Ratings based on 172 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful view of the Neuse River.

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Pros: Quiet and comfortable. Starbucks in the lobby.
Cons: The outdoor pool wasn't open, even though the temps were in the 70's. I was told the pool doesn't open until May 1st.
Location: Walking distance to the shops and restaurants. Easy access to the highway.
My husband and I stayed for three nights at the Courtyard Marriott. We had a lovely view of the Neuse River. The room was quiet and comfortable. We were able to walk to the shops and restaurants. My favorite dinner was at the Morgan. The main attraction is the Tryon Palace. The tour is 45 minutes long and also includes the garden and three other historic homes. New Bern is also a 40 minute drive from the Courtyard to the beach. I would recommend visiting New Bern and staying at this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from New England

where i wanted to be

Posted Mar 30, 2017
Pros: People were friendly and helpful.
Cons: Seemed early enough for the pool to be opened, but the way winter came back I could be wrong. Seems like everyone else offers continental breakfast. W
Location: If you're into the water New Bern is fine. Cafes were pretty nice and walking around the historic area was very good.
A quiet place just off the highway staffed by nice people. Great location in the historic district of New Bern.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The pool was disgusting.. that barely describes it

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Pros: the rooms are extremely large. not cramped like other hotels. the bar was greawt.
Cons: the pool..
The pool was disgusting.. there was foam disgustingness floating in it, it was full of leavers, and it was just gross. the bar closes early but it was nice. room was clean and HUGE not a normal hotel room size. its very large.. Very comfortable. not crowded.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Litchfield, CT

Super location for walking to shops, restaurants

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Pros: Location and price.
Cons: They don't have a "real" restaurant setup but it does accommodate most needs since there are many great places to eat around town w/I walking distance
Location: You're in the historic section with River frontage. Walk to shops, restaurants and historic landmarks, golf is close.
Enjoyed staying at the Courtyard Marriott again this trip. Excellent location for highway access but in great location for historic New Bern. Easy walk to all shops, restaurants and sightseeing around town plus your on the Neuse River and have the river walk for great exercise. The staff is very friendly and helpful and very accommodating with any needs you might have.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to downtown

Posted Mar 8, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: No ATM machine in hotel.
Location: Many acitivities close by, restaurants, etc.
Very good experience, comfortable room and nice staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from VA

The staff were awful

Posted Feb 24, 2017
After booking, I called the hotel to coordinate being close to friends who were also staying there. I spoke to the nicest lady named Jessica. I never met Jessica when I got to the hotel and the staff I met were rude and unaccommodating. I was staying there for a funeral so was already not having the best reason to travel. The staff could have made the experience so much better but instead they made it worse.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Bern, NC

Nice hotel, on one side you can see the river.

Posted Feb 22, 2017
It was a great hotel to stay in. It was very clean and modern yet cozy. I loved the view from the pool deck. The bistro was nice a comfortable to relax in.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Feb 11, 2017
No surprises when i choose Courtyard by Marriott. Check-in by the friendly, helpful staff was quick and we were assigned a room even though it was 2 hours before check-in time. We were given an easy to read map telling us where the restaurants in our area were located and what was offered by each. Our room was as expected but it did need to be updated and the refrigerator made a horrible whining noise so we had to unplug it. Breakfast at their Bistro offered an assortment of items for purchase and their coffee was from Starbucks.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Mades for the perfect vacation.

Posted Jan 23, 2017
Pros: location and helpful staff
Cons: I don't think they can.
Location: There were some places slightly less expensive but none of them were convenient to everything. This was.
Even in January. Great location... easy to get to everything New Bern and coastal. The staff was amazing, Everything very was comfortable (and everything worked and well maintained.)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Maryland

Our only disappointment!

Posted Jan 16, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: almost everything
Cons: Complementary breakfast
Location: So many great shops
Our only disappointment was there was not complementary breakfast,( including coffee) if there was we didn't know about it! The hotel it self was great, room clean, and comfortable. Staff great!