Ratings based on 65 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good place to stay in jackson

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Although we were the only guests staying that night the staff made sure our stay was pleasant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Fantastic New Orleans style old school hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: staff, courtyard, koi pond
Cons: Desk was in a different room than the TV. Some folks like to work or surf with the TV in the background. No big deal.
Location: I usually just go the Fenian's Pub when I pass through town. It's a fun, friendly local pub a mile away.
Fantastic, quaint old school hotel with New Orleans-esque courtyard and mini-balconies. Feng shui Koi pond was a nice extra. Staff was tremendous, going well out of their way to help me. (Special shout outs to Ricki and Burkee.) I will definitely return the next time I pass through Jackson.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Built in 1953

Posted Dec 1, 2016
Pros: Decor was very nice...hotel clean and maintained! Breakfast buffet very good and lunch was a great deal. Room rain shower with wall jets surprised me!
Cons: If they could latch the windows, that would be great. Bed not very comfortable!
Location: I walked to my meetings - no chance to explore much with the weather. Martin's restaurant/bar 5 or 6 blocks away is where I ate dinner!
Reminds me of New Orleans - there's a difference between historic and old. Overall, the property was maintained excellently. A window in my room would not latch (I tried to rehook it) but I was afraid it would break if I kept trying. It rained quite a bit with some thunderstorms and high wind gusts and the room was damp. Issues with internet - the tv in the bedroom would only capture about 8 stations while the one in the adjoining room got them all. Prior to booking, I didn't realize the hotel did not have a restaurant open for dinner - they were only open breakfast and lunch.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Sep 18, 2016 on Hotels
Quick overnight. This is a great hotel - nice people, great room, breakfast etc. For $5 you have access to a fully equipped gym (next door)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Armagh

Old Capitol Inn

Posted Sep 11, 2016 on Hotels
Beautiful, traditional style hotel with a gorgeous garden. Unfortunately we didn't get to experience it for long as we had a 9 hour delay on our train, so only arrived at approx 9pm, leaving again the next morning. Breakfast was good, although made more complicated by the fact it was a buffet style but you had to request cutlery and drinks. Just put everything out and let people help themselves and it will be much easier, on the guests and the staff.
5 out of 5
by Monica

Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels
Just wonderful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Hotel with character right in downtown

Posted May 8, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Great room. Great service. Parking was easy. Free hot breakfast that was not your typical one you would find at chain hotels.
Location: Jackson is not a city that's alive at night. There were limited restaurants that were walkable and open.
This hotel was everything I was hoping for when I booked it. It has all the character one could want in a beautiful old building. It has a roof top deck and a lovely garden pond filled with koi. Just lovely.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

New spin on "old" luxury

Posted May 6, 2016 on Hotels
The Old Capitol Inn is a small hotel in downtown Jackson, MS. The rooms are all different and very comfortable. The free breakfast was the best we have ever enjoyed at any hotel; the food was hot and fresh. The neighborhood includes the capitol building and state offices. However, there are several good restaurants nearby; hotel staff has good recommendations. Finally, the hotel is right across the street from the Mississippi State Archives building. We were allowed to leave our car in the hotel's parking lot which was a major bonus since there is very little parking in this area. I would highly recommend this hotel for anyone who has business in the area or who would enjoy a little pampering for a decent price.
4 out of 5
by Eileen

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 20, 2016 on Hotels