Ratings based on 1,161 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Western NY

Great beach location

Posted Jul 15, 2017
The location perfect - everything I wanted - beach, tiki bar outside with drink specials each day, lots of restaurants nearby, easy to get around. There's a beach buggy - golf cart that will take you to restaurants free, just tip them - I was alone or might have tried that. It was full of young families with kids, which I didn't expect, but it was summer vacation so it made sense. Having said that, it's a little worn but that's to be expected - they have a lot of traffic - my door swing lock was shaky but the deadbolt was fine. The room was nice and very clean. AC was not adjustable and was very cold - but they probably need to keep it that way because of the moist air - the ocean is right there. Indoor staff excellent - bar/restaurant staff so so - adequate but lax and only interested in talking to locals - starting to close up shop early so you felt guilty ordering anything. I arrived 8:30 pm starving - front desk said restaurant open till 9 - order something right now and take to your room - I was exhausted. The young lady at restaurant was hurriedly putting things away to close and I said I was told you're open till 9 - she said "well, 8:30 or 9" - begrudgingly sold me a sandwich. Next day I asked tiki bartender about "top 10 seafood restaurants" in town list that I found on web, and she said "yep" - no interest in helping me. I had no idea and didn't want to drive around so I skipped it. That stuff makes or breaks it for me. Handy chair/umbrella rentals next door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful hotel on beach.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Always stay here when visiting our son. Great location. Great staff.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Air conditioning was not working by the third day.

Posted Jul 8, 2017
Pros: Not much
Cons: See above
Beds also uncomfortable with a sheet and one very heavy duvet (too hot to sleep under!) shower very slippery---no grips or mat. You might get sued after someone slipping in shower, Hampton Inn! Very rude how we were forced out of breakfast at 10am. That's NOT how to treat guests!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tn

Wonderful place 6 years in a row

Posted Jul 7, 2017
We love this place. We have now stayed here 6 times. Always a great experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Oceanfront Price Limited View

Posted Jul 6, 2017
Pros: Close to the ocean
Cons: Staff training in how to help guests, cleanliness of pool area
Location: There are many things to do in Jax Beach
We were disappointed because the hotel (I am assuming) overbooked and we were told we would not get the oceanfront room we booked and paid for on the 4th of July. The only reason we wanted oceanfront was to be able to see the fireworks from our balcony with our young son. After much back and forth, we were told that we would get our room. However, there were several palm trees blocking our view of the ocean from our balcony on the 2nd floor and we could not see the fireworks at all. We paid for oceanfront, but were deceived. The balcony also smelled of urine.The hotel staff did nothing to may our stay more enjoyable. Also, the pool area was very dirty with food and spilled drinks all over the ground. We will not return to this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Henderdonville, TN

Great Location

Posted Jun 29, 2017
The hotel needs some love. Not the nicest Hampton Inn I've stayed at. Showing wear and tear. Surprised me based on the location and I'm sure they stay booked! Updates needed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Great Stay

Posted Jun 7, 2017
The hotel was very clean and staff were very friendly. The hotel had an awesome pool in the back of the hotel which was really nice for a change from the beach. The complimentary breakfast was awesome. Would definitely recommend for adults/kid friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the beach, great amenities.

Posted Jun 5, 2017
The ocean view was superb....on the beach, staff was very helpful, room was great and bed super comfortable. Breakfast, bars including the Tiki Bar on the Beach, and pool were great! Close proximity to wonderful restaurants too.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great breakfast

Posted May 24, 2017
We have stayed here before and they remembered us! Very nice accommodations!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Valdosta, Ga

Best Customer Service in Jacksonville

Posted May 9, 2017
I have stayed at a lot of hotels all over the U.S. and even the world, but I have never experienced superb customer service like I did at the Hampton Ocean Front Hotel in Jacksonville. If I could give 6 stars instead of 5 I would. The Hotel was wonderful. Great location (close to shopping and restaurants), clean, amazing pool (perfect for kids) and again the best customer service. Everyone was really nice but want to give a special shout out to Cameron and Luck, these guys are pure gold! If they haven't gotten a raise lately definitely give them one. Will be back soon! And if you want real deep fried seafood, Singletons Seafood Shack (recommended by Cameron) hits the spot.