Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by James

Not worth even giving it a try. Stay away

Posted Aug 8, 2017 on Hotels
Nice people running the place, however, the place is run down, hot water in the shower comes from a heater shower head, got shocked when I adjusted the temperature of the water trickle, no hot water in the sink that extends over the toilet. The noise from the night club next door is unbelievably bass pounding loud.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Great place to stay near the beach.

Posted Jul 17, 2017
I stayed for 7nights in July while traveling with a buddy. This is a really nice hotel and I was happy to stay here. The rooms were simple but very nice for my needs. The hotel has a small cafe that offers a delicious free breakfast. The pool is nice and cleaned numerous times a day. The hotel offers all guests a key that opens a door directly at the rear of the hotel to the beach; very beautiful water. So for the rooms: dusty and full of ants in the kitchen area (we had apartment 13, which includes full size fridge, sink, and microwave); however everything else about the room was great. Simple but nice shower/bathroom. Two nice flat screen TVs. Two bedrooms with double twins or small full size beds (I thought they were small, but my buddy said they were nice and he's six inches taller then me). Balcony with small table and chairs. Nice view of the beach to the left and the mountains to the right. Great experience for the location and price. If you come and need two separate bedrooms request apartment 13 as they only have one room with this setup. Also all of the guests were nice and the staff were super helpful. Thanks to Brenda, the manager, and her amazing staff for such a great experience. I wish I could've stayed longer. I hope to come back soon.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 24, 2017 by Cris, Hotel Management
Thank you for your comment, we appreciate it and will work on getting better.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Good location but needs WIFI & hot water.

Posted May 14, 2017 on Hotels
The did not have the suite promised but was given two rooms which was fine. Shower was never hot. Only luke warm. Breakfast was nice but small. Wifi did not work. Location is great for nightlife. Nice small pool. People that worked there were very nice.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 13, 2017
Thank you for your comments. We are working on improving.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from St Louis, MO

It's close to the beach

Posted Mar 16, 2017 on CheapTickets
Found the car scratched after the first night into their private/ secured parking. To much $ for this hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent Beach Front Hotel in the Heart of Jaco

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Good rooms, Free Breakfast, Free WiFi, Excellent service
Location: Great Surfing, Right in the middle of town so all tours depart from here, Green Room is very nice
Mango Mar is centrally located on Calle Cocal and is a beach front hotel. The rooms are spacious and the staff friendly. Each morning breakfast is complimentarily served and it is delicious. The view and proximity to the beach make this an ideal location. You can go surfing each morning. WiFi here is good too
4 out of 5
by Agustin from Chicago

Good Hotel by the Ocean

Posted Oct 28, 2015 on Hotels
I stayed at the Mango Mar 3 days. I chose this Hotel (even after reading the reviews) One because of the Price. Two it was right in front of the Ocean. Three it had a Continental breakfast included. Plus, I'm Single, so I figured I can adapt to anything. I do recommend this Hotel. It is not a New Hotel, and does need some minor improvements. Such as the Doors having a small gap when you close them. The Hot water takes a while to come on -didn't really bother me, I like Cool Showers-. My Bathroom was a bit Odd in Configuration or Layout. I discovered that I stayed in the Old or Original section of the Hotel. My friend also stayed at this Hotel. But, his Room was in the New Section. Everything in his Room was what you expected. Except for the Cold Showers. The Good Part, I think far outweighs the minuses. They had Security all the time. Breakfast was Good and Healthy. Not a lot, mind you. Scrambled eggs, toast, juice, fruit etc. Plus, the Pacific Ocean is at your Doorstep. Well, maybe not that close. From the Hotel property to the Ocean I say it's a safe 500 feet or so. The outside pool is also very clean and of course Safe from Rip Waves or Undertoe. It has a Lovely Garden in the Center and the Staff is Friendly and Helpful. Plus, every Room has a Safe. Now, if you wanna spend Double or Triple what I spent per Night. There's the Holiday Inn, The Cocal Casino (Gentleman Oriented, not Family) and quite a few others. I felt safe.
3 out of 5
by L J

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Below My Expectations

Posted Jan 28, 2013 on Hotels
Aside from the location, -- considering the price, this room really was below my expectation level.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 17, 2012 on Hotels
Everything was good for the price. The only thing I didn't like was the exsessive noise for the casino next door.
3 out of 5
by Geraldine

Bathroom was awful

Posted Nov 13, 2012 on Hotels
The people at the hotel are friendly, the breakfast of fruit, toast, juice and coffee is fine, the rooms however do not match up to the picture. the bathroom had a useless shower which had dangerous wires sticking out of the top, you would have had to sit on the toilet to get in front of the sink. the bathroom was dirty and there were little ants in the room that crawled over anything edible you put down eeven for a couple of minutes, we had room no 4