Ratings based on 55 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
36% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 1, 2017
Hotel staff not consistent with setting rules of hotel. Guests allowed to do what they want. Not good for others.
5 out of 5
by Jorge from Cartago, Costa Rica

Great stay as always

Posted Jan 20, 2016 on Hotels
Great stay as always at this hotel, personnel is great and the food is delicious
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

Very close to the beach. Beautiful view

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Very close to the beach. Beautiful view
Cons: The pool lighting
Location: The hotel is centrally located which allows go out and buy what you want in a very easy way. You can go shopping without going by car
From the balcony you have a beautiful view of the beach. A pool lacks lighting at night. When the reservation is made should tell the client what kind of breakfast is included.
4 out of 5
by Carolina from Calgary

Posted Dec 30, 2015 on Hotels
It was hard to find, as it is at the end of a very quiet street. But it is right in front of the beach! =)
5 out of 5
by Jorge from Cartago, Costa Rica

Great family getaway

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent service and rooms
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad administration!... hotel ok

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: not much, place s ok
Cons: First keeping their word if you reserve at the hotel, staty at the hotel. If they offer breakfast buffet, gie the breakfast buffet, if they say the q
Location: nothing different than otehr hotels better and with better price than this one.
First, they changed me off hotel without giving any other options. I just needed to go to other hotel or start looking for a new one and validate who i would get a refund. i thought it was ok. Later on I found out that the place where I was sent was a lot cheaper than the one I reserved through expedia. I made the reservation for 2 queen beds but they gave me a king size bed, when I asked that I needed another bed they gave me a really small extra bed and with very few linens. The water pump was not working and so the water was "on and off" even in the middle of a shower. The also offered "Buffet breakfast" and they did not have that you had to choose between typical and continental and when choosing continental we got charged for an order of eggs which was simply unacceptable but we ahd to pay for it. Finally, even if the room was for 4 people, we were 3 and they insisted in charging me more money for the third person and they were already making more money based on what I paid, plus giving me another room. The staff was really nice but apparently - or at least that is what they said- the manager was the one who did not let them do anything and was insisting on the charges. I asked to talk with him/ her but it was not possible. Quite messy!!!! I would never recommend this place!
4 out of 5
by Curt

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 16, 2015 on Hotels
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CR

No rooms available although reservation confirmed

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Pros: That they took my relatives to the South Beach Jaco Hotel.
Cons: Expedia is on of the best online reservation site, you should not affect their image if you can not control the online reservations.
Location: My advice: You better reserve directly at the South Beach Jaco Hotel.
At 2pm my sister got a call from the Hotel in which, they told her that they were full occupancy (no rooms availables), although the reservation on that Hotel was confirmed via Expedia online. Fortunately, they offered her to stay (with my parents) at another Hotel which ended up being superior than the original one.
3 out of 5
by Gabriela

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 30, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Michael from Battle Creek, MI

My favorite hotel in Jaco.

Posted Dec 14, 2014 on Hotels
My second time staying at Canciones Del Mar. I just love this hotel, beautiful, quiet, lovely pool and gardens. The staff is always ready and willing to serve you in any way. Your free breakfast is cooked to order and the food is always fresh and well prepared. The neighborhood could be better, but I walk up to main business district at least a couple times a day and have never had a problem and I personally feel very safe. The hotel has two young men who maintain security 24 hours a day. You are right on the beach and your morning walks can take you down the unrestricted beach as far as you desire....like I said before, I love this place!