Ratings based on 232 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Pleasing stay.

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Cons: THe door knobs in both doors where very flimsy and the front door knob almost unscrewed.....! The air conditioner was leaking....
Thank you Villa Mexicana, very nice staff, good food, breakfasts are awesome, the chairs and palapas area is nice and the view so pretty. Calm beach for kids, walked short distance to the bus stop several times to go into Zihua 's downtown, but I recommend taxis who charge the same amount as if taking 2 buses to downtown..... People are kind in Zihua. Will come back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

6th return to this sweet hotel!

Posted May 3, 2016
Pros: The atmosphere, the friendly staff, the cleanliness (immaculate!), the service and the LOCATION!
Cons: Can't think of anything.....
Location: Zihuatanejo has it all! A charming town with lots of great restaurants, shops and walkways. However, why leave Playa la Ropa....it has it all!
We love Villa Mexicana! It is right on the Playa La Ropa Beach, very well-cared for and has a true Mexican charm. We have recommended it to many people and they all feel the same way. It has a friendly, welcoming, laid-back ambiance with a great restaurant on the beach, plenty of inviting lounge chairs under palapas, two sweet pools, and well-cared for gardens. This place definitely captures the true flavor of Zihuatanejo.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Great location

Posted May 1, 2016
Pros: On the beach, not crowded, clientele was mostly Mexican families so not a party hotel, at least at the time of our visit.
Cons: Needs a little sprucing up, better pillows.
Location: Wonderful, cheap massages on the beach. Less to do than Ixtapa, a totally different vacation. Relax! Lots of good restaurants in town and good shop
Hotel was right on the beach, nice beach & no timeshare sellers. A little shabby and service was slow, but some of that I account for the fact that it was off season, so not as many offerings. I would definitely go again. Staff was very helpful and nice, room was kept clean. Off season also meant no hassle over getting a great spot by the pool/ocean.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 17, 2016
The location of this hotel couldn't be better. La Ropa beach is one of the prettiest spots you will ever see on a beach anywhere ! There are several spots you can eat and drink within walking distance. You can get a room with a view of the ocean that's unbelievable !
4 out of 5
by Kathryn from Nanaimo

Still the relaxing, lowkeyed hotel we've known.

Posted Apr 1, 2016 on Hotels
The food is excellent, the beach a dream. Beds are typically hard. Pay the extra and treat yourself to the lovely large rooms with the view and balconies out front.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ciudad de México

Buen lugar para descanso

Posted Mar 29, 2016
Pros: El lugar donde esta ubicado y su limpeza
Cons: Agregar actividades de playa con animadores. Aprovechar su palapa de la zona de playa-alberca para crear un bar. Abrir concepto de "bebidas incluidas"
Location: Playa la Ropa es la mejor playa de Ixtapa-Zihuatanejo. La zona es ideal para caminar seguro por el lugar
Nuestro hospedaje fue en semana santa 2016. Instalaciones muy limpias y en buenas condiciones. Camas confortables y habitaciones con aire acondicionado y TV con programación de paga. Nos gusto mucho la zona dentro de la mejor playa de Zihuatanejo. Playa tranquila, limpia y oleaje calmado. Alberca suficiente para refrescarse. A pesar de la fecha de visita siempre encontramos camastro para descansar.
4 out of 5
by Claudia Erika

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 29, 2016 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

Additional booking fees!

Posted Mar 28, 2016
Pros: On the beach
Cons: Be honest about all the fees
Location: Close to town and restaurants
Despite booking for a "deluxe" room, I was charged an additional fee on my arrival. Why is this fair? I just remembered, it isn't.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Great hotel on Playa Ropa

Posted Mar 27, 2016
Pros: Proximity to beach, clean rooms, towel sculptures, breakfasts.
Cons: The tile in the shower was getting a bit old.
Location: Parasailing, paddle boarding, banana boats -- or just hang out & read!
This is a great place if you're looking for something besides the all-inclusive towers up in Ixtapa (which is about 20 minutes by taxi). Right on the beach, it has comfortable lounging chairs underneath palapas, 3 small swimming pools (2 are tiny, for toddlers), a decent restaurant, and very friendly staff. Breakfasts were spectacular -- buffet with fresh fruit, yogurt, eggs any way you could choose, meat, tortillas, etc. The room was very clean and the maids create little sculptures with the towels every day and adorn them with hibiscus flowers. The bathrooms could use a little updating but were still very clean themselves as well. The beach is clean, the water warm, the waves big enough to have fun in, if you're not a surfer. One note of caution: we were there the week before Easter, and this whole beach was very crowded. I would make sure to schedule our vacation outside of that week next time. If you go, make sure to go up to the Sunset Bar at the Hotel Catalina (2 hotels toward town). Kind of hard to find from the beach -- look for a set of stone steps at the end of what looks like an untended beach bar, and climb, climb, climb, and you will find the best place for 2-for-1 margs in town made by Salvador, who remembered our name and preferences every night. The view is spectacular. Then go one level up for dinner. Few people are there, but the food is very good.
4 out of 5
by gail

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 18, 2016 on Hotels