Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great hotel

Posted Dec 27, 2016
Clean, new room with a real nordic feel to it. Restaurant great but drinks a but pricey. Spa is too small and crowded swimming pool good. Worth a stay overnight.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hong Kong

Overall it is a great hotel to stay

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Overall it is a great hotel to stay. We joined their snow mobile tour. The guide was very professional and nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 17, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Does the job!

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
This was a perfectly good hotel - as others have mentioned, there's not really much choice when you go to Ivalo so you have to take it as you find it. Having said that, it was well run, lovely staff (with excellent English!), old fashioned but that's kind of nice considering it's in the far North in the middle of nowhere and you don't go to Lapland necessarily expecting high-tech luxury. The hotel is undergoing renovations and initially we were given a new room which was lovely and much more modern than the original bits of the hotel . Unfortunately this was in the part of the hotel that was being renovated so it was very noisy from early morning. We mentioned this to the reception staff who couldn't have been more helpful or apologetic and arranged one of their larger rooms for us to move to at our leisure. The new room was great, it hadn't been renovated yet so was the old style which was still perfectly nice - had a separate living area, big bathroom with private sauna (which was awesome!!!!) and very comfortable beds and a lovely view of the river the runs behind the hotel. There is a swimming pool which we didn't go in and a Jacuzzi room which we did. There was a traditional cold water bath as well which I braved (for about 2 seconds!) before jumping back in the lovely warm Jacuzzi. Restaurant food was a mixed bag from average to excellent depending on the night! (reindeer steak was excellent). Only real downside was a very sparse breakfast.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Comfortable & convenient location

Posted Sep 20, 2016 on Hotels
The hotel is reasonably basic, but clean, and the staff are friendly & helpful which makes all the difference. This is a remote area so no luxury options. Hotel also helped book a Northern Lights excursion. In summer, the roads are good - consider hiring a car, which makes getting around easier. And consider too, staying at Saariselka as an alternative. It seems to have a few more tourist options, but we did not visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Cosy hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2016
The hotel was very cosy. Staff always polite and helpful. Our beds were very comfortable. We didnt eat from the buffet instead chose to eat from the menu. The food was beautiful, with generous size portions. We did enjoy a quiet drink by the fireside.
4 out of 5
by TA CHIH

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 10, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 14, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 25, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Yeung from Hong Kong

Posted Dec 16, 2015 on Hotels
the staff is very helpful & hospitality. they explain the everything no matter the way to hometown or bus route very patiently.