Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.2 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
The premises are interesting with multiple levels trees and flowers. The breakfast was alright with a spectacular -though not too close- view of the sea. The room had a cute little balcony with the same view. Fortunately, no other guests were around on their balconies as we would have been sitting too close. The room however leaves much to be desired. There was a smell of dampness in our room and the mattress was not comfortable. The bathroom needs an upgrade as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Great value for money

Posted Sep 7, 2016
Pros: Location Food Cleanliness
Cons: Rooms could be updated (leaking bathroom tap, no air con downstairs in family room) Smoother slopes to make walking around complex easier.
Location: Beautiful beach nearby (Voulisma). Some supermarkets and restaurants nearby too. Get the bus from right outside to Agios Nikolaos for a stroll
For the price we paid (£450 for 9 days for a family room at the end of August) the hotel exceeded our expectations. It is located on a hill with a steep slope up and many steps around the complex. For this reason I think it should be made clear that this isn't for people with walking difficulties. Despite this, the views from the restaurant were worth it as well as gorgeous sea views from the rooms. The hotel is 800m from a great beach and there is a free shuttle three times a day to the beach. It is a bit of a walk but we opted for it on most days given the added flexibility. The food was the best thing. For a 2* hotel in Crete I was expecting continental breakfast and a fairly simple dinner (we were half board). Breakfast was in fact sausages, some sort of egg (boiled and fried or scrambled), bacon, yoghurts, salads, cheeses, cereals etc.. etc. There was also a large range at dinner to the extent that after 9 days we were still looking forward to it and hadn't gotten bored. There was a different main dish each night (often Greek) with spaghetti for those looking for a less adventurous option as well as ice creams, fruit and a caramel for desert. The area around the hotel is very quiet though this didn't bother us too much. Most of the guests are Polish but again this wasn't an issue and most seemed friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Heraklion Crete

Nice hotel for relaxing

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: The location, the food, the swimming pool. It is a family hotel and also for couples.
Location: The hotel is at the village Istro, near the exotic beach Voulisma and near the town of Agios Nikolaos which is the most tousristic town in Lasithi.
It was a very relaxing days for our family. The children loves this place. It was the second time that we went to this hotel. The rooms are cleaned, the staff was very polite, the food was very good. The internet connection sometimes was fast and sometimes was very slow.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Nice hotel, close to two lovely beaches .

Posted Jul 27, 2016
We just came back from elpida. It's a lovely hotel close to two lovely beaches if you looking for typical relax as it could be a little bit boring . Staff are nice and friendly , hotel clean , food it's a bit boring and there is small selection of meals pretty much every day same , also snack at bar it's very poor as for a large amount of people there is like maybe 20 tosties and nothing else. Very poor selection of alkochol on all inclusive stay and it's very watery , that's only minuses. But overall it's a lovely little , quiet town for nice family holiday .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent run hotel, great value for money

Posted Jul 26, 2015
Brilliant hotel in remote location, but with great shuttle and bus service to nearby beaches and towns. Loved the staff and their willingness to help.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Surrey, England

Good Value for Money

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: I loved the views from my room and remoteness of the hotel's location.
Cons: The food I received for breakfast was extremely bland. The addition of fresh fruit would have been welcome.
Location: The location was perfect. Easily within walking distance of the two local beaches and opposite the local bus stop so local travel was easy.
I spent a week in June at Elpida in a standard single room with breakfast buffet included. The trip was good value for money, but as a lone female traveller, I spent a lot of my time on my own because the other guests were all Eastern Europeans. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, even managing to accommodate my dietary requirements for breakfast - I am coeliac. Although my room was very basic I had a large terrace area with a fantastic view of the sea in front and mountains behind. The nearby beaches of Voulisma and Panteleimonas were stunning and not as crowded as the beaches in Aghios Nikolaos.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kirsten from Cornwall

Simple but lovely

Posted Aug 30, 2013
Pros: The higgledy-piggledy and slightly quirky layout; the ample seating areas; clean and safe pools; good food.
Cons: The rooms were on the basic side, but perfectly adequate and were in fact better than expected for a 2*. Go with realistic expectations.
Location: The location is stunning and the area relatively unspoilt. Surrounded by mountains and close to small, pretty beaches we found it to be quite idyllic.
We booked the Elpida at very short notice so knew we were taking pot luck, especially with it being only 2*. We couldn't have been more pleasantly surprised though - aside from an initial mix-up with our room (we had booked a two bedroom and were given a one bedroom... very swiftly resolved by the owner). The apartment was simple/basic but perfectly comfortable with a terrace and an amazing view. We went half board and have to say the food was great and offered a good variety. We used the pool a couple of times and the children's pool was perfect for our 5 and 7 year olds. Most days we headed to the beach which is probably half a mile away - a good 20 minute walk with young children and quite hard work in the August heat, but absolutely worth it for the peaceful, gorgeous beach it led to. There are a couple of bakeries, a supermarket and taverna en route so plenty of opportunities for cold refreshment! The staff we encountered at the Elpida were friendly and helpful and in all I would not only recommend it but would be very happy to return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Snuskete hotell

Posted Sep 21, 2016 on Hotels
Snuskete hotell i kjedelig område. Masse bråk med bingo og karaoke hver kveld. Trist frokost og dårlig rengjøring. Anbefaler ikke dette hotellet selv om det er billig. Vi valgte et par overnattinger her fordi vi ville besøke Spinalonga, og vi tok båt cruise fot fra Agios Nikolaus, veldig bra.
3 out of 5
by Stéphane from Nantes

Bien

Posted Aug 13, 2016 on Hotels
Juste bien.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Milano

Grazioso hotel

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Su una collinetta a 2 minuti dalla spiaggia allestita con ombrelloni al costo di 7.50 euro per 2 lettini e ombrellone . Personale molto disonibile.