Ratings based on 194 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Posted Feb 12, 2016
Awesome hotel! Will definitely return! Staff very friendly and helpful. Gym facilities are top notch!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western Wisconsin, USA

A great location with outstanding staff

Posted Feb 6, 2016
With 17 years of visits to Mexico we would easily rate this one of our top choices. The site is beautiful with incredible panoramic views. Staff, to the last person, are courteous, helpful and professional- always with an "hola" a smile and "gracias". The theme restaurants are to be highly recommended for both fare and service. The restaurant reservation procedures are the best we've ever experienced---no standing in line at o'dark thirty. Of course there's always room for improvement. The stage shows tend to be repetitious. While very professional, the same dance troupe does the same thing to different music in different costumes, and then does it again. The food in the main dining area is good, but frequently hits the serving line cold. The resort offers no information on public transportation or off-site activity--not so much as a map that can be used for navigation- not even one for sale. Our first visit to Mexico started at Playa Linda, long before the Azul complex, so we know that boarding a public bus up the road and winding up in ZIH Centro is a visit to the real Mexico.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from northern california

beautifully kept and spacious. so so beach

Posted Feb 2, 2016
the hotel and pool were beautiful. the food was not gourmet but was very good and very abundant. ( the fruit was terrific ) the only downside was that the beach wasn't such a good swimming beach but that also meant there weren't crowds and vendors walking it so it was that much more natural and picturesque. loved the place. went into zihuatanejo for the culture and stayed in the hotel in ixtapa for the comfort
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Guadalajara

Buena estancia de lo mejor de Ixtapa

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Muy buen fin de semana en familia. Comida rica y opcion de reservaciones en restaurantes
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Northern Plains

Beautiful View!

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Cons: ACTIVITIES AT THE POOL!!!!
Very nice hotel. The good: Food was pretty good. Breakfast buffet, Oyster Bar and Japanese restaurant all very good. Did not try supper or lunch buffet. Service was top notch. Now the bad or my bad: Swim up bar was in a "cave", dark, no sun, not any fun to be in there. Was no pool side entertainment at all. No volley ball games, no pool games nothing! Hotel is probably better suited for the retirement crowd than the younger set. I'd go back again...when I retire
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel , well taking care off, nice plants

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Pros: real clean!!! i found out this hotel is 2 1/2 years old , nice hotel
Location: you dont need taxi to get around buses stop in front of the hotel . safe , cheap , 20 pesos , but they stpo service at 5:30, shows at night ok but one
nothing bad to say , all the people working there wants to help you at all times, i will go back , for sure!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Sherwood Park, AB, Canada

Beautiful & Relaxing

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: While the hotel and grounds are not as stunning as some of the resorts we have been at, it is extremely clean and well-kept.
Cons: The pools can be very crowded - especially the infinity pool. That said, it is more quiet than the sister beach resort (which is fantastic for kids).
Location: Walking distance to the crocodile reserve and pier to catch a taxi boat to Isle de la Ixtapa for some snorkelling. Local transport elsewhere is cheap!
My husband and I took our two kids, ages 4 and 14. We all thoroughly enjoyed ourselves -- Ixtapa is a gem of a vacation spot that we found to be relaxed and absolutely stunning. We have been to the Mayan Riviera numerous times, as well as to Puerto Vallarta and Acapulco (which Ixtapa is located between). The weather during January was so hot -- it was in the mid 30s (celsius) every day.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WINNIPEG MB CANADA

nice hotel , clean,

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: CLEAN, NICE SWIMMING POOLS . ONLY I WAS MISSING WAKING ON A BEACH.
Cons: NOTHING
Location: WAS TO FAR FROM TOWN BUT WE TOOKE A BUS AND WAS GOOD EXCPIRANCE.YOU CAN WALKE TO THE MARKET PLAYA LINDA
I AM AND MY HUSBAND WE ENJOYED STAY IN AZUL GRAND.FOOD WAS VERY GOOD YOU CAN CHOOSE WHAT YOU LIKE TO EAT. STAFF WAS VERY HELPFULL AND ALWAYS SMILING. WE HAVE ROOM 1519 AND WAS BEAUTIFULL,VIEW ON OCEAN WAS SOMETING ELSE.ROOMS WAS VERY CLEAN AND EVERY DAY MAID MAKE ME FEEL LIKE AT HOME. THANK YOU.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from T

Very nice hotel. Loved the proximity to Ixtapa Isl

Posted Jan 27, 2016
The stay was great. Tried the spa it was fabulous. Food in the specialty restaurants was incredible. The only down side was that it was supposed to be an adult resort. However, there were a tom of families with young kids. Not a problem except that I think they should be restricted from the pub after 7-8 pm at night.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from H

Posted Jan 27, 2016
We spent 5 days in this hotel, after spending 5 days at the hotel Azul Ixtapa, just next door. The hotel is new and has beautiful views from the ocean, the rooms are big and nice, for our taste, the beds were a little bit soft. First we got a room on the 11th floor, right side frim the building.... It was smelling strange and this rooms are in front of the scenary where every evening there is a show... So it was loud, then, when this finished, we could hear the music coming up from the bar. Luckily we could change rooms and we got one in the 16th. Floor, the balcony was smaller, but the views were superb. The food was tasty, they make an effort, you can recognize it, and the think we like most of this hotel, as well as from the Azul, was the service and friendliness of the personal. The lady making the quesadillas in the morning eas so nice!! Always with a smile on her face. And we were lucky to find at the italian restaurant, the BEST waiter EVER, big, huge, thanks to FILIBERTO..... You made our dinner something special, to remember...... You are the best and I hope that you are praised as you deserve. The beach is small, yes, but the pools are nice, One thing that we found really bad, is that the only bar open at night... Is packed with people and kids playing pool, the drinks are served in plastic (even the Whisky!) and just after telling one of the waiters that this doesn't "have to be" he brought us what we wanted...This bar seemed to us like a bar in a lower category