Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MA

Great location!

Posted Jan 20, 2016
The location is perfect for a stroll through historic New Bern.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NC

Posted Jan 2, 2016
Pros: I liked the location and the view of the river. The room was clean. The staff in the "restaurant" were friendly. The cleaning lady was nice.
Cons: The front desk staff need to be more friendly and welcoming. The hotel needs to offer complimentary coffee to the guests and increase amenities.
Location: New Bern's downtown is beautiful and fun to explore.
The hotel was convenient to downtown with a great view of the river. The room was clean overall, but the sleeper sofa had stains and needs to be replaced. There are very few amenities and you have to pay extra for coffee and breakfast. The restaurant staff were friendly and helpful, but the food and beverages were way overpriced. Because of the open floor design on the second floor, we could hear everything going on in the lobby and restaurant.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

New Bern

Posted Sep 29, 2015
Pros: Everything else was fine. This hotel made the other ones look bad.
Cons: NA
Location: New Bern is a nice city overall. People were friendly wherever we went. Not Myrtle Beach or New Elizabeth City.
Everything with this hotel was great. The carpet was the only problem in the room. When I worn white socks in the room, they turn black. The carpet was vacuum but needs a deep cleaning. And don't make the employee wear a Denver football shirt when she really don't like them.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cleanest with a fully competent staff

Posted Sep 21, 2015
Pros: clean and friendly
Cons: elevator was slow
Location: downtown New Bern shopping beautiful location on the neuse
What a beautiful hotel! This was our first experience here and it was such a joy. We sat on the balcony and looked at the water until bed time. Breakfast was wonderful and checkout was without any problems. We will definitely return here for a quiet peaceful stay!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bronx, New York

River View Fabulous

Posted Sep 20, 2015
I just loved the Riverview. The Sun coming up in the east you're so beautiful, so meditative. I plan to return to work on my book there. I also like how easy it was to get a taxi from the airport.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Durham, NC

Fun time at this hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Great location within walking distance to the shops and restaurants and also a top notch view of the water. The staff was great. I also loved the coffee bar right there in the lobby because I am a coffee lover. The pool area was comfy and the other guests were friendly. The only thing I had a problem with was the fan in the bathroom was not working so had to open the door to clear the mirror of steam, not a great idea when your friend can see everything because of the way the mirror is placed. HaHa!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Convenient to downtown

Posted May 2, 2015
Nice location with river views. Cute cafe on site for a quick breakfast or snack. Close to downtown and airport.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Perfect location in walking distance to everything

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: The location is great. The rooms were very comfortable, and having our 8 year old with us, it was great having a fridge in the room.
Cons: It took a while to be waited on in the bar/lounge and the bar tender wasn't especially customer oriented.
Location: Great location in downtown New Bern and within walking distance to almost everything there is to do, including Tryon Palace, restaurants, shops.
This hotel was a great place to stay. It's clean and new, and the location can't be beat. My family and I loved being able to park the car for the weekend and walk everywhere, including Tryon Palace. There were great places to get food and drinks nearby. I would recommend it to my friends.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oakland CA

Friendly, welcoming place

Posted Dec 22, 2014
This is a typical mid-range chain hotel with an exceptional staff. Everyone from the front desk through the Bistro and cleaning staff were gracious, helpful, and fully engaged in making our visit a good experience. Longer hours in the Bistro would have helped, especially for breakfast, which ends too early (especially for guests coming in from Western time zones. Bathroom was very clean, but the hot water took FOREVER to reach the shower -- 3 minutes of wasted water. Beds were comfortable and we appreciated a variety of pillow types, so that we could choose firmer or softer. The sofa bed was unusable in the configuration of the room because of other furniture. The fitness center is also too crowded with equipment for comfort, especially for lifting. Inescapable Christmas music piped through the public spaces was really annoying but I suppose inevitable this time of year.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Creedmoor, NC

Coveniently located, view of the river

Posted Nov 6, 2014
Pros: free wi-fi, good beds, bistro downstairs for breakfast and dinner/bar.
Location: walk to convention center; near tryon palace and historic district; lots of shops, great seafood and ice cream; easy parking. nice park beside hotel.
the staff was friendly and helpful, the room was large and comfortable, wi-fi was free - very nice place to stay.