Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 16, 2017
This Hotel Needs a lot of improvements. Its Cheap but it deserves cheaper.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 4, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Anas

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Meh.... but they try hard

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Pros: Staff were helpful. Not many guests, even in summer.
Cons: Keep hallway lights on for safety. Fix broken electrical switches. Lower the price of double room since it is so small.
Location: In Fatih neighborhood, just one block south of Fatih Sultan Mehmet Türbesi mosque.
This is an obscure little hotel on a backstreet in Istanbul. The staff tries hard, and the facilities are clean. Lower price so you need to expect lower comfort. Hallway lights are always off unless you stamp your foot to make noise. Elevator exists but is tiny and around the back of the lounge so not immediately visible. Street can be noisy in the morning, especially garbage trucks at 5:00am. Breakfast is simple but earnestly offered in windowless basement room. Some electric switches were broken. Doors are a little flimsy. Double-bed room is very small, so recommend using room with three single beds to get larger space.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york city

Simple room

Posted Mar 22, 2015
A very good deal on this hotel! Rooms are very sparse in terms of decorations but are simple and serve well for the purpose of relaxing! We had a queen bed and single bed room for us and our son, however we would have preferred a bigger room for more space. The breakfast is traditional turkish breakfast with a variety of cold cuts, jams, breads and pastas and rice dishes. Downside was the coffee was just too strong and bitter for our tastes. Hotel staff were very friendly and accommodating. Each one was able to answer our questions of how to get somewhere or where to find something. Before our trip we emailed the hotel to arrange our airport transfer and requested the same going back. Emails were promptly replied to and transfers went smoothly. There were a couple short power outages during our 2 week stay, which is common for the area, but very short as to not be a hassle. The great thing about this hotel is that it is right next to many restaurants/cafes and many clothing stores! Not so much souvenirs, but women's, men's and kids clothing and shoes. Historia Mall is also a short walk away from the hotel (with stores like zara, Mango, starbucks and KFC). There is also an ATM across the street, and along Fazi Pasa street many other ATMs that exchange currency as well. The only warning is that the beggars are very aggressive in this area which took some getting used to! I would suggest becoming familiar with the tram to access the tourist spots about a 15 min walk away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from austin

Very Satisfactory Hotel Choice In Istanbul

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: Friendly, helpful staff. Generous breakfast offering. Location. Room with a window that opened for night-air sleeping in a quiet neighborhood.
Cons: Directions should explain better how the little city plaza (w/ taxi stand) in front of the hotel must be approached by taxi from the south.
Location: The hotel is in the close-in "Fatih" neighborhood which is walkable downhill to the metro / tram stops or cross-city through historical neighborhoods.
I just completed a budget trip to Istanbul. Tugra Hotel fit my pocket-book need for a lower cost hotel in the "old city" neighborhood. Tugra exceeded my expectations, and provided much more than it had to provide as a "low cost" hotel. The location was in a lovely, upscale neighborhood. The breakfast provided was a lavish buffet spread of middle eastern meats, cheeses, yogurts, and breads - - together with bowls of exotic delicacies we don't even recognize as food in Texas. The hotel is worth a stay for the breakfast alone! My single room was comfortable (although small - which is fine with me) and had a lovely duvet cotton comforter. Best of all, having being exhausted from climbing Istanbul's hills, the Tugra Hotel's elevator works like a charm taking guests from the breakfast area in the basement through six floors of rooms. You'll be glad you are there when you finally find it!
3 out of 5
by Rob from NY

Basic Clean hotel and good location.

Posted Dec 9, 2013 on Hotels
Staff barely speaks English which is common in Turkey, basic breakfast.
4 out of 5
by Max from Rome

Clean hotel and helpful staff.

Posted Dec 5, 2013 on Hotels
Could do more to improve breakfast, other thn that a good stay.
4 out of 5
by Mike from London

Nice little hotel.

Posted Dec 4, 2013 on Hotels
Basic clean rooms, didn't have my reserved room at check in but quickly provided a replacement, breakfast had varieties but needs some improvement, would stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from nigeria

good

Posted Aug 17, 2013 on Hotels
Good