Ratings based on 92 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by Robert from Vicenza

Porec Aug 16

Posted Aug 22, 2016 on Hotels
I was disappointed in my stay at the Crystal. The room was large but the bedding and bath linens were not of 4 star quality. Had problems with pre-paid reservation. It showed up as not having been paid. This was at check in but it was not corrected 3 days later at check out! Food was plentiful but not as good as it could have been. The mattress was terrible and the pillows were "dead". Some water damage in the bathroom (rm 220). Overall the staff was courteous and pleasant. I will look for alternatives the next time I visit Porec.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Watford

Good hotel in extensive grounds

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: Its position, the pool facilities, its cleanliness and the friendly, efficient, helpful staff.
Cons: Evening entertainment was weak
Location: Hotel has lovely grounds, a park and beach nearby. Porec 30 mins walk has lots of shops and restaurants. Lots of boat trips/cycling/walking available
We had a good stay at this comfortable hotel. Arrived at 11 am but check-in not available until 2 pm, so had to find something to do for 3 hrs (walked to the beach and took lunch at local bar). Porec is a 30 minute walk but for those less able there is a land train costing approx £1 each way. Our room was very clean with plenty of room for three of us. Hotel is secluded and has good facilities - pool, bar, grounds. Entertainment in the evening is not a strong point. Staff were very attentive, helpful and friendly. Restaurant served good breakfasts and in the evenings a good selection of salads, fish dishes, main meals and desserts. Porec is a lovely town with many shops and restaurants and a busy harbour ie boat tours, fishing trips etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Lovely hotel

Posted Aug 31, 2015
We had a lovely time at the Valamar Crystal. It is a 20-25 minute walk along the sea front to Porec. The food was excellent with buffets to suit all tastes. The pool and other facilities were very good and the service was excellent. the room was very comfortable and clean.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay overall

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Overall a really nice hotel with good facilities and (buffet) food as well as friendly and helpful staff. I suppose given the location and other Valamar hotels nextdoor, the area could be considered a "resort". The hotel is marketed as 4 star, but I would give the room 3 max. Just about every activity / amenity incurred additional expense. We were booked half board - after finding out what those costs were and considering the above, we came away feeling our stay was overpriced - even though we enjoyed ourselves.
4 out of 5
by HOSAM from Jeddah- Saudi Arabia

Good place for a summer vacation in Europe

Posted Aug 25, 2015 on Hotels
Overall, our stay was good. The hotel is very busy in an area which is very poor to such hotel and services. They are good in making good programs for the whole family. Every night, there is a party for the kids and another for adults. Everyday, there is a schedule of different actions to be done fro every person in the family. The Swimming pool is very good containing Jacuzzi. Beach is not attractive but in two minutes walking. Beach sports are also available like Bicycles, Jet Skies, Banana Boats. Rooms are not very conferrable as we felt the heat different nights due to air-condition. I made a complain first day and found the engineer two days later. Toiletries and towels are not best quality. You better bring yours. Food is very good in Breakfast and Dinner. Reception staff are not as kind as sport and activity staff. After all, we had a good time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Excellent Hotel, Friendly Staff, Good Food

Posted Aug 4, 2015
Pros: Quiet room and excellent buffet food
Cons: The air conditioning problem was obviously known about (I suspect they try it on and see if you complain) so do!
Location: Lots of activities nearby, and the Segway hire was fun. Car is required if you want to travel inland to the hilltop villages.
The Crystal was a very smart hotel, with helpful staff and excellent buffet breakfasts and evening meals. We were away from the hotel for much of the day travelling around but if you wanted to stay on-site there where many organised events and entertainment. The only issue we had was the air conditioning in the room which could not lower the temperature below 28C! A room change cured this and indeed was a much large room so much better overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Geddington

Great hotel with good amenities and close to sea.

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Had a fantastic holiday. Hotel, food, staff, amenities and trips from hotel all fab! Will definitely return to Porec and Valamar Crystal! Loved it!
5 out of 5
by Robert from Tucson, AZ

Still great

Posted Jul 27, 2014 on Hotels
We stayed here 4 years ago and had a very good experience. We were not disappointed this time either. Still great location, small, but comfortable rooms with AC, better mattresses this time, extra pillows for free, great food with half-board, friendly staff. The beach has been improved with umbrellas. Porec is still charming and it's worth to check out the surrounding wine country for some wine tasting. We will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Nice Hotel and Resort

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Close to the sea.
Cons: Offer choice of meal deal.
Location: This hotel is close, by driving, to Porec stari Grad (city center) Do not miss the Euphrasian Cathedral (UNESCO world heritage site)
Unfortunatly, we arrived late and missed the diner for wich we paid for but did not receive. The breakfast was great with a lot of choices for everybody.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Pros: location, pool, nice size rooms. Shower was goofy, tiny, for such a large bathroom
Cons: mattresses, pillows are uncomfortable
pleasant stay, good location in Istria for further exploration, nice heated pool with jacuzzi jets to relax after a long day of sightseeing. Breakfast was varied and generous. Dinner was a zoo.Service was 7-9. Best to go after 8:30. They charge you extra for WATER(!) as well as soft drinks, not just for wine and beer at dinner. Takes forever for the waiters to provide drinks to the table. At least they haven't started charging for coffee and juice at breakfast. YET....