Ratings based on 32 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Good for the Money

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: 1. Pools and grounds. 2. Close to the public access beach 3. Quiet and laid back 4. Close to everything you need (food stores, beach, shopping areas)
Cons: 1. WiFi was terrible and we could not connect. 2. No coffee mugs in rooms, just teeny cups. 3. Let guests bring their own alcohol tot he pool areas
Location: Close to the beach and shopping areas.
I rented 3 rooms for a family vacation. Overall, we had a good time. The rooms and some furnishings and appliances were dated. The AC's in two of the three rooms did not work correctly but were fixed the next morning. At check-in and check-out, a staff member takes inventory of all silverware, cups, dishes, appliances, towels etc. which was time consuming. Alcohol, except from the hotel's bar, is not allowed in the pool area even in cups. Staff was helpful but only spoke Spanish. Kids loved the pools and water slide. Affordable place to bring the family.
5 out of 5
by Britt

Good location close to the beach

Posted Feb 24, 2017 on Hotels
The staff was nice as well as the location. Laundry service was expensive,or you have to go outside the property to do your laundry and get change for tips. Since I was touring everyday, it was not too much of an inconvenience. I'll be back Christmas for a month renting a condo in an gated golf area. I recommend this place, if you don't mind some inconveniences. The price is right.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Close to beach with great pool and grounds

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Cons: New beddings and linens would be nice.
I was disappointed that the towels were so old and threadbare and stiff as a board. Two mornings I could not get hot water for my shower and it eventually took about 20 minutes of running the water to get hot. I wish there had been a bar/lounge at the hotel. The staff was very helpful and pleasant and the hotel was in close proximity to bars, restaurants and shopping.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, Wa

good and bad

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Grounds and pool were very nice. Hotel doesn't provide hair dryer, linens are old dingy, has two bathrooms but one of them smelled like sewer had to keep door shut. Restaurant was not too good. Most of the staff were helpful but watch out for dishes coming up missing and being charged for replacement. It's usually quiet. Good location close to restaurant, bars and shopping. Good air conditioning pretty good beds.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from midwest, USA

Decent, cheap, pool was best feature

Posted Feb 10, 2017 on Orbitz
Don't lose your plastic card key... They charged us 25usd to replace. 1000 peso deposit AND a complete inventory check-in process with the bellhop was a bit much. I get it. Don't steal a spoon. Clean small stuffy room with very dirty fans and a noisy AC unit in bedroom. Great pool, nice staff in front. Very dated complex.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Quiet Tropical Retreat

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Pros: It was peaceful, not too big and friendly
Location: Many beaches are nearby, bike tours along a very nice bike trail, easy bus or taxi ride to Zihuatenejo, tours to Ixtapa Island to snorkel
This hotel is not right on the beach but is a block or two away behind the plaza. On the back side it is bordered by tall trees and a nice view of the hills. It was very tranquil here during our stay with only a few people using the pool at the same time. There were always lounges available at the poolside without any need to throw your towel on one to reserve it. With cooking facilities in the room, a grocery store a block away and plenty of restaurants within easy walking distance, everything was very convenient here. Many iguanas live in the tall trees behind the hotel so it's fun to watch them, the squirrels and many birds that frequent the area. I understand that all the hotels on the beach are now all-inclusive only so this hotel is almost the only option to escape that. Relatives who were staying at one of the all-inclusive resorts at the same time, reported that half the people there were drunk due to alcohol being included in the price. We had no obvious drunks at Puerta del Mar. I would definitely come back here.
3 out of 5
by rahul

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 25, 2015 on Hotels
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

?

Posted Apr 5, 2014
Pros: Close to beach, 3 block walk.
Cons: Kitchens could be updated with new appliance, no toasters for guests.
Location: beach, lots of resturants, bars, good shopping, expensive.
Hotel is older type, recent painting, clean, pools are nice, staff, excellent!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quaint and quiet

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: A quaint, quiet, low-key place. It has a lot of potential.
Cons: New sheets, towels, lounge chairs, appliances, etc. Everything is old, worn-out, and dated.
Location: Great place to visit! Loved all the restaurants and shops right across the street. Atmosphere is fantastic. Will go to Ixtapa again.
Brush up on your Spanish, there is little English spoken within the hotel. I actually liked that about it, it was more authentic. The pool was nice and the staff was very friendly. When we first arrived there were very few other guests, but it did pick up toward the end of the week. If you like quiet this is the place to go. If you want a typical resort vacation, look elsewhere.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CDMX

En general bien

Posted Jan 18, 2018
Precio vs servicio es muy bueno, falta actualizar el equipo de cocina, funciona pero viejo y los blancos, las toallas de la alberca están algunas remendadas(se ve muy mal eso), comida debería haber bufete y promociones. El Sr.artesano muy bien lo que vende es lindo y lo que nos enseñó a pintar quedó genial y los empleados en general excelente sólo la recepcionista Elvira mal actitud. Pero en general lo recomiendo es conveniente