Ratings based on 823 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, Hawaii

Great location close to Cornell University

Posted Oct 8, 2017
We were here for a conference at Cornell University and found this hotel which is located 5 mins drive to the college. Walking distance are some places to eat and a 24hrs grocery store. Staff was OK, just lukewarm. Free coffee in the lobby and hot breakfast was nice. Shower head is broken and shooting water fountain onto the ceiling. Exhaust fan in the bathroom not working. Overall a very pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Clean and pleasant.

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Overall good. No problems. Breakfast was nice. Check in easy. Close to Cornell.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Seneca, NY

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Cons: Signs showing entrance.....too small
Location: Visit Cornell's campus
2 night stay for a weekend wedding nearby. Hotel desk staff very accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 8, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
Brian, Thanks for your comments and input. As we are on Cornell grounds, we are limited to how much signage we are allowed. We hope to you again in the future. Best, Jim
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quito

Nice and close to CU

Posted Aug 26, 2017
The hotel is old and not in the greatest conditions yet bathroom seems renovated. Included breakfast was ok. And staff was polite and helpful
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 1, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
Isabel, thanks for much for your input on the hotel and what we can do better for our customers in the future. We hope to see you again. Sincerely, Jim
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kitchener Ontario Canada

Great place for a short stay..

Posted Aug 24, 2017
Stayed for two nights while visiting from Canada for NASCAR in Watkins Glen..Ithaca is a lovely College town, we wished we had more time to explore.. Hotel while showing it's age but was ok for our short stay. Room was clean, lots of amenities provided in the bathroom.. Great breakfast included, nice staff throughout the hotel.. Great location with a handy plaza close by.. We would suggest that you book directly, instead of third party such as Expedia..Lesson learned for us...Overall, we are satisfied with our stay, would come back if ever in the area again...
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 25, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
Dear The Dedricks, Thanks for your comments. It's refreshing to get great feedback on the hotel. Although we are one of the older properties in Ithaca, I believe our staff and location go a long way in providing a great staff. Yes, please call us directly when you return to Ithaca. Best, Jim McMann
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Long Island, NY

Needs Some Work

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Pros: Less than 1 mile from where I needed to be
Cons: Cleanliness, security, could smell smoke coming from many rooms, updated common area furnishings.
Location: Close to Cornell Campus
Choose this hotel due to it's location - unfortunately we drove past it 3 times before figuring out where it was, hard to find, set back off road thru a shopping center with poor signage. Although the staff was nice & they offered welcome drinks, breakfast, pool, etc. Hotel needs work, lobby looked more like a health clinic waiting area. We reserved 2 queen beds, we got 2 full beds, a room that smelled like smoke in a non-smoking room & a small view of a brick wall. Hallway carpets were very damp which added to the smell. Next morning I explained that our beds were the wrong size, they were very nice & switched our room - it was in an updated section of the hotel - so the 70's lodge theme was just a little newer looking. To my surprise at least 1 room had 5 greyhound dogs staying in the hotel - so when they did their business outside, the owners were nice enough to throw out the bags of poop inside the building - which in turn made the entire hallway smell horrible - I called the front desk to let them know about this smell - their response was, well we cannot take care of that now - it will ahve to wait like an hour or so -- their response should have been, I am so sorry, someone will look into that immediately. To add to the adventure - we didn't receive any maid service that day so no clean towels or clean room - and then we left. At $210/night this is uncalled for!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
Thank you for responding, although your stay was less than desirable. I have printed this review as it affects everyone on our staff. We have meetings to discuss our reviews, positive and negative. Although we are not perfect, we do take all our reviews with importance. Once again thank you for your input.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Close to Cornell and restaurants, but OLD

Posted Jul 18, 2017
Pros: closeness to Cornell.
Cons: staff attitude, beds!!!!!!!!!
My family stayed here upon the recommendation of the university. We were greatly disappointed. The beds were old and lumpy= very uncomfortable. The rooms were very old and out dated. The staff was less than friendly or helpful, all business.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2017 by Jim, Hotel Management
Thank your review. Although we are a little surprised as we have gotten positive reviews for our beds and for our staff. However, we sincerely appreciate your comments to make us work harder to ensure positive stays for all guests in the future.
3 out of 5
by Kim

Not like other Best Westerns

Posted Jul 18, 2017 on Hotels
We have stayed at Best Western Hotels many times in the past and were very satisfied We expected this to be similar. Unfortunately, this was quite different. The hotel was very outdated and in need of repair. The room was dirty. Cob webs in all the corners and on the ceiling. Mirror frames very dirty. The AC unit did not work properly and it leaked on the carpet in the room. The mattresses were old and very uncomfortable--you could feel the springs and sunk into the middle. I'm not sure if all of their rooms were like ours (r m. 138), but I have not stayed in a room like that since a last minute stay at a cheap motel 30 years ago in he Poconos after a long day of skiing. The people were very nice, but the property leaves much to be desired. It was not worth the discounted rate I received. Very disappointing as we were staying for my daughter to meet with the Softball Coach from Cornell University. I wanted it to be special. At least we have a goo sense of humor. I told her it would what I will be able to afford if she is accepted to Cornell!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017
Dear Kim, We appreciate your review, although your stay was not to your standards. . We will use this as a training tool for our staff in the future. We hope that you will give another chance in the future, Sincerely, Jim McMann
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 16, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017
Thanks for your rating. We hope to see you again in the future, Jim
4 out of 5
by Mark

Posted Jul 13, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 18, 2017
Thanks for your rating. We hope to see you again in the future. Jim