Ratings based on 1,571 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Las Brisas Ixtapa Stay

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Pros: Beach and service staff were exceptional. Lobby bar and sunsets Food quality was overall very good, particularly for the basic Breakfast Lunch Dinner
Cons: Make repairs or replacement to worn items in the rooms and at the property. The building itself is architecturally significant design
Our first impression was the hotel was nice but a little dated and in need of updating. However, after day one the property won us over each and every day. The beach is the top attribute. The staff is also exceptional. Great customer service with a very friendly attitude. So...these attributes make up for the slightly worn look of the property. We enjoyed our stay and plan to return.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Poor Security

Posted Jan 17, 2018
Cons: SECURITY AND RESPONSIVENESS
My wife and I checked in early evening. When the bellman brought our bags to the room we asked him to have two extra pillows and extra coffee cartridges for the coffee maker sent up. After unpacking we went to the Bellavista restaurant (in the Hotel) for dinner. The extra pillows were delivered while we were eating. The next morning my wife discovered a cosmetic bag with her makeup was missing. We alerted the front desk who sent security to visit us in our room and fill in a report. At that time security requested we double check that it was not accidentally left at home when we return and advise by email. We have returned home, thoroughly checked and it was not accidentally left home. My wife recalls seeing it when she unpacked so it must have gone astray while we were eating dinner. I have emailed the hotel twice without a response. The second time I added the sales manager and the reservations manager. Apparently they don't care. I feel the complete lack of response is disgraceful. The hotel makes a good show for security with guards always visible, and closely monitoring cabs coming and going. I now believe it is all just a show. They do have a typical in room safe but it will only hold a limited amount.The hotel is in a nice location with attractive facilities but if I cannot feel safe leaving things in my room, I will not return!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Fabulous hotel and fantastic beach

Posted Jan 15, 2018
Pros: The majority of tourists are Mexican. It was fun to practice our Spanish, learn even more, and experience Mexican culture.
Location: We enjoyed Las Brisas so much that we only left once. We took a tour to Ixtapa Island. Good snorkeling but crowded.
The hotel is lovely with every room facing the beach. The beach is great for boogie boarding, body surfing, snorkeling and watching the sunset. The beds are firm but comfortable---great for your back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana USA

Ixtapa is amazing!!!

Posted Jan 4, 2018
The staff was the best. Great service, very friendly, willing to get or do anything. The private beach and every room with a view topped it off. Got to experience the sea turtle release, jumping rays, fish at your feet, and fantastic body surfing. My partner and I only ate at the one restaurant and to be honest the food was not very good at all. We looked at it as a reason to go into Ixtapa and that turned out for the best!! Defiantly try Chili beans restaurant!! Great breakfast and lunch. I’m sure dinner was just as good, just was not there at that time. Be sure to say hi to “moose” a waiter there. Very friendly, attentive, and fun. He definitely made our experience great. To be honest there was only a couple things we didn’t care for. 1- the beds are very hard ( I mean like a rock!) which resulted in a very restless sleep and 2- could use a couple updates like new toilets and shower fixtures. All in all the place and staff are amazing! We will definitely be back. Tip to travelers..... be sure and tip generously. These people work very hard to make this place what it is and thay don’t make near enough for the amazing service and gratitude to provide. Nice job Las Brisas. You made our ten year anniversary the best.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vevey, Switzerland

Great private beach

Posted Jan 3, 2018
All rooms have a great view, are specious and very comfortable. Service in general is upstanding. The food is average and night restaurantes can be better, there is one which looks very nice but didn't allow the entrance to my 10 year girl, other one didn't allow wearing shorts and the place didn't look fancy at all. In general it's a very good hotel, I could come back for a short stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Rooms are amazing but the hotel needs an update!

Posted Jan 2, 2018
Pros: The room and the view
Cons: All areas of the hotel apart from the rooms, the gym was really really bad and the general areas of the hotel were really stuck in the past
Location: Location was great however you do feel quite isolated away if you were wanting to venture out of the hotel. They really try to trap you in to be sure
The location is really great, peaceful and extremely beautiful. Our room was a Junior Suite and it was perfect, clean, modern (apart from he TV that needs to be updated) but generally really great. The Hotel itself on the other hand is in desperate need of a refurb. It felt extremely dated and quite stuck in the past as far as colours and decor goes. The staff at the front desk were also not so pleasant and on a general customer service level I would say it was quite poor unfortunately.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

awesome private beach.

Posted Dec 26, 2017
the staff is very friendly, Luis was very welcoming, Tomas at the beach was excellent, Arturo the life guard always on the watch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale,AZ

Spectacular location

Posted Dec 26, 2017
Pros: The architecture and the Location. The beach is protected on both sides by a rocky promontory so it is very private with no vendors
Cons: The food at the hotel is mediocre at best. The beds are hard. We always go and buy a foam mattress pad and that solves the problem
Location: All the usual vacation spot activities are available. There is an interesting Yoga retreat at Troncones nearby.
I LOVE this hotel. We have been coming here for over thirty years off and on. I doubt I would ever stay anywhere else in Ixtapa/Zihua. I love the secluded beach and the amazing architecture of the hotel itself. The staff are very friendly, willing and accommodating. The service is excellent. That is why it is sad to see the hotel looking a little shabby and in need of renovation and repair. It needs new fixtures in the bathroom and new furniture as well a complete paint job on the outside. Maintenance is good and the hotel is very clean but it showing its age. The location makes it easy to get to both Ixtapa(you can walk) and also to Zihuatenejo (an easy inexpensive cab ride) The breakfast buffet is varied and the waiters will bring you anything you want. I would skip the rest of the restaurants. The food at the specialty restaurants is mediocre at best and there are other great restaurants in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 25, 2017
Pros: I loved sound of the ocean waves are right outside your patio doors
Cons: It would be helpful to have the staff learn some english.
Location: It is a 15 min walk to town.. great exercise!
We had the buffet breakfast included in our cost ..It was fabulous
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Beautiful location at Las Brisas

Posted Dec 24, 2017
Pros: Service, view, room, all inclusive.
Location: Private grounds and has its own beach. This resort is not part of the hotel strip in Ixtapa.
Las Brisas is a beautiful beach front hotel in Ixtapa. The views from every room are outstanding and the facility has stood up very well over the years. The grounds are beautiful and lush and the specialty restaurants in particular provide beautifully presented and tasty dishes. Service is outstanding from front desk, house keeping, restaurants, pool and beach side service, concierge, and front entry staff. There is very appropriate security on the grounds to ensure that guest privacy and safety is always maintained. We will be back again as we love the private beach and every aspect of this hotel. Just keep in mind that this is a "get away" hotel and if you want to go into Ixtapa for some nightlife and partying, then you will probably need to take a cab -- which is very convenient by the way.