Ratings based on 478 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 25, 2017
They allowed us to check-in 3 hours early and didn't charged us extra. They were awesome! My husband played golf and payed for a 9 hole tea but because there wasn't many people because of the rain in the morning they let him play 18 hole with no extra charges. He had a great time and looking forward to come back next year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 28, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
Your review has made our day! We are glad that everything went smoothly during check-in. It is nice that you found everything to be of great value and we will let our team know that you had an excellent stay. Thank you, and we look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Eaglewood Resort & Spa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 13, 2017
Excellent stay, great hotel and friendly staff. Amazing time with the family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 14, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We are delighted that you had such an excellent stay! We understand the value of a great impression, and it is flattering that you were impressed with our property. We will let our team know that you found everything to be amazing. Thank you, and we hope to welcome you back soon to our resort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL.

Not worth my money.

Posted Jul 3, 2017
Pros: NOTHING!
Cons: EVERYTHING.
Location: 45 minute drive from home.
Total disappointment! This reservation was NOT worth my money. First of all, the head board to the bed was extremely dirty...finger prints, dust, smudges, and sticky areas, very disgusting. Second, what really threw me off was when I went to open a water bottle that was behind with TV, in front of the ice bucket, both of the waters in room were OPEN! I could not believe this. There were also brown-red stains on the bath room door. A week prior to check in, I called the hotel and asked if my room will have a balcony and they said "yes", I arrive and there is no balcony.... I called the front desk and I was told that since I booked though Expedia that there is nothing they can do!! The pool is located across from the hotel its self, and it was also dirty. The tile all around the hot tub seemed like it was not been clean lately, and there were black/dirt bubbles that developed once we turned the hot tub on. We Never again will I return or recommend this "resort" to someone. We checked out early.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 8, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We appreciate your comments. We sincerely apologize that you were not fully satisfied with our property and your room as this is not we hope to offer our guests. A high standard of cleanliness is important to deliver throughout our resort, and we will make improvements to our services. Thank you.
5 out of 5
by Ruth

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 21, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Mark

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 17, 2017 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Horrible Place to Stay

Posted May 7, 2017
Our stay at this hotel was the worst experience we have ever had. The jacuzzi was broken. Our room door would not close(they could not fix the door). I paid for a room with a "view" and when the manager moved our room after our door was broken, he would not move us to a similar room with a view. My husband and I both had charges on our credit cards that were incorrect. The restaurant overcharged us. The manager was rude and refused to help make our stay enjoyable. If you are looking for a relaxing stay, do not stay here.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We regret any inconveniences you had with your room. While we strive to provide alternate rooms, there are times when we are unable to do so due to availability. We apologize that you did not receive excellent service from our team and we will address all of these concerns with them. Thank you.
3 out of 5
by Celestia

Too high priced for was it was.

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
Pool area is across the parking lot so you have to go outside to access it. Rooms were nice but the bed was very hard. Not very comfortable. Breakfast was great though!!! Spa massages were a bit high priced but they did a great job. Over all nice, especially if you like to golf, but a little high priced for what it was. Otherwise we won't be going back.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 9, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
It is flattering to read that you were very impressed with your breakfast and the massage at our spa! However, we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you had with the layout of our resort and with your accommodations. A relaxing stay is important, so we will speak to our team about updating the amenities in our rooms. We are glad that you had an overall great time, and we hope to restore your confidence in us for another stay.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from o

Dead Cockroaches on the side of our bed.

Posted Apr 12, 2017
I found 2 Dead Cockroaches Under our bed the morning after our stay as I was picking up before we checked out - I showed my husband and it was absolutely nasty and gross. I never checked In the bed after we left.... I didn't want to know. I just wanted to get out of there as fast as Possible. If you don't mind hanging out with dead cockRoaches in a hotel room you Paid $140 for, this is the room for you.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 15, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
All of our guests' feedback is welcomed and we thank you for sharing your concerns with us. We will look into and address any concerns as necessary. We regret we missed the mark on ensuring your complete satisfaction. We hope you'll give us the opportunity to welcome you back and win you over.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palos Heights, Illinois

A BIG DISAPPOINTMENT

Posted Apr 8, 2017
Pros: The bowling alley was nice but again opening at 5:00. If you picked this hotel for fun for kids - it all starts out pretty late.
Cons: Cleanliness. Nice restaurant or at least one kid friendly which would appeal to adults as well as kids.
Location: NOTHING! Unless you golf - you drive 25 minutes to Woodfield Mall.
Our bed had black fuzz on the sheets. Doesn't an "indoor pool" mean inside the hotel? NO! You had to walk to the fitness center outside before and after swimming. I picked the hotel strictly for the indoor pool for my grand-daughter. She froze going back and forth when it was possible for her to use the pool, it is also for members which always had someone swimming or having classes. Overall I think this hotel was definitely one of the worse hotels I have ever stayed at. To walk some place was like walking into a maze from your room to the pool!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 11, 2017 by HotelMgmt, Hotel Management
We appreciate your comments. It is disappointing to read that you did not have a great stay and we do apologize for any inconveniences you had with the layout of our resort. We will speak to our team about your concerns. Thank you, and we hope to restore your confidence in us for another stay.
5 out of 5
by Roberto

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 7, 2017 on Hotels