Ratings based on 255 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kansas City

Right on the beach!

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Couldn't get closer to the beach and still stay dry! Wonderful staff attending to any need you may have. Friendly place that we will definitely return- probably annually.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A wonderful, relaxing hotel on the beach.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
A great little hotel on Playa La Ropa. A wonderful location, friendly staff and comfortable rooms.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
Its a nice place close to the beach but poor costumer service
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 20, 2016
very nice hotel and staff were very friendly would visit it again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Fantastic Location and staff

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Pros: the staff and the location. This is not your busy all inclusive. It is a small boutique hotel with a great restaurant. Teen agers might be bored.
Location: see overall description. Turtles laying eggs and babies hatching November and December. Santa Prista Thursdays for pizoli. Bring a Frisbee to play.
Can't go wrong with a stay at Hotel Villa Mexicana. The staff are really what bring us back every year and the location is fantastic. While many of the hotels on Playa La Ropa have many stairs, Villa Mexicana is ground level or second floor. Pool, beach, restaurant are all close at hand. The staff are fantastic and get to know you and your likes. After the second day at breakfast they stop asking us if we want coffee and bring us tea. Close walk to town or nearby restaurants. Massages on the beach are a must (I recommend Kenya near the Sotavento or Desi at the the Zhiua day spa (Desi's). She is an RMT. Also an easy walk to Las Gadas beach. No need to hit the high end expensive restaurants... you can get fantastic meals at others. Highly recommend Jungle Pizza (who deliver to the palapa at Villa Mexicana if you don't make it out after Happy Hour). Ani's, Brazerros. Nardo's (fantastic music Thursday nights), Salvador's (best bbq and dessert). Paty's for their shrimp avocado salad and complementary Kahlua and cream after dinner.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Posted Dec 5, 2016 on Orbitz
excellent locationright on playa la ropa nice beach and great plate for relaxation
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

hotel is right on the beac

Posted Nov 27, 2016
Pros: First and foremost the wait staff and bartenders. Location also excellent.
Cons: It just needs a little TLC such as new shower head, new sink faucet, a paint job and spray for ants.
Location: Location is right on the beach at Play de Ropa. You can easily walk to town (takes about 20 minutes), nearby restaurants/bars, parasail,
hotel is right on the beach. The staff is exceptional. We have never been to Zihuatenejo before and this trip was absolutely fun and amazing. Would recommend to friends and family. Restaurant food is very good, the wait staff and bartenders are friendly and informative. We had a lot of fun getting to know them and learn about their lives in Mexico. Negatives are tiny ants around the sink, shower head needed to be replaced and beds are quite firm but none of these things would deter us from staying there again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jackson, Wy

Not happy

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: On the beach
Cons: not sure
Location: not sure, we left
Our toilet was plugged, we had no remote for the T.V. and we paid for dinner with Pesos and the still charged it to our room. Only stayed one night then move to a different hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

What a gem!

Posted Nov 6, 2016 on Hotels
We stayed for a week. Had an amazing ocean view from our room. Air conditioning was a treat. The beach is sandy and the water is warm. We kayaked, walked into town, walked to Las Gatos beach and snorkelled, went fishing with a guide (Moses), rented a driver to go into Troncones, snorkelled at the far end of La Ropa. There was so much to do and things we didn't do so we definitely want to return. Next time we will get up earlier to go paddle boarding and we would like to spend more time exploring the town and also do a tour to La Chola. The restaurant on site was amazing. We had breakfast there every day and happy hour/snack almost every day as well as 3 fantastic dinners. The price is reasonable and the food is authentic Mexican. The staff were super friendly and helpful. Room was clean. Only complaint was the pillows were a bit lumpy and the internet was on and off so we read more. Thanks for a great trip!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2016 on Hotels
Very dusty and noisy due to lots of construction goin on in the hotel. neither the hotel nor hotels.com provided us with this information which would have helped us opt for a better choice. I'm sure when they're done it'll be nice to stay there. Please inform yourself before you stay there. We tried to talk to management, however they were indifferent. too bad !!!.