Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Bohdan

Amazing ryokan!

Posted Apr 3, 2017 on Hotels
Incredible ryokan and an amazing room with views onto the lake with koy carp! Would definitely stay again. Staff we very kind and helpful :)
Comment from Hotel Management
May 31, 2017
Thank you for choosing to stay with us at the Arai ryokan and for writing a review. We are happy when you enjoy staying with us. We will hope to continue offering comfortable lodging for tourists to Japan for a long time. We look forward to having you during your future visit to Japan.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leesburg, VA

Amazing experience!!

Posted Nov 19, 2016
This place is incredible!! We enjoyed in room massage and dinner, the hot springs and hospitality. We wore our kimono the entire visit and loved all of the food. Quick walk to Shuzenji Temple and the bamboo grove. Great shops, amazing views and pure luxury!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto canada

Incredible!

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Location: So much food and cute shops!
This is a beautiful and authentic Japanese Onsen. So lovely. Good price. Great people. Waters are incredible. Stay for a day or two. No donner included buy restaurants and shops everywhere.
5 out of 5
by Randolph

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2016
pretty nice view and warm services ever! We will definitely go there next time. The dinner and breakfast are awesome and everyone in the hotel is so nice. If you love hot spring, you will definitely book here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing grounds, amazing staff – one of the best!

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Having stayed in a plethora of ryokan over many years in Japan, this is one of the best experiences I've had so far. Wonderful staff, excellent food and character galore. I'll be going back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historical ryokan

Posted Mar 3, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed at Arai ryokan for two nights with my family. The culture heritage bath was impressive. Lovely gardens. However the private shower room which attached to our room was very cold. It was almost impossible to take a shower there.
5 out of 5
by EUNBIN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels