Ratings based on 30 Verified Reviews

2.3 out of 5
31% of guests recommend
2.3 Room cleanliness
3.2 Service & staff
2.4 Room comfort
2.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle wa

Kinda dated, poor neighborhood

Posted Jul 19, 2017
The office was locked, staff fearful of the area. People partying outside late both nights. Not exceptionally clean.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 21, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to leave feedback. We are sorry your sleep was disturbed by noise from nearby guests. Our front desk is available to resolve issues, so we are sorry we were not aware of the noise problem, as we would have been happy to try and resolve the issue or move you to another suite. Thank you again for being our guest, and we hope you will return as we would love to provide you with a better experience and a good night's rest. Thank you, Management
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Nice affordable room

Posted Jul 4, 2017
the rooms was nice and clean it was hard to find it I just suggest they put more light higliti g the nane but I was fine with the room and the staff I had a good experience
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 4, 2017 by manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to leave feedback. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us! We are sorry that you had a hard time finding the hotel, and your comments about the lighting will be shared with our brand leaders. We are always looking for suggestions to how we can improve. Thank you again for being our guest, and we hope you will choose us again for your next stay in our area. Thank you, Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Florida

Don't stay anywhere near here!!!

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Everything!!! The staff couldn't care less, the place was disgusting and the noise and people there were frightening.
Location: The location was awful!!!!! Worst area/neighborhood
This is one of the worst hotels I have ever been to. Left after 5 minutes. First, there was a prostitute upstairs standing outside in his/her (was a transvestite) underwear screaming. Next, we go to the room and none of the lamps work. The bathroom light was the only one that worked, we turn that on to find a beyond disgusting bathroom full of mold (which I'm highly allergic to). Then someone outside our room starts yelling please help me please help me. The cops and a fire truck ended up coming to help who ever that person was. We left right away. We didn't get a refund, we weren't asked why we were leaving, no one cared that this place was not only dangerous but unhealthy and unsanitary. Places like this should not be allowed to steal unknowing peoples money! They should have a health inspector in there. It's just wrong.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 7, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your honest evaluation. We're deeply sorry that our staff was not as responsive as they should have been in working to address your specific concerns. It is always our goal to follow up immediately and resolve everything to your total satisfaction. Your comments show that we have room for improvement, and we assure you we will be more diligent going forward. We hope you will give us the opportunity to make it up to you on a future visit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Unconvinced location.!!!

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Too old hotel !! Everything need to be upgraded..... but very nice receptionist...!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2017 by Mgmt, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us and for your feedback. We apologize that you were disappointed with your accommodations, but we are glad that you were happy with the front desk associate. Your comments will help us as we strive to provide our guests with excellent accommodations. We hope you will stay with us again in the future for a much better experience. Thank you, Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

Motel meets hotel

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Pros: Nothing
Cons: I don't think the owner is willing to invest to make anything better so this is irrelevant.
Location: This is the only good thing about the brothel, you are close to everything.
This place is sold as a "Hotel" but is nothing like a hotel. The pool is actually the building next door and is in maintenance most of the time, also the rooms are dirty and stinky but the staff lets you know this in advance.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 1, 2017 by Mgmt, Hotel Management
Dear Peter, Thank you for sharing feedback about your recent stay. We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your accommodations and that these issues left you with a negative impression of our hotel. We hope you will give us an opportunity in the future to change that impression for the better. Thank you, Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I diddnt even check in and they still charge me fo

Posted May 17, 2017
I don't like that they charge me for the room and I wouldn't recomend this hotel to anyone
Comment from Hotel Management
May 19, 2017 by GM, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing your experience. I apologize that you felt you were overcharged for your stay. I assure you that this was not deliberate, and I apologize for the inconvenience this caused you. Because this review is anonymous, we cannot investigate to see where we went wrong. We will certainly redouble our efforts to make sure we are delivering impeccable service in the future. Thank you again for your feedback. Thank you, Management
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 9, 2017
The room smell like urine. The shower head was coming out the wall. The water for the shower was coming from 3 different places and the tub filled up while I was taking a shower. I called the front desk repeatedly and never got an answer. I will say the bed was comfortable and the sheets were clean. The dayshift staff were very nice
Comment from Hotel Management
May 10, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for rating our hotel. Please accept our apologies for problems with your room. We usually are very responsive to the needs of our guests, and we are sorry that did not happen with you. We value our guests, and we hope you will give us the chance to redeem ourselves on a future visit. Thank you, Management
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Outdated but convenient

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Totally outdated but very close to San Marco and it's right downtown! If you're just in town for a few nights and need a BASIC place to stay, this is cost effective! Staff was AMAZING!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
May 1, 2017 by Management , Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share that your stay at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown was enjoyable! It's great to know you liked our service and that our location was perfect for your needs. However, we agree that some areas of our hotel are beginning to show their age. We are working to refresh those areas as quickly as possible. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you again to enjoy the comforts of our newly renovated accommodations. Thank you, Management
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to everything

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Managers are all really nice n helpful especially morning manager
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 23, 2017 by Management, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying at Magnuson Hotel Jacksonville Downtown and sharing your wonderful review. We are so delighted to read that you loved our convenient location and courteous associates who took great care of you. It was our pleasure serving you, and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you, Management
1 out of 5
by Jenelle

Cracked walls, burn holes in bedding

Posted Apr 11, 2017 on Hotels
Room was supposed to have mini fridge and microwave, did not have either. Toilet kept overflowing from the seal at the floor, so 3 inches of water on the floor the whole night. Remote control did not work to the tv went to the office, got the batteries changed, batteries were good, but still would not control the tv. The picture of the pool is a picture of the hotel next door, there is not a pool on their property, you can use the one next door, but the picture is very misleading. Also in a very bad neighborhood!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2017 by James, Hotel Management
Thank you for being our guest and for taking time to review your stay. We are sorry you encountered maintenance issues in your room and bathroom. Our goal is to have everthing functioning properly as soon as we are made aware of a problem, so we appreciate you letting us know. Again, we are sorry for the inconvenience you were caused, and we hope you will give us a second chance to make a better impression in the future. Thank you, Management