Ratings based on 56 Verified Reviews

4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Washington, D.C.

Terrific location

Posted May 4, 2017
Pros: It is clean, comfortable and the breakfast is excellent.
Cons: I could have used a larger bedside lamp for night time reading.
Location: Walk a block or so downtown for many restaurants in all prices or visit the palace and museums. The theatre was rehearsing Catch Me If You Can.
I only stayed one night, but it was enough to enjoy walking the well preserved old town with its water front, fine restaurants and shops, gorgeous older homes and, believe it or not, theatres with live musicals playing a good portion of the year.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from north carolina

Good location, friendly owner..

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: Nice owner..and nice location and price
This Pollock St location is easy walking distance to Tryon Palace, Pepsi Museum and downtown attractions. Craig and his trusty puppy Blue will be readily available to greet you upon arrival. The house is very old so expect to find some uneven flooring about..but the fine touch of hospitality excels and makes up for that.. breakfast area and bath are well presented...Craig will not let you go away hungry that is for sure...with his pick-me-up breakfasts. Nice relaxing living room too... Definitely laid back atmosphere here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Charming B&B in historic district, walk to town

Posted Mar 6, 2017
Breakfast was excellent! The location and accommodations were very good. Craig, the proprietor, could not have been better -- he drove me all over town. I probably will return just to visit with Craig.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fun and Cozy B&B

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Had a great stay at Captain Stay. My Craig and his wife were very warm and welcoming. I felt very comfortable at the B&B and had plenty of time to relax. Excellent breakfast made in the morning. The French toast was perfect!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Adorable B&B

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Hotels
Owners are extremely friendly and breakfast is delicious! Walking distance to the water, restaurants and lots of cute little shops.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ferdinand, United States of America

GREAT HOSPITALITY!!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The cozy atmosphere!!
Location: Enjoyed touring the Tryon Palace & the Tryon Museum and the Fireman's Museum. Spent an entire day walking around the historic downtown!! LOVE IT!!
The B & B is very well-kept and the owners are very welcoming! They picked us up from the airport when we missed our rental car pickup and took us back to the airport the next day so we could pick up our rental. We felt right at home!! We will definitely stay there the next time we visit our family in New Bern!! Thanks Craig and Denise!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lovely 200 yr old B and B

Posted Oct 3, 2016 on Hotels
The captains stay was a beautiful place! The master suite is very roomy. Large bathroom with a beautiful old fashioned tub to soak along with a very nice separate shower. Craig and Dennis were great! Had a wonderful breakfast! Will stay there again for sure.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Couldn't have been better.

Posted Sep 25, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful hosts. Very friendly but not intrusive. Flexible - one morning I had to leave at 6 am and they insisted on getting up early to cook breakfast. Gave me a ride to airport in New Bern the day I left I save me the cab care.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 14, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Deborah from Zebulon NC

Very comfortable. Great people. Close to everythin

Posted Jun 5, 2016 on Hotels
Two day stay. Owners are friendly and helpful. I will stay here again.