Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.0 out of 5
50% of guests recommend
3.2 Room cleanliness
2.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by Tim from Charlotte area

Marina, lively bar with hard working regulars at the bar

Posted Dec 14, 2015 on Hotels
This hotel is not part of the Fairfield Inn chain. The name comes from the fact that is located in Fairfield Harbour. I would describe this place has a bar that has a few hotel rooms. If you're looking for a place that has great night life with a bar where regulars are there nightly with cookouts and playing games like corn hole and this is the place for you. The restaurant is excellent one the best pizzas ever. The people are extremely friendly and they prepared food for me even though it was past 9 o'clock 9 o'clock being the time that the restaurant closes. The people are extremely friendly and they prepared food for me even though it was past 9 o'clock, 9 o'clock being the time that the restaurant closes nightly.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from fb , Raleigh, NC

Nice hotel at the marina

Posted Oct 18, 2015
The room and view were outstanding . The food at the restaurant was delicious.
1 out of 5
by Deborah from Raleigh

Worst hotel stay ever!

Posted Oct 5, 2015 on Hotels
The owner was very nice. However, that's where the positives end. There is no front desk. No keys when I arrived. I booked hotel at 10 pm with hotels.com and told them that I would not arrive until 11 pm. They told me that the hotel had 24 hour check in. They did not. I waited 40 minutes for the owner to arrive with a key, he lives 1 mile away. The room had wholes in the bedspread, cobwebs in the ceiling light fixtures. The sink was not attached to the countertop in the bathroom. The shower floor had black marks on it. The coffee can had no coffee in it, at all! That was one of the things that was wiped clean. Roach walking across the floor. Bed felt hard like. Rock when I sat on it. Could not sleep here. Left after two hours in room.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 15, 2015 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 26, 2015
This hotel should not be on Expedia. It is under construction, there is no staff on sight. It is not in any condition for people to stay.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2015
A nice clean quiet room overlooking a beautiful marina.
4 out of 5
by william from Port Stanley

Room in a marina

Posted May 26, 2015 on Hotels
Clean and tidy room, great little spot.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Fuquay-Varina, NC

Great location, but tragically run down and shabby

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: The view from the room was lovely - it was on a second floor looking out over the marina, which is in a quiet harbor filled with gorgeous sailboats.
Cons: The building needs to be remodeled overall, both exterior and interior. The room needs a new bed.
Location: The closest town is New Bern, 20 minutes away. This community is residential, with no shops or restaurants. This location is best if you have a boat.
I love boating, so I was excited to stay at a marina. It seemed ideal - across the river from New Bern. Sure enough, the setting was very nice. The marina is part of a community that includes houses, condos, and golfing. Very quiet and secluded. The hotel is in a large building that also houses a restaurant, which we were quite disappointed to find was not in business. The whole building was shabby and poorly maintained. The manager seemed like a sketchy fellow, and I didn't trust him a bit. It looked like some effort had been made with the room, but it was an odd mixture of effort and neglect. For example, the bathroom was nicely painted, with good towels. But there was only one towel per person, and the shower was a stall so small that it was hard to use, and there wasn't enough lighting. The bed had a new, pretty comforter, but it was hard and uncomfortable. The balcony had a beautiful view, but grungy yard sale plastic table and ashtray. The walls of our room were dirty. The "continental breakfast" looked like it came from a gas station - bananas, Little Debbie muffins and a sad danish. Overall, this room was grossly overpriced and disappointing. For this quality room and service, I'd expect to pay about half of what we did. The Hilton or Marriott in New Bern are a better choice, and cheaper too. The part that bothers me the most is that this *should* have been nice. The hotel at a marina full of yachts should be fancy and well-kept. The fact that it's not is sad.
5 out of 5
by Zach from Raleigh, NC

Great Little Hide Away

Posted Feb 6, 2015 on Hotels
My wife, 2 y/o son and I stayed here one night last week while I was traveling for business. The room was very spacious and bed extremely comfortable. The view of the harbor with all the sail boats was spectacular. The managers name slips my mind, but he was one of the kindest and most helpful people I've ever met. We look forward to stopping in again sometime in the future. While I snuck out to get my work done Friday, the wife and kid were able to enjoy the indoor pool at the adjacent rec center. Overall great little get away!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great marina view.

Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels
Room was spacious with a beautiful view of the marina. Staff was very accommodating. Loud TV noise during the night one night. Bathroom lovely. Quality of sheets and towels just OK.