Ratings based on 164 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Yokohama, Japan

Rooms are good

Posted Jan 5, 2015
Cons: They should have their elevator repaired soon before any accident happens.
Good thing first: the room is clean and comfort with atmosphere. The access is not so bad: it is close to the Porte of Namur although the path near the hotel is narrow and dirty. However, the elevator of the hotel is terrible. I don't mean that I mind its tiny size (hardly capable for two people) or its manual outer door. But it is horrible that sometimes the elevator stops, the lights goes out and the inner door opens -- between the floors. I experienced this 4 times a day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by solo traveller 10

Good hotel

Posted Nov 27, 2014 on Orbitz
Good location, quiet street, perfect for Louisa, Ixelles and St Gilles, but everything is within a walking distance really. Clean room, friendly service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Hidden, gem of a hotel

Posted Nov 25, 2014
Pros: Its absolutely HUGE in character. An extremely interesting hotel....got to see it to believe.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: The metro is very close by (10 mins). Bus (12 and 21) station ( Place de Luxembourg) to and from airport is 20mins walk. Plenty of shops around.
Well located, very helpful staff and an extremely interesting hotel with an even more interesting history. Provides all the creature comforts and is close to the metro ( Porte de Namur - 10minn walk ) and to Place de Luxembourg ( 20 min walk ) where you can get the bus (12 or 21) to and from airport . Plenty of shopping around and not far by metro all the must see places.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A cool hotel with friendly staff. Would recommend!

Posted Nov 2, 2014 on Hotels
Not your usual hotel! We had a lovely weekend away in Brussels in this slightly tucked out of the way hotel. Just a 20 minute walk (downhill) into the center of Brussels but only a 5 minute walk from some amazing designer shops, restaurants and a cinema. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The room was clean, tidy and really interesting with it's history clearly displayed. Possibly a little dark in the hotel hallways but this added to the whole atmosphere. We loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Nice quirky hotel that was very comfortable.

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: Location Quirkyness
Location: Central Brussels 15min stroll away. Museums are very close.
Stayed for three nights and was very pleased. Had everything that was needed and the bar and restaurant downstairs waas very comfortable. Wifi worked well. Hotel location was very good 15min walk from Central Brussels and close to bus routes and the Metro.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chandler's Ford

Convenient Hotel at a great price

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Pros: Modern, clean room, and the bar area.
Cons: The lift was a little small
Location: Close to the Matonge district, and a 5 minute walk from the Natural History Museum, but still only a 15 minute walk from the Grand Place.
We were a little unsure of the Hotel following reviews we had read, so were pleasantly surprised when we arrived (having chosen one of the larger rooms) that there was plenty of space to hang clothes, and a modern room. We were facing th eroad, and could imagine with the window open it would cause noise disturbance through the night, but the double glazing was fine for us. The bar in the Hotel is great, staff friendly and happy to help. The only downside to us is the approach to the Hotel by a 'back road' which is narrow, and may cause issues if you were being met by someone in a car, as parking is limited. We stayed for 3 nights, and would be more than happy to stay again as this is sucha good value Hotel.
2 out of 5
by Maarten from UK

Great hotel concept, poor execution

Posted Oct 27, 2014 on Hotels
Hotel Le Berger is supposed to be this hip hotel with a funky theme and entertainment for guests and locals. I get it. The concept is great but not for the hotel's guests. Two of the negative comments I'd read on the reviews were that the hotel is noisy and musty. Both should not be underestimated. My room led out to the main patio, which contained the stair well and outdoor seating. It is surrounded by four walls so it's more like a shaft than an outdoor patio. While it was too cold to dine out on the patio, smokers would often congregate in the area. This became incredibly noisy on Thursday and weekend nights as I'm sure they'd had a bit to drink, and the smoke filled the patio area because the shaft prevented any air circulation. Having the misfortune of a ground floor room, the loud chatter until 2:00 AM prevented a decent night's sleep and the smoke that penetrated my room's doors, windows, and walls was unbearable. I had to sleep next to a room freshener that I picked up from a local grocery store to neutralize the smell of smoke in my room. Additionally, while the room was spacious and comfortable (clean, large bed, and spacious shower), it was rather warm and very dimly lit. The restaurant and lounge area was quirky and I'm sure the weekend entertainment pleased many who stayed for leisure. However, I would not recommend staying at Hotel Le Berger if your trip wasn't intended as a vacation.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Tiny room, eccentric design

Posted Oct 11, 2014
Room felt too claustophobic, couldn't stay for the duration I had booked - left after the first night and was out of pocket.
4 out of 5
by wannaBtravelin from No Central Washington US

Good hotel for price in city center

Posted Sep 28, 2014 on Hotels
Close to Metro (2blocks). Walking distance to Grand Place and other visitor sites. Difficult to find by GPS due to construction and road work. Le Berger restaurant was outstanding but let desk know in advance if you want a reservation. Room was good.. Bed great but you could not sit on toilet and close the door to the WC. Otherwise it was a good stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 27, 2014 on Hotels