Ratings based on 21 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ferdinand, United States of America

GREAT HOSPITALITY!!

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: The cozy atmosphere!!
Location: Enjoyed touring the Tryon Palace & the Tryon Museum and the Fireman's Museum. Spent an entire day walking around the historic downtown!! LOVE IT!!
The B & B is very well-kept and the owners are very welcoming! They picked us up from the airport when we missed our rental car pickup and took us back to the airport the next day so we could pick up our rental. We felt right at home!! We will definitely stay there the next time we visit our family in New Bern!! Thanks Craig and Denise!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chapel Hill

Warm, historic B&B

Posted Nov 16, 2015
I so enjoyed just looking at the books, pictures, decorative details ! As a nautical person, it was just perfect! There we snacks, drinks, and the wonderful company of Deb and Captain Paul.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful Bed and Breakfast!

Posted Oct 28, 2015
Pros: Breakfast was amazing. the room was very comfortable. everything was within walking distance.
Cons: Don't change a thing. It was perfect.
Location: New Bern is a wonderful town with lots of historical sites including the Tryon Palace, great restaurants and quaint shops.
Paul and Deb are the perfect hosts. They have thought of every thing that the traveler might need during their stay. There is always coffee and tea available in the dining room and bottled water in the room. One of the rooms in the house is a game room with games, darts, videos, a pool table and puzzles in the upstairs hall. All common spaces are comfortable and inviting including the front porch with rocking chairs. The room has many special amenities that you do not find anywhere else. We stayed in the room with the claw foot tub in the bathroom. There was bubble bath and a roll pillow for your head. The best feature of the Captain's Stay is breakfast. Deb is an outstanding cook. The food is delicious. Deb uses only the freshest ingredients. The location was perfect. Everything was within walking distance and Paul and Deb are very knowledgeable about the area. They made great recommendations for sightseeing and dining. The only bad thing about our stay was that we had to leave!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NC

Great old world feel, excellent staff

Posted Oct 19, 2015
Pros: staff, old world charm
Cons: mattress upgraded, better lighting in bathroom in cottage
Location: location is great, not far from downtown restaurants
Great accommodations, mattress a little worn, old world feel with beautiful antique furniture, staff is warm and friendly, breakfast cooked to order is fabulous, our stay felt so comfortable it was like going back to the old homeplace, highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful bed and breakfast

Posted Sep 7, 2015
This house was gorgeous. It is over 200 years old and you could see so much character and history throughout. The rooms were lovely, comfortable, and clean. The owners were so nice and the breakfast was amazing!! Absolutely loved staying here and would recommend to anyone.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

New Bern B&B

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Charming nautical décor and a gracious host. The B&B is just around the corner from the Tryon Palace. Excellent breakfast. The shared bathroom was not a problem.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: I loved the comfort of our room as well as being able to meet other visitors. Great atmosphere and great location!
Cons: More air conditioning, it was a hot week!
Location: walking distance to shops and restaurants
We stayed Saturday through Wednesday. There was plenty to do nearby in the historic district of New Bern. The Captain's Stay was very comfortable and cozy, I loved it! Breakfast was fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from mass.

road trip

Posted Jun 16, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: great town
greaat down, lovely room, really liked the little cottage!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Charlotte, NC

Awesome place to stay...

Posted May 4, 2015
This was the first time we stayed in a b&b and we are delighted! The location is very convenient, close to all the action. The hosts will go out of their way to make your stay comfortable. Breakfast was very good, nice fresh fruit and a made-to-order omelette, yummie! The lady of the house is a great cook! The man of the house has a few tricks up his sleave too. Being a real captain, he can set you up for a very nice tugboat cruise on the Trent river. He will have a few stories to share, laddy... We enjoyed our stay very much, and hope to visit again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

They go the extra mile

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Pros: They pay attention to the details.
Cons: Nothing
Location: Most things are within walking distance from restaurants to tours.
Great people in a great location! We cannot rave enough about Paul and Deb and their charming B & B. Not only were the accommodations' excellent; so was the food and conversation! Please take the time to experience the Tug Boat cruises offered by Paul, they were a highlight for us! From toothbrushes to umbrellas...do not worry about forgetting something; if they do not have it they will find it. They even went out a bought turkey bacon for our breakfast. We choose the Master suite with the claw footed tub. Sublime! Deb's cooking exceeds expectations. They provide snacks, coffee, movies, pool table and so much more. You do not need to wander out of the Inn. Though there are great little shops in New Bern. Places to eat-Ask Paul or Deb they can pair you with the right place and even call for a reservation. We will be back.