of 5
by Carlos from Toronto, Canada

A good one!

Posted Oct 7, 2015 on Hotels
Unbeatable location. Very friendly staff. The carpet in my room was a old (a little worn out and stained) but the room was very clean. Breakfast was pretty good. Only that it didn't have real coffee (only instant coffee offered), and started at 8am (a little late, if you need to catch a tour).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Grand Rapids, MI, USA

A nice hotel to stay in the center of Istanbul.

Posted Feb 24, 2015
I feel lucky to have chosen this hotel when visiting Istanbul. A few things I really like about it. Hotel staff is friendly and knowledgeable. I consulted with them each morning about where to go and how to get there. It turned out the information they provided was very helpful. I also like the location of this hotel. It is quite convenient no matter where one wants to go. I will choose this hotel again if I visit Istanbul in the future.
5 out of 5
by Leonid from Chicago

We like it there

Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels
This was exactly what we were looking for. Right at the middle of the old city attractions. Those who used to or require more space may consider some other place - room is extremely minimalistic. However this was just what we needed for the two day stay. Included breakfast was really good and service was not only well organized but also friendly and cheerful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from England

Good centre to see the Istanbul sights

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: The staff were very friendly and most helpful
Location: Near lots of shops and good restaurants
Very comfortable. Good breakfast on the terrace. Very friendly and helpful staff. We were there for two nights, should have been longer. Easy to get around on the trams to the Bosphorus. Walking distance to Topkapi park. Good restaurants minutes away. We had a great stay.
4 out of 5
by mark from oakland, california

great value

Posted Oct 5, 2014 on Hotels
The good: Great location, nice mattress, robust breakfast, fantastic staff. The bad: tiny shower, street noise (although the muezin calls to prayer were a real treat and the trams and crowd quieted down after midnight).
5 out of 5
by Monika from Singapore

Perfect place to be at!

Posted Sep 23, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel location cannot get better than this - right at sultanahmet! Would recommend this place to anyone visiting Istanbul for three main reasons - knowledgeable staff, excellent hospitality and staff and the perfect location (walkable to aya sofia, blue mosque, topkapi palace, grand bazaar, basilica cistern, ferry station for bosphorus cruise, great eating places and to add to it, the tram station is right outside the hotel)!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, Canada

Magic Location in the Heart of Old Istanbul

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Cons: Location, friendly staff, breakfast food
Location: I recommend visiting numerous mosques and palace and hamam (Trukish bath)
The location of the hotel is superb in the heart of the Sultanahmet area. It is located next to Ayasofya, Blue Mosque, and Topkapi Palace. Very convenient to get to the tram line. Lots of shops, restaurants, and historical places around. The hotel staff is very friendly and helpful. The breakfast is very diverse and tasty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Maurice from Greater Boston Area

Location, Class, and Hospitality

Posted Jun 4, 2014
Pros: The location is the best. But I especially like the host and the staffs. They are just the nicest people. Hospitality is their way of living.
Cons: Though there is no elevator, you don't have to ask the host to carry your suitcases to your room (either on 2nd and 3rd levels). He just does so.
Location: 2 minutes Walk to Hagia Sophia and other attractions in that vicinity. Grand Bazaar is 2 TRAM stops. 10 minutes walk to water front for a boat ride.
If you come across looking for a vacation stay in Istanbul, look no further. Empress Theodora is it. This is a family owned hotel situated right on the TRAM line between the Hagia Sophia and the water front. Behind the hotel, it's the old palace wall in side of which are the Topkapi Palace, and the Archeological Museum. It's within a minute walk to the entrance of the Gulhane Park, and minutes to everything. Unlike some of the other hotels that are in the narrow small streets that are not accessible by taxi, Empress Theodora is right on the main road. Yet it is very quiet in the room. The hotel is very clean, has nice furniture and tastefully decorated. The rooms are larger than most hotels I've been. The beds are firm and comfortable. No tub, and the shower is rather small for a large person. But the hot water is always there. The free breakfast is very fresh and abundant with lots of selections. What I like the hotel the most is the people. The host is a young man by the name of Ersen - extremely friendly, and speaks perfect English. (His parents live by the Delaware River, and his uncle owns the hotel.) He works very hard. You will likely see him in the mornings and the evenings, day in and day out. He always greets you with a big smile. He has special business contacts that he takes responsibility for, so you won't be cheated. For example, if you order a Taxi to go to the airport, he trusted no one but the one he knows he can trust. Very satisfied!