Ratings based on 1,524 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

The Perfect Place on the Mexican Coast

Posted Jun 6, 2017
This hotel is located in the perfect setting. It has its own private beach, perfect sand and the very best staff. It is off the beaten path from the rest of Ixtapa, yet the area maintains a much higher look and feel than The rest of Ixtapa, and it has quick and easy access to all the sites around Ixtapa and Zihuantanejo, all of which are only a few minutes away. I found this hotel on Expedia and selected based on its price, which was relatively low cost compared to many others. It also had a fairly good ratings, which I now understand better. The private beach makes all the difference in the world. There are no vendors or solicitors, no trash and no criminals. There's also a lifeguard plenty of shade and lounge chairs along with a full service restaurant with waiters serving you while you sit. The restaurant has at least four other restaurants as well as stores, coffee shop, massage, and gift stores. If you don't like to leave the resort, The Las Brisas resort makes it so you don't have to. This part of Mexico has proven to be quite a bit different than the others I've been to. People are much more friendly, the price of almost everything is much lower than other places in Mexico, and you still get plenty of local culture. I highly recommend this hotel with her you are traveling within Mexico, from the United States, or from Europe or Asia.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 28, 2017
Hotel was alright. The rooms were nice and so was the beach. The food was pretty terrible and the staff wasn't super friendly. I think it was one of the best hotels in ixtapa in the 70's and 80's, but we heard from a lot of cab drivers that the quality of the hotel has deteriorated since it was bought by a new company. Overall, a good stay, but you might be able to find something a lot better for a little bit more money.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington DC

Decent place!

Posted May 16, 2017
Pros: the food was great, views amazing. You have the mountains, the jungle and the ocean all at your feet.
Cons: maintenance of the pool and some areas of the actual facade were lacking.
Location: downtown Ixtapa is like the west coast Cancun with plenty of bars, restaurants and touristy shops
So I didn't expect much for the price but was surprised at how beautiful the views were and how comfortable the rooms and patios are. I would suggest any attention to detail items are thoroughly checked before you get there as unlike with a typical resort the staff isn't as thorough. For example, I was there for work planning a wedding and there were several issues with the welcome bags in which I spent a total of a combined 2 hours working through at the front desk and there were still guests who didn't receive their bags until the day of the wedding. The rooms were nice and the food was delicious. The pool maintenance and upkeep could definitely use some improving but overall things were nice especially for the price! I recommend the two restaurants downstairs in the giant hot pink hallway over Bellavista, but beware, they are strict with their no shorts/sandals policy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from elk grove, CA

Very nice hotel, clean, quiet, easy access

Posted May 12, 2017
Very pleased!! Las Brisas is a nice hotel, easy access to the beach. Beautiful pools. Near to Ixtapa town and shopping center.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 15, 2017 by Roberto Rangel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you for the kind review about your stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa. We will be more than happy to welcome you back in a near future. Sincerely, The Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rochester, WA

Gorgeous view and private beach

Posted May 1, 2017
We had a wonderful experience at this hotel. Some of the amenities are beginning to show their age, but overall, the hotel is maintained beautifully. There is a private beach and an ocean view from every room, as well as separate pools for adults and families. Taxis can be hailed from the lobby, and are affordable, so transportation was no issue. It is also close enough to downtown Ixtapa that adventurous patrons could walk. We did so several times with no issues. If you stay on the European plan, eating breakfast at the hotel is pricier than town, but includes a full buffet, as well as the option of cooked to order eggs. The Brisas II restaurant on the beach was excellent and the convenience and views made it worth the few pesos extra to eat there. Overall, we found this hotel to be in a class by itself because of the beach, view, and lovely natural setting, and having an ocean front view with a private balcony was hard to beat. The staff was also excellent and mostly very friendly. The hotel will exchange $$$ for pesos at the current exchange rate is, but be prepared to fill out paperwork and to show your passport. The one thing we didn't like is that they put a hold on your credit card for incidentals and want you to charge meals and any other purchases to your room rather than paying cash. They also put a donation to their clean water foundation on our card without asking, which we asked to be removed when paying our bill. Great hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 29, 2017
The staff is friendly and treat you with respect. Always wanting you to come back.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from C

Nice view but terrible condition

Posted Apr 25, 2017
Not worth the price! Pool facilities dirty and run down, most pool chairs broken. Food was terrible at the main restaurants. Nice room and nice view but otherwise very disappppointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 14, 2017 by Roberto R, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you for the kind review about your stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa. We will be more than happy to welcome you back in a near future. Sincerely, The Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from C

Very private and excellent service.

Posted Apr 13, 2017
The service is excellent, the food very good-particularly the breads, soups and desserts. The beach is as private as any I've ever been on.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brainerd, MN

Unique property, but ...

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Pros: See above: staff, food, uniqueness, naturally beautiful grounds.
Cons: Pool location down by the beach, but that's not likely due to the terrain.
Location: Must take taxi or bus to "do" both Ixtapa and Zihua.
Stayed March 2017. Picked this place because physically its a spectacular property, built into a hill, every room with a gorgeous view and large balcony, and private beach. Service was great, food great, but ... ... if you like hanging out at the pool(s) you will probably be disappointed. The pools are 15 stories above the beach and are surrounded by jungle like vegetation. The setting is very pretty but it makes for unbearable heat and no breeze. Couple this with average daily temps in the low 90's and sitting around the two smallish pools is like baking in a sauna.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Beautiful Las Brisas Ixtapa

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: The location and size of the property are impressive. Every room has a view and a large balcony. The grounds are lovely and for the most part walkable
Cons: There is maintenance to be done around the property but that is ongoing and challenging in a property of this size.
Location: The location is between an older fishing village and a newer resort/ beach area. We cabbed into both areas for dinner, and change of scenery.
I am giving this hotel a 4 only because it is an older property. The fact that is older however is one of the bonuses as the property itself including the size and the location on the hill is outstanding. The name says it all and we loved the cooling fresh breezes that blow through at all hours. The rooms were immaculate, the food delicious and fresh and the staff courteous helpful and respectful at all times. This is not a place to go for a party until you drop experience but for a wonderful relaxing peaceful get away we found it perfect. We want to give special thanks to Miguel and Pedro who took such good care of us during our breakfast and Happy Hour.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 7, 2017 by Roberto Rangel, Hotel Management
Dear Guest: Thank you for the nice review about your stay at Las Brisas Ixtapa. We will be more than happy to welcome you back in a near future. Sincerely, The Management