Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

3.1 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Not much
Cons: Everything
Booked this hotel using the special hidden prices feature. After booking and finding out where we would be staying, we got the Astoria. One problem though...we found out that they were only open from 7am -12 pm and from 4pm - 9pm. Since we were gonna be getting into Jacksonville late, I lost out on my first night and couldn't get refunded for it. What hotel only has front desk hours in two 5 hour intervals throughout the day? The rooms were terrible, stunk of cigarettes, the beds felt like sleeping on cement, and it had roaches. No coffee maker, no phone, didn't even have a writing pad or pen. Even the Gideons wouldn't leave their bibles here! Tried to work with the front desk and they were very indifferent and unhelpful. They weren't rude or anything, they just didn't care. Will never use that feature on this website again. Very disappointed. If i would've know that this would be the hotel I'd be getting, I'd have just went elsewhere.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville fl

Terrible

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Astoria was horrible my room was nasty it was dirty the sheets were not clean it as hair dead skin and stains on the sheets. The floors was infested with ticks or bed bugs I didn't stick around to find out. Please don't waste your time. Then a you get what you pay for.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not my favorite

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Staff was friendly but our room and the overall hotel wasn't as I expected. We stayed for four days with our newborn to visit family and was disappointed considering just two months ago we stayed across the street at Days Inn and the two differ conpletely! The website shows a clean and decent hotel but when we arrived it was under construction, the room smelled like smoke and when we asked about it they said it was a smoking room though the sign on our door said non smoking. the door kept getting jammed whenever we tried to open it, the overall cleanliness was very basic and wasn't cleaned except twice during our four day stay. We also noticed that there was a lot of strange and shady people that roamed about during all hours, although this hotel was a cross from the one we stayed in before the vibe was extremely different. Had we known prior to booking we would've paid the extra cost to go somewhere else. Maybe when construction is over it'll be different but for now I wouldn't recommend this hotel especially if u have children such as ourselves.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Middle Georgia

Bad experience.

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: The price
Cons: Should not rent rooms until they have been renovated.
Location: Location was good.
Reservations were made and confirmed for 2 nights for a room with a king size bed. Upon arrival the hotel was under major renovation which should have been a clue of what we were in for. At registration, we were told a king bed was not available but they had a queen, we accepted but unfortunately, it was a double bed. The heating and cooling unit would not operate properly and the door was difficult to open, lock and unlock. The room was very small and extremely cluttered with un-matching furnishings so that you we had little room to even walk. My wife and I stayed the first night since we had a meeting we had to attend and did not have time to find another hotel. The second night the temperature was so bad we filled a complaint with the desk but was told they could do nothing and recommended we call management the next day so we just left and came home. Bottom line, it was an extremely bad experience and we will never stay at the Astoria Hotel Suites in Orange Park again.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Would not let my dog stay in a room.

Posted Dec 14, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Getting Ice for their guest with a smile. Offering a refund instead of having to go through what I did go through.
I had requested a king size bed when I arrived they didn't have a king, they said they had a queen. I was ok with a queen. However the bed was a double, still it was after 9 p.m. and I could make due for a night. The room had an not so pleasant odor and it looked and felt very old, the furnishings, bedspread etc...I went to get Ice, couldn't find an ice machine, so I went to the front desk. I was told sorry our only Ice Maker is broken, we have no Ice. That was the last straw, the front desk clerk told me he could not refund my money because I went through Expedia. I insisted that he call a manager, he finally did and the manager said the same. I asked why someone couldn't go and buy Ice for the guest, I travel a lot, and have never been told sorry we have one ice machine, it's broken and we have no Ice. Another person walked in for a room, and I politely told her she would be better off going somewhere else, the manager became angry and told the front desk person to put a refund on my card, He did for 40.16, hasn't showed up as a credit yet, doubtful it will. This is a shady hotel with shady characters working. I have never used Expedia before and this was not a good first time. I left and went across the street to the Hilton Garden Inn, They had ice and were very friendly.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

A one night stay

Posted Dec 12, 2014
Under construction for better things to come in the near future, fingers loosely crossed. Staff was friendly and accommodating enough, we weren't expecting 5 diamond service considering the 1 star investment we gave. The room was a throwback to the 90s and once inside it felt like we were in some drug deal scene from a movie. Full 1080p check of the bed revealed no nasty bb critters, which raised the status of the motel a little for us. Room was cold when we arrived, which was probably due to the fact the a/c was left on for who knows how long and we arrived during the night which was cold. The room eventually warmed up with the playlist of fan noises vol.3 playing in the background and the rest was history. Breakfast in the morning was ok. Few options available like bagels and cereal, juice, coffee and tea. Our only disappointment was the fact they didn't let us take any of the food we were eating outside with us as I was in a hurry to catch my flight and wanted to grab and go. Some of the other people hanging around the hotel seemed a little sketchy but we didn't mind or feel in any danger or threat. I would stay here again under the right circumstances.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Okay for a couple of nights

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Under renovation? Paint on carpet. Beds were clean. No bugs. TV sucked. Shower clean. Breakfast not so hot. Seemed some lived here? Wouldn't recommend for a long stay. 2 nights was fine. Didn't spend much time here actually in the motel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Wisconsin

Conveniently close to NAS Jacksonville

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Pros: Nice swimming pool
Cons: Remove cockroaches, improve breakfast
Cockroaches and other insects in room was disappointing. The breakfast only started at 7 am and had hard bagels and no toaster. Some sweet cereal and cakes were available. The juice was good. Seemed like many of the guests were staying for a long time, i.e. pretty much living there.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

If this is all You Can Afford

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: The room wasn't half bad - big enough
Cons: Let someone take a $1 bagel from the dining if they actually proved they stayed there
Location: Hard to get to because of making U turns
Oh my....where do I begin. I was doing a craft show 1 mile down the road and figured this would be the perfect location to stay. WRONG. -The hotel is hard to get into from the highway - it's a 6 lane highway, you have to drive 1/4 mile further down, make a U turn with no red-light across busy traffic to even try to get into. -There is a LOT of renovations going on. -The room wasn't as bad as I expected, except there was hairs in the bathtub that were not mine. -I woke up in the middle of the night to use bathroom and was met by 2 german roaches on the counter. I was told this was to be expected in Florida. -The A/C was weird. No FAN setting - which meant the A/C kept going off and on - great while is was on - but when off, the walls were paper thin - heard the baby cry next door and train in back of the building all night. -I guess the last straw that will make me NEVER stay there again, was I went to check out, grabbed a $1 bagel, and the lady told me I couldn't take it outside. REALLY????? A $1 bagel I couldn't take outside? -If you are VERY poor and can't afford anything else, then I guess this will do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Miami Beach, Florida

Hotel appeared new or very recent construction.

Posted Sep 6, 2014
Pros: Location, quiet and overall quality. Any client would be pleased staying here.
Cons: None.
Location: Central location to my desired business interest.
Very helpful and friendly staff. Close location to Interstate 10