Ratings based on 114 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2017
Pros: staff friendly. Pool great. Breakfast good. First time finding it difficult. Did hear some road noise from the trucks going up the hill. Rooms large.
Location: found good food in Jaco Lemon Zest as well as El Barco. Next town over excellent food at El Galleon in Los Suenos. Two national reserves excellent.
Early April warm and humid. Flowers in abundance at hotel. Cicadas in abundance lots of noise. Beach is really dark sand. Water is not clear. Sunsets wonderful. Easy to take a surf board lesson. Beach crowded on Saturday and all yours on Monday and Tuesday.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017 by Grethel Díaz , Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sun Valley Idaho

Nice hotel, great pool, on the beach.

Posted Mar 29, 2017
Pros: Great location. At the far end of Jaco Beach. Quiet. Could walk the length of beach. Friendly personal service. Beautifully maintained.
We loved Club Del Mar so much that we changed our plans and stayed an extra night here. Do know that it feels more like an American resort than an authentic CR hotel. But there are iguanas and sloths right on the property. Beach was perfect for boogie boarding. Free beach towels!! Hotel had both boogie and surf boards to rent. Good food for reasonable price.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 9, 2017 by Grethel Díaz , Reservations, Hotel Management
Thank you for your visit.
4 out of 5
by Jean

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 23, 2017 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice small hotel close to the beach

Posted Jan 13, 2017
I booked my mom and her friend there for 4 days. They had a good time and the hotel staff took care of them.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Nice experience

Posted Dec 23, 2016
We stayed there one night, the room was very big and comfortable. Nice main room. The apartment was very clean. Great air conditioning. Delicious breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't expect to get much sleep

Posted Dec 21, 2016 on Hotels
The room smelled strongly of mold and it was incredibly noisy. Close proximity to highway and beach.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 5, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

Wonderful Vacation Club del Mar is the Best!

Posted Oct 18, 2016
Pros: Everyone was so friendly. The hotel had charm.
Location: So much to do!!
We scheduled the hotel to pick us up at airport. It was so nice to get off a long plane ride and see someone holding a card with your name on it. From SJO to Jaco was in a comfortable Mercedes van with cold water and beer waiting for us. Once we got to Club del Mar, it could not have been any better. The food at restaurant was great, drinks at poolside were cool and refreshing. Every person we met was helpful and kind. I don't want to name them because I would be afraid I would leave someone out. Bartenders, front desk to the maids were a joy. Phil was very friendly, and you feel like a special guest in his home. The hotel planned our excursions, and they took care of everything. Try zip lining, it is amazing! The Manuel Antonio Park is so full of animals, We saw monkeys, sloths, birds, crickets, crabs, and the food before and after the tour was delicious! (The beach is white sands and crystal clear water) Walking to Jaco is a nice walk on beach. We probably went everyday. Los Amigos has craft beer and we watched football and baseball there.If you walk along beach and take first road you will run into Gecko's Bar. Very small, but very friendly.The walk past Gecko's in to town, we would see toucans in the trees. Macaws fly over the property every morning and evening. This was truly a tropical vacation. We loved it so much,we are already planning a trip back after Christmas. We stayed in 200, perfect view of water, pool, and we had fun watching iguanas, birds and squirrels play
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Really a 2.5

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Rooms are okay, not horrible, not over the top.  Some rooms face the drainage area; not a pleasant smell. Consider booking a beach or pool view room.  Noise is an issue; from other units and traffic. ‎ ‎‎ Beach not ideal for swimming. Not the cleanest beach I've walked on.  ‎ If Wi-Fi is important to you this may not be the spot for you, it is hit and miss.  We had a power outage while we were there. There was NO backup power.  Not near town. A car is a must.  If you want to stay off the beaten path and the price is right well this may be the spot. ‎ ‎
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 27, 2016 on Hotels