Ratings based on 111 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Great older classic Mexican hotel with great beach

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Staff, location to beach, location to town, and other facilities.
Cons: The bed mattresses were very hard.
Location: Lots of beach front facilities near by. Also, taxis to town were reasonable, about $2.50 USA. Town I a great place to visit, with good opportuinties
We stayed for a week and would liked to have stayed longer. The hotel is older, but very clean, with great beach access. The beach is very clean, with few not too intrusive hawkers. The hotel has a great restaurant with very friendly staff and good value. Breakfest, included in the price, was great.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016 on Hotels
Very good clean, nice staff, courteous
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good restaurant but beds lack in comfort.

Posted Dec 16, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful location with a lovely tropical setting but for simple tastes. We stayed in the high end suite and the beds were extremely uncomfortable and the air conditioner loud. The restaurant was wonderful and I would recommend the seafood dishes. They were also accommodating to our special dietary needs.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Best Esthetic Experience in Mexico

Posted Oct 3, 2016
This was my third stay and as fantastic as ever. Quaint, tropical jungle setting with white sand beach. This is authentic Mexico with a world class view and location, not the "Hilton".. The rooms are 1950 era but well maintained and like new. Staff is excellent. If you want an "American style setting" stay in Ixtapa. If you want real Mexico, stay at the Catalina. Be aware the property is built on a hillside with long steps, if you are not in reasonable health, don't stay here. The Catalina is a rare find and most people visit again and again....
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Totally perfect.

Posted Jun 20, 2016 on CheapTickets
Pros: everything
Incredible staff - especially Miguel at the front desk and Blanquita & Aldo in the restaurant. The views of Playa le Ropa are vastly beautiful. Just a short bus ride to the center of Zihua.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A great place for the adventurous.

Posted Jun 2, 2016 on Hotels
One of my favorite places in the world but not for the faint of heart. Many steps to get back and forth to the beach but you will be in great shape when you leave! Wonderful service people who will carry your stuff to your room and bring you whatever you need.It's always an extraordinary experience.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from iowa

old school hotel

Posted Apr 25, 2016
I really enjoyed my stay quite layed back. But if you are looking for all the convince of a modern hotel this is not it. The stair way to the rooms and beach are steep but bueatifull no elevator. I went back in time here enjoyed. No air conditioning in my room was not an issue cool breeze from the sea
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

The hotel reluctant to provide correct room.

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Pros: the location, and the staff. (the managers where not helpful)
Cons: to provide the room and services advertised, clean and modernize all the rooms. (please no dark dungeons); the management staff customer service.
Location: location was ideal, close to every thing for a family vacation.
The hotel manager was reluctant to provide a bungalow as I booked with Expedia, my family and I where sent to a dungeon like room, at the end of a dark hall (really no light in it), the room smelled bad(un-aired, smelled like a closed attic) with no view as advertized, I requested to be given another room, and if it wasn't for the helpful staff (NOT FRONT DESK CLERK --MANAGER my belief is that the management is a little racist) after 1 and 1/2 hours we received the room that we actually paid for, although many other rooms where available the hotel was at 60% capacity, (please keep in mind that I paid for a bungalow for 4 people, ocean view, with breakfast !!), the next day we we went for breakfast the management said breakfast was for 3 people (ONLY they said it was policy for kids to pay??? but not adults??? remember we booked for 4 people 2 adults 2 kids ) I had to call expedia in order to get the problem resolved. (it was fixed thanks expedia! hotel management said they would make an exception #^%#&^%), but again the Hotel management was unhelpful, but the staff was always very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Victoria BC

Outstanding views and a charming hotel

Posted Mar 20, 2016
Pros: So many beautiful plants and landscaping and all the stair paths are wonderful. Hotel has so much character. great ice machine and purified water
Cons: The beds are hard as rocks. The plumbing in the bathroom has a bit of an odor.
Location: Within walking distance to Zihuatenjo, los Gatos beach and sooooooo many great restaurants.
We stayed at the Linda Vista suites so the newest and most expensive. 265 stairs down to the beach. You need to love stairs to really enjoy this wonderful facility. The Linda vista is a super private and romantic room with double balcony doors opening up to the most beautiful view. Great maid service. Unbelievable view of Zihuatenjo Bay. Very spread out property. The sunset bar and breakfast everyday was absolutely outstanding. Beach chairs and palapas offered shade and spread out so you feel very private. There is even a little turtle sanctuary on the beach and we happened to get to watch 87 turtles being released. Towel service and beach service great. Very comfortable lounge chairs on the beach. The pool is deep, clean and nice. Not much seating around it. Views outstanding. We will come back!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maine

Classic resort with spectacular views

Posted Feb 24, 2016
Pros: The charm of the rooms and the facilities overall. The friendliness of staff and the beautiful beachfront facilities make this an outstanding place.
Cons: We like the resort as is
Location: The beach at Playa LaRopa is one of the best in Mexico and the town of Zihuatanejo is charming and filled with excellent restaurants
We love the Catalina having visited here on multiple occasions. There are many guests who return year after year. The staff are very accommodating and friendly. The rooms are of ample size and the view over the bay and surrounding mountains is simply spectacular. The steps to the beach and to the restaurant bar present a little challenge the first couple of days but you get in good shape and adjust. You might look at it as free step aerobics program. The Catalina is not for everyone but we enjoy it thoroughly