Ratings based on 448 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with great amenities

Posted May 19, 2017
Great hotel with great room amenities including the toiletries.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 2, 2017 by Stephen, Hotel Management
Thanks for staying with us and I'm happy to hear your enjoyed the room amenities. We're looking forward to welcoming you back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It was great for skiing in/out. Great concierge -

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Everyone was very kind and helpful. The concierge was very helpful with phone calls - our room vas very clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Brett Upchurch, Hotel Management
Thank you for the nice review. Happy to hear everything was great with your stay. We hope to see you again, soon.
4 out of 5
by Robert

Posted Mar 19, 2017 on Hotels
Comfort would have been better if the bed was more comfortable. The Murphy bed was terribly uncomfortable.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 17, 2017 by Brett Upchurch, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time provide your feedback. We do have pillow top mattress covers that we are happy to apply upon request. If you don't prefer the murphy bed, the Terra King room or the One Bedroom Suite is a great alternative.
5 out of 5
by S J Goldwater

A treasure of a find!

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
HIGHLY recommend staying there!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Brett Upchurch, Hotel Management
Dear S J Goldwater, Thank you so much for recommending Hotel Terra. We hope you return next season. Brett Upchurch Director of Rooms
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2017 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 16, 2017 by Brett Upchurch, Hotel Management
Thank you for the great review. Have a wonderful summer. Brett Upchurch Director of Rooms
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Depends upon what you are looking for

Posted Feb 26, 2017 on Orbitz
The hotel staff were nice and attentive, and when there was an issue with our room they went above and beyond in compensating us. That said, our lunch and dinner in the hotel restaurant were the two worst meals we had during our stay. They weren't horrible; just not great. At least compared to the other options nearby. We stayed in a studio. A bit too much furniture (especially couch) in a room for two and very inadequate closet/dresser space for a place people come for multiple days with ski gear. At the same time, we enjoyed the easy feel of staying in the Village and this was a more affordable option to the Four Seasons.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Expedia service fails again

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Hotel terra and all of Teton Village was closed from two nights before our arrival and one day after our planned 4 day stay due to a power outage. We found this out by driving up to a dark Teton village at 10:45 at night. Expedia Service failed again by not notifying us until a day after our arrival. Apparently Hotel Terra notified Expedia but that was never forwarded
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Brett Upchurch - Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Dear Bob Mc, We are deeply sorry you weren't notified that the hotel was going to close due to the power outage. We tried out best and any outlet we had to reach out to everyone scheduled to be staying with us that weekend. We hope that you were able to find alternative accommodations in the town of Jackson and hopefully you are able to plan another trip to visit us.
5 out of 5
by John

Sorry to go home!

Posted Jan 30, 2017 on Hotels
I'm writing this review post my vacation with my daughter two days after check out. I booked this set based on its review rating and in all honestly, I'm very satisfied. Service was personalized in many unanticipated ways. Staff was friendly, accomodating, and very responsive. George and Ethan from the valet desk were very helpful. This hotel and its staff were very prominent in making our vacation a iconic family memory. I will return to this hotel for sure. I encourage you to at least give this place a try. I'm sure you will be happy. The Bowles Family.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Bowles Family, Thank you for taking the time to share your wonderful experience during your vacation to Jackson Hole. We would be very happy to welcome you back. Our team strives to provide the very best service and are grateful for your appreciation. See you next season!! Brett Upchurch Director of Rooms
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient to the slopes, needs better maintenance

Posted Jan 18, 2017
Pros: Location. Staff was nice.
Cons: Maintenance
Location: Skiing.
Nice room, Clean. Convenient to the slopes. In the kitchen, the pizza oven was broken. The outdoor pool was out of order due to a leak. The drawer of a dresser in my room was broken and needed to be fixed (which they did in a timely manner). Struck me as a hotel that needs more budget for maintenance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Brett Upchurch - Director of Rooms, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking time to provide this very helpful feedback. I'm happy to hear you enjoyed your stay and appreciated the friendliness of the staff. We are constantly making improvements and schedule preventative maintenance to each room twice a year. We hope to see you the next time you return to Jackson Hole
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Over Rated, Pool broken, Sauna broken, Room small

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
Staff was marginally helpful. TMA could not care about sound complaints from snow removal. Osteria is a delightful dining experience. Room was too small for two people. Sofa does not open to bed. Bed was hard as a rock and broke. Staff fixed same day. We will not stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some helpful feedback. I do regret that we have lost the opportunity to have you back as a customer to try and make up for these mistakes. It sounds like you stayed in one of our studios which all have a murphy queen bed. If a King bed is what you preferred, we are happy to look into another room type. I do understand the inconvenience of the snow plows at that hour. For safety reasons they do have to perform this task overnight. Our overnight agent should have been more understanding. We hope that you change mind about finding another place to stay during your time in Jackson Hole.