Ratings based on 141 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
55% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not good

Posted Oct 5, 2015
Pros: Not much
Cons: Everything
Booked this hotel using the special hidden prices feature. After booking and finding out where we would be staying, we got the Astoria. One problem though...we found out that they were only open from 7am -12 pm and from 4pm - 9pm. Since we were gonna be getting into Jacksonville late, I lost out on my first night and couldn't get refunded for it. What hotel only has front desk hours in two 5 hour intervals throughout the day? The rooms were terrible, stunk of cigarettes, the beds felt like sleeping on cement, and it had roaches. No coffee maker, no phone, didn't even have a writing pad or pen. Even the Gideons wouldn't leave their bibles here! Tried to work with the front desk and they were very indifferent and unhelpful. They weren't rude or anything, they just didn't care. Will never use that feature on this website again. Very disappointed. If i would've know that this would be the hotel I'd be getting, I'd have just went elsewhere.
2 out of 5
by Rainey from Jacksonville Florida

Rainey and Kyle's adventure

Posted Jul 25, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel name does not match the appearance of the hotel inside and outside. Needs major upgrades!!!! "
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Don't stay here.

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Pros: The Location is great, as it is just off I-295. It is also very close to many restaurants, Waffle House and Cracker Barrel, as well as 4 Rivers BBQ ar
Cons: The place needs some serious remodeling. It also needs housekeepers that actually keep house.
Location: It is 35 miles to Jacksonville Beach, and just a few blocks to Orange Park Mall.
I booked this reservation through Expedia so it was prepaid for three nights. Housekeeping never cleaned the room or provided fresh towel and such the whole time we were there. The Front desk never provided towels either. On the third night, management left me a note that I owed them two nights room rent plus late fees. When I showed them my confirmation from Expedia, at least they relented on that. The room we had smelled musty, and the decor is very much out of the 1970s. The water from the shower smalls of rotten eggs. I have family in this area, but I will never again stay here. Did I mention there were hookers strolling the parking lot?
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Jacksonville fl

Terrible

Posted Jun 6, 2015
Astoria was horrible my room was nasty it was dirty the sheets were not clean it as hair dead skin and stains on the sheets. The floors was infested with ticks or bed bugs I didn't stick around to find out. Please don't waste your time. Then a you get what you pay for.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

A Place to Crash

Posted May 3, 2015 on Hotels
It was livable for a needed night's sleep en route another location.
1 out of 5
by Tony from Florida

Sleep in your car!

Posted Apr 30, 2015 on Hotels
I booked two rooms with twin beds. When we checked in they only has single beds available. The phone didn't work. The TV didn't work. They said they would have it fixed and it never was. Their ice machine wasn't working and the room dirty. I would recommend sleeping in a truck stop bathroom before I would this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not my favorite

Posted Feb 24, 2015
Staff was friendly but our room and the overall hotel wasn't as I expected. We stayed for four days with our newborn to visit family and was disappointed considering just two months ago we stayed across the street at Days Inn and the two differ conpletely! The website shows a clean and decent hotel but when we arrived it was under construction, the room smelled like smoke and when we asked about it they said it was a smoking room though the sign on our door said non smoking. the door kept getting jammed whenever we tried to open it, the overall cleanliness was very basic and wasn't cleaned except twice during our four day stay. We also noticed that there was a lot of strange and shady people that roamed about during all hours, although this hotel was a cross from the one we stayed in before the vibe was extremely different. Had we known prior to booking we would've paid the extra cost to go somewhere else. Maybe when construction is over it'll be different but for now I wouldn't recommend this hotel especially if u have children such as ourselves.
2 out of 5
by henry

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 11, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by Marc from Orlando, FL

Scary and disgusting

Posted Dec 16, 2014 on Hotels
I have stayed at this hotel in the past. Evidently it is under new ownership. Half of the hotel is being renovated under a new owner. The existing hotel seems like a halfway house. The hotel can be rented by the day, week, or month. The rooms are disgusting, no lamp shades, remote control for TV doesn't work, TV is an antique, and bathroom was disgusting. I would not ever recommend this hotel again. I hope the other part of the new hotel is better under new ownership after its renovation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Middle Georgia

Bad experience.

Posted Dec 15, 2014
Pros: The price
Cons: Should not rent rooms until they have been renovated.
Location: Location was good.
Reservations were made and confirmed for 2 nights for a room with a king size bed. Upon arrival the hotel was under major renovation which should have been a clue of what we were in for. At registration, we were told a king bed was not available but they had a queen, we accepted but unfortunately, it was a double bed. The heating and cooling unit would not operate properly and the door was difficult to open, lock and unlock. The room was very small and extremely cluttered with un-matching furnishings so that you we had little room to even walk. My wife and I stayed the first night since we had a meeting we had to attend and did not have time to find another hotel. The second night the temperature was so bad we filled a complaint with the desk but was told they could do nothing and recommended we call management the next day so we just left and came home. Bottom line, it was an extremely bad experience and we will never stay at the Astoria Hotel Suites in Orange Park again.