Ratings based on 375 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from l

Hotel need a face lift

Posted Sep 14, 2016
Conveniently located to downtown - Great location great views if you could only see through the dirty windows. Overall the property needs a facelift - tired and worn out
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: Location, cleanliness
Cons: See above
Location: Marina, main street, governor's palace, restaurants
Pool under repair, hallways not air conditioned. Room spacious and clean, quiet
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

river view

Posted Aug 21, 2016
We had a beautiful view of the marina and the river. Lovely room and very nice property. Easy walk to downtown.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Nashville

New Berne Doubletree

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Nice hotel. On the water. Easy walk to downtown New Berne. Very bad service in the restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

hotel dirty and needs repairs

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Bathtub was painted? Paint was peeling while in tub. TV didn't work and staff never showed up when called. Tile floor in bathroom filthy. Emergency exit sign fell off door and would not stay. These were the things you could see, what about the things you couldn't?! Won't be staying a Doubletree again!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: Everything, but especially the staff.
Location: New Bern is a great little town with a fun downtown area. Nice shops, restaurants, and historical sites.
Nice outdoor bar and eatery with live entertainment during the afternoon. Excellent room-very clean and modern. Wonderful and professional staff, everyone was very friendly and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Needs a refresh

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Been here over the last 6-7yrs of camp drop-off and/or pick-up and just seen the deterioration of the place. Too bad as proximity to town and the riverfront make this an ideal location but there's been minimal upkeep.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Just say "never" for this property

Posted Jun 26, 2016
Pros: The unrealized potential.
Cons: Don't have time for this one ... see the show "Hotel Impossible"
They botched the reservation. Booked river view, king bed and they sold all those (including mine) before I got there. Nice. The room we had was twin beds called 'two doubles' and the mattresses could easily come from the Salvation Army. No curtains on the windows, ripped carpet, the kind of furniture people normally leave at the end of their driveway with a "free" sign taped to it, busted elevators, even the room door didn't fit the door frame; this was not a $159 room. More like a $59 room where you worry about bed bugs. Staff, though probably nice people, were not trained in the hospitality industry; it was actually sad to see smiling young people so unable to perform even simple computer tasks. Here's the blunt, honest truth: ownership knows its at least $1 million behind with upkeep. They obviously haven't invested in management either. They don't deserve your business.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marion, S.C.

So Glad we stayed!!

Posted Jun 20, 2016
Pros: The COOKIE!!!! The Staff, The ability to check out late if necessary.
Cons: microwave/fridge in rooms, signs in Lobby pointing to elevator>>>>>>( I got Lost down the conference room hall)
Location: Love Love Love the "downtown "walk to everything/Pepsi Museum, & River View
Firstly, I HAVE to RAVE about the front desk staff, namely, Jumar! He was the most helpful person I've encountered in my many travels thus far! My family was there for a Graduation/ Reunion and he along with his fellow staff members greatly surpassed our expectations. The View from my room was FABULOUS, the pool was great and the girls in the family even got to party with the DJ on the Deck while my gang of brothers watched the game from the lounge! My only complaint WOULD BE NO MICROWAVE/FRIDGE in the room . (I'd ordered dessert@dinner, couldn't finish it and ended up throwing it out because it needed to be kept refrigerated) Had I called to inquire and been told no,I would have check-in elsewhere.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 9, 2016 on Hotels