Ratings based on 104 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.3 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Awful and misleading

Posted Jan 4, 2018
This was embarrassing. From the moment we pulled up to the hotel, the picture on Expedias website did not match what was present in front of me. False advertising at its finest. When we went to check in, the lobby smelled like cat pee and sure enough when we were directed to store our bags for the afternoon the room had multiple cats running around. We couldn't handle the situation and had to check into a new hotel as we had been traveling for 2 weeks and this was by far our worst experience. I tried to call to cancel and explain the situation but was out of the country. Also that day I saw the hotel for $44 If Expedia is not willing to reimburse me for this I would at least only be expected to pay the $44. As you can tell I have booked multiple rooms and rentals with Expedia and this is the first time something like this has occurred. Thanks for your time and consideration and I appreciate you resolving this issue
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Mark, Hotel Management
Please tell the truth Mr Anonymous. You arrived well before check-in at 9.00 am. As is our policy we allowed you to store your luggage in our manager's room and use all our facilities. You told us you needed to do some urgent family business in town. You never entered the room nor the common areas, so I am not sure how you can judge the truthfulness of our advertising. Later, in the afternoon you returned saying that you may have to leave, but you were not sure, so keep the room reserved. An few hours later you returned again and said you had to leave. Because we held the room all day we could not re-rent it. It is our policy to always allow refunds if we can re-rent the room. The next morning a taxi arrived at 5 am to take you to the airport. He too was stood up as he couldn't locate or contact you. The multiple cats running around was in fact one kitten ( that you asked to play with and was brought out for that reason, otherwise you would not have known she was there) that occasionally stays with the manager in her private room. There was no smell and the kitten was nowhere near your luggage. May I ask why, if the hotel was so much to your disliking, why did you store your luggage in anticipation of your room being readied? If it smelled of cat´s pee I would not have thought you would have wanted to store anything there. That said, had you arrived and had said you don't like the hotel we would've gladly indicated to Expedia to return your money. But you held your reservation until it was too late to re-rent. Then you try to blackmail us by saying you´ll destroy us with comments. Unfortunately in this business we have to suffer angry story tellers occasionally.
4 out of 5
by Samantha

Posted Oct 16, 2017 on Hotels
The beds were very uncomfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Heredia Costa Rica

Hotel basi

Posted Aug 18, 2017
Pros: Customer atention
Cons: Customer Support
Location: This has a good location in downtown Jaco
Hotel basic, to rest, without restaurant, only a small but comfortable pool.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Paris

Filthy rooms, no privacy, no sofa, not comfortable

Posted May 29, 2017 on Orbitz
Filthy rooms, no privacy, no sofa, not comfortable. Don't worth none of the 40 euros they ask.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2017 by Mark, Hotel Management
Sorry you didn´t enjoy your stay. Although we have a relaxed attitude here, there are behaviours we can´t allow because they are against the law.
2 out of 5
by Eddie

Best deal in Jaco???

Posted May 1, 2017 on Hotels
No hot water. AC in first room wouldn't cool. The young woman at the desk was super helpful and friendly, she move us next door to a better room with a very good AC. Was a bit pricey , we had stayed on the beach in a much nicer hotel for $30 a night less.
5 out of 5
by Cesar A

Nice stay

Posted Mar 22, 2017 on Hotels
The room was nice, clean and comfortable. It had a large TV with cable and a mini fridge. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Just a short walk from busy loud strip. It has a nice pool and I would stay again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Martinsburg, WV

Basic hotel, nothing fancy.

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Close to the main strip in town and they allow guests for a small fee. the price was good and the Air conditioning worked well
Cons: Could use a softer bed and maybe a little updating. definitely could use hot water.
Location: Close to the beach and the main road in town.
My stay at the Blue Palm was good. The staff was very accommodating and I had no issues except the power had gone out briefly. The room is very basic accommodations, a room with a bed and bathroom. Hot water is a little scarce, I believe this is something with that area as I had the same issue with the hotel next door. Bed is a little hard but I slept like a baby anyway. Location is close to the beach and the main strip in Jaco. A lot of restaurants, grocery store and all the usual shops available in a tourist town within walking distance. I would recommend it and most likely will stay there again as they allow guests for a small fee, which is rare as is my understanding.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel close to everything

Posted Mar 17, 2017 on Hotels
Beautiful hotel close to the beach, lovely welcoming receptionist. I will definitely recommend it.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This gem is walking distance from the beach

Posted Feb 25, 2017 on Hotels
We loved this hotel. The staff were so welcoming, friendly and efficient. The hotel is located close enough we could walk to the beach and downtown Jaco, yet was a quiet, peaceful location. The property is clean and had all the amenities we required. We loved it so much we came back for another stay. Well done!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very helpful and friendly staff, close to beach

Posted Feb 18, 2017
A/C works great, large fridge, close walk to the beach (500m) and staff went out of their way to help us. Great price