Ratings based on 64 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Leesburg, VA

Amazing experience!!

Posted Nov 19, 2016
This place is incredible!! We enjoyed in room massage and dinner, the hot springs and hospitality. We wore our kimono the entire visit and loved all of the food. Quick walk to Shuzenji Temple and the bamboo grove. Great shops, amazing views and pure luxury!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 9, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto canada

Incredible!

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Location: So much food and cute shops!
This is a beautiful and authentic Japanese Onsen. So lovely. Good price. Great people. Waters are incredible. Stay for a day or two. No donner included buy restaurants and shops everywhere.
5 out of 5
by Randolph

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 24, 2016
pretty nice view and warm services ever! We will definitely go there next time. The dinner and breakfast are awesome and everyone in the hotel is so nice. If you love hot spring, you will definitely book here!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing grounds, amazing staff – one of the best!

Posted Apr 17, 2016
Having stayed in a plethora of ryokan over many years in Japan, this is one of the best experiences I've had so far. Wonderful staff, excellent food and character galore. I'll be going back.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 26, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historical ryokan

Posted Mar 3, 2015 on Hotels
Stayed at Arai ryokan for two nights with my family. The culture heritage bath was impressive. Lovely gardens. However the private shower room which attached to our room was very cold. It was almost impossible to take a shower there.
5 out of 5
by EUNBIN

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 29, 2014 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ross from Hawaii

A Gem In The Mountains Of Suzenji

Posted Nov 14, 2014 on Hotels
Our stay at Arai Roykan was wonderful. The staff was very gracious and the food was excellent. The Roykan is rather old so the bathroom in our room was small and a bit inconvenient to use; however, the rest of the room was comfortable as any other roykan. The roykan is located in a nice country/mountain setting with a river running along side it. Very relaxing and quiet except for the running river. I would recommend this roykan for anyone looking for a place far away from the big city setting.