Ratings based on 67 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
72% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canberra

Cheap and convenient

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Cheap, clean and convenient hotel which suited us perfectly for an overnight stopover on our road trip.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Tx

Regular hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2016
Pros close to I20, we stay here in sour way ck to Dallas, TX Cons old hotel, double check your reservation
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Disappointing, unhealthy breakfast

Posted May 4, 2016
Pros: Clean and quiet, convenient to my travel on I-20 East.
Cons: Provide a healthy breakfast
Location: Near I-20
The "healthy" breakfast advertised consisted primarily of high carb foods, unhealthy for me as a diabetic. Muffins, bagels, waffles, sugared cereals, Danish...and only two old, dried out wrinkled apples available for fruit. The offered yogurt is something I am unable to eat, so it was necessary for me to go elsewhere for breakfast. That eliminated both cost saving and convenience for me.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Dont enjoy because I wasn't aware of animal friend

Posted Apr 4, 2016
Over all was ok peaceful what I didn't like that it was animal friendly , which is find will Yhu only have apart of the hotel is just for animals..!!! Never send a guest to a room that had animals in if wasn't asking for the room , turn own air smell cats and dogs couldn't sleep cause the smell of an alley cat !!! Horrible
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

smelled like urine had been poured in the carpet

Posted Mar 19, 2016
Nauseous. We checked in at 3am after a 10hr drive from texas and we would have been better off sleeping in a public restroom. Bathroom was filthy. Beyond disappointed. We got up and promptly leftvat 7am. Yes. LESS THAN 4 Hrs in that filthy room. I shouldn't be charged for the stay.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient and clean

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Check in and out were quick and convenient. The room was clean but older. Overall, a good stay on the way to NOLA.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good value and clean

Posted Nov 5, 2015
Don't usually stay at Quality Inns and was pleasantly surprised. Not fancy or new, but clean and quiet. Spacious room with separate couch area. Microwave and fridge. Nice stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2015 by Tru, Hotel Management
Dear Valued Guest, So glad to hear back from you! Thank you for choosing us, and for your time taken in providing us with this online review. We are delighted to know that you found out guest room, spacious, clean, quiet, comfortable, and equipped with convenient amenities. We are very proud to be with Choice Hotel's Quality Inn brand, and look forward to serve you soon! Until then, wish you a great Holiday Season! Trupti(Tru) Patel General Manager Quality Inn & Suites Southwest (601) 922-5600
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really Nice Staff-But location was concerning

Posted Oct 28, 2015
Pros: Great staff, very helpful.
Cons: The room was very musty smelling when we entered, but we were able to clear it out by turning on the air.
Location: Nothing
The hotel itself was okay and the staff was great. We were concerned for our safety and the safety of our vehicle. There were some people that would continually drive back and forth during the night and sit in the parking lot and then leave. There appeared that there was some kind of deal making going on. As many times as we got up to check our vehicles we never say any uniformed security.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice location

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Hotel was ok. Outlet by sink didn't work entire time we were there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dallas, TX

Not a pleasant experience

Posted Aug 16, 2015
it seemed to be in the ghetto... I understand it is policy to check in at 3, but this is the only hotel I've ever stayed at that the staff would not let us check in at 2 even though there were obviously SEVERAL rooms available... The bathroom smelled like a locker room and the shower handle fell off making it very difficult to shut the water water off. We had a room booked to stay a night here on our way home of our road trip, but needless to say, it was cancelled
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 19, 2015 by dp, Hotel Management
Dear Guest Sorry for the bad experience you had staying at our hotel, we understand that you wanted to check in at 2pm and you mentioned that there were rooms available we do not know how yo got that information, you booked this room through Expedia and it says that our check in time is 3 PM, secondly if you had a shower with the broken handle we would have moved you into another room so at least you would be able to take proper shower also this neighborhood is not a ghetto as mentioned.