Ratings based on 170 Verified Reviews

2.9 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.7 Room comfort
2.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Scotland

Does what it says on the tin!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Clean white sheets, great shower and big bath with loads of hot water, reception staff helpful
Cons: Air conditioning - but adding this would put up the price and we managed fine without it for one night!
We chose this hotel as is very close to ferry terminal. Is not expensive and location is great. It was very hot and we knew there was no air conditioning but the fan did a great job. We had read the reports of loads on mosquitoes in the room so we went prepared with a knock down spray and we did not see a single one:). The hotel is very dated and once would have been spectacular. We would stay here again as cheap and great location - but probably only for one night.
3 out of 5
by Gemma from UK

Questionable decor, outstanding location.

Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels
VERY dated decor in a once clearly very beautiful hotel. Housekeeping was good however, and the sense of dilapidation is actually quite charming, in a way. No wifi in the bedrooms, but the absolutely gorgeous sea view from the balcony was more than we could have asked for. Great value for money overall.
1 out of 5
by Kamran from Uk

Sleepless sweaty night with mosquitoes

Posted Jul 19, 2016 on Hotels
The building is pretty and old but there was no air-conditioning or a fan in the room in a temperature 33C. The room was full of mosquitoes. I had a sleepless, sweaty night with 20 mosquito bites. I would never want to stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Old, in need of a make over

Posted Jul 12, 2016
The hotel is located very close to the coliseum and the main shopping and restaurants of the old town. There isn't any air conditioning in the rooms and wifi is only available in the lobby or breakfast area. The rooms are large and you have a view of the giant cranes in the shipyard. They light them up at night. There is parking across the street in front of apartment buildings but there are so many birds your car will be covered the next day if you park it under the trees. Breakfast is limited with bread, cheese, jam and a few pastries. The lobby smelled stale and smoky but our room did not. Overall I think the hotel is in need of a major makeover.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Glorious (& tired) old style

Posted Jun 16, 2016 on Hotels
Easy walk to amphitheatre and town for restaurants. Our room overlooked the port and the light show on the cranes at night.
4 out of 5
by Emma from Melbourne

Old charm would stay again

Posted Jun 11, 2016 on Hotels
Great staff, really helpful and friendly. The building is amazing and has lots of character. The room was really massive but basic. Place is great value for money! Walking distance to bus station, ferry, city centre, local bus stop & monuments! Great view of harbour too.
1 out of 5
by Keith

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 18, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Peter from Manchester

A hotel at the of a glorious life

Posted Sep 9, 2015 on Hotels
I like 19th century hotels and was prepared for problems by the reviews. But I did not expect to be greeted by a rude and bossy receptionist or banished from the sunny terrace with good views because it had to be locked -ie for the convenience of staff, not guests. The breakfast in luxurious surroundings once used by film stars and royalty was mainly bread and beverages- no cereals, fruit, eggs.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2015 on Hotels
Booked this at short notice for business trip. Location is excellent, easy walking to Old Town & amphitheatre. Room was basic but clean & comfortable. No air-con. Continental breakfast was OK although the choice was limited. Good if all you need is somewhere to sleep. No hotel amenities but bars, restaurants & shops are only 10 mins away. Decor could benefit from a bit of tender loving care but I found this added to it's "faded grandeur" appeal.