Ratings based on 99 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

An all rounder hotel

Posted Jun 10, 2016 on Hotels
It was very relaxing and so close to the beach with a short walk into novigrad, some of the hotel staff were very pleasant
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel as 20 years ago

Posted Oct 14, 2014 on Hotels
Awfull food served for breakfast and dinner. Dried through as prepared in advance and than served buffet style for 3 hours. They do include wine and beer for dinner. Housekeeping is not doing their job well - we have someone's hair in the washing bin and on the white sheets.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Stevenage

Gutted

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The position was good, lovely walk into Novigrad. Most of the staff were very warm and welcoming, shame the reception staff weren't when we arrived.
Cons: Warmer welcome! Rooms to be made more appealing and cleaned better. Honeymooners to be made to feel more special.
Location: Novigrad is stunning. Lovely walks along the sea front and marina. Very reasonable restaurants. Very friendly locals. Venice is a good trip.
We were on honeymoon. On our arrival at the hotel we were greeted with a frosty welcome and it appeared that they didn't have any record of our booking. We were left waiting for about 45mins,without anyone telling us what was happening, even when I asked several times. Luckily my wife had a copy of the Expedia itinerary on her to prove it was a confirmed booking. Once we had finally been checked in and given our room key, I mentioned it was our honeymoon as we had put it on our booking, hoping to be spoilt a little and all we got was "yes I just read that" no congratulations and no being made to feel special. So we went to our room where we got more disappointed, it wasn't a 4star standard double more like a 3star. Very basic, unwelcoming and mould around the shower cubical. Not a room you want to spend time in as newly weds. It was given a very basic clean each day and we didn't get the info pack in our room till 3 days before leaving! The free high speed wifi was terrible in the hotel but great by the pool and beach, just where you need it....NOT! The rest of the hotel facilities were pretty good especially for kids. The pool was ok but dirty on last day with stuff floating in it. The buffet breakfast and dinners were good with plenty of choice, although they do like their salt! We just didn't enjoy the hustle and bustle from the other guests, not many manners!! We would definitely go to Croatia again as it's beautiful but wouldn't stay in The Maestral Hotel again.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 2, 2014 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Branko

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels
Very big rooms, very good service.
5 out of 5
by Slo from Slovenia

Great!

Posted Apr 17, 2013 on Hotels
Everything was great
5 out of 5
by Brad

Posted Feb 12, 2013 on Hotels
Very welcoming, clean rooms, great breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Incredible, unbeadable, impeccable!!

Posted Sep 12, 2012
Pros: Great staff, relaxing environment, excellent facilities.
Cons: Nothing! I loved everything about it!
Location: The location is perfect - easy to find and just 10 minute walk the the village of Novigrad. Couldn't be a better location.
The staff were incredible, the value for your money was unbeatable, the rooms were impeccable. It's the perfect place for a family, for couples and for elderly. It has a wide variety of activities for the days when you don't want to lay by the inviting pool or private beach. I cannot say enough positive about my stay and would very highly recommend this hotel. I'll be back!!!
5 out of 5
by david

A true 5 star hotel on a 3 star budget

Posted Sep 4, 2012 on Hotels
Where do I start? I stayed for just 2 days but the hotel was effortless. We never had a problem with anything while we were there. The food was too good, and way too much food for any one person. Most definately get the Half-Board option as the food was awesome. I opted for the single room and it most definately was small, more like a closet, but it was super clean and the bed was the most comfortable bed I have slept in in a long time.The hotel is located walking distance from center of town and the hotels beach was very clean and professionally manicured. The only complaint that I could think of was that they need to have more staff behind the desk as the lines waiting for check-in got kind of long at times. I would definately stay here again, and have told many friends that plan on staying here also...
4 out of 5
by Stella

Great experience with a flaw

Posted Aug 24, 2012 on Hotels
The position is excellent: just a few minutes from the Sea. Rooms are clean, services efficient. Dinner seems a little bit cheap (I mean the quality of pastas and pizzas is miles away from Italian standards) but, considering the very low price, it's more than enough; breakfast, instead, has a wide variety of choices, from fresh fruit to jams, scrambled eggs, omelettes, bacon, sausage, different sorts of bread, chocolate crepes and so on...Everything would have been great if only the Chambermaid wouldn't have taken out our personal food from the minibar, left it outside and locked (!) the minibar on our last day...It's not her fault, of course, but it's the Management rigidity that gives such "orders" to the staff...it's inconceivable to be treated, in a hotel, with mistrust and suspicion....Hope this post will be useful for the Management to wake up and stop this, for the benefit of the next customers...and theirs, of course...