Ratings based on 182 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Costa Rica

mar de luz

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: el personal del hotel, las facilidades, es un muy tranquilo y centrico
Cons: la infraestructura
Location: es muy céntrico
el hotel es céntrico, tiene dos tres piscinas, el desayuno es muy bueno y el personal muy atento recomendado a las instalaciones si les falta un poco de mantenimiento
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Plano, TX

HUGE rooms

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: HUGE rooms. Close to restaurants and the beach. Bed is nice and cozy. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Cons: Add writing desks to each room.
Location: Walking distance to all the restaurants and the beach. Just walk to the main street and head south over the little bridge.
I was a guest at the Mar de Luz in July 2016. First off, the rooms are HUGE. The first one they put me in, Room #29, had a malfunctioning AC unit, so they moved me to Room #28. Both rooms are HUGE. Although, my preference would be for Room #28 because it had some really large windows that allowed the morning light into the room. Also, #28 had two large double-beds (and probably could have fit a third), whereas #29 just had one. The beds were nice and cozy. It rained a few hours one day, and I just sat in bed watching TeleHit on the TV. Wifi connection was decent from both rooms. Only downside is that neither room possessed a writing desk, so I had to set my laptop on the little mini-fridge to do any work.
4 out of 5
by Alvis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Perfect!!!

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Perfect for visiting the place with the family. Nice location, facilities, etc. Kind staff and affordable price.
5 out of 5
by Jean pierre from Lorgues france

J'y retournerai très volontiers

Posted Mar 19, 2016 on Hotels
Très bon accueuil du propriétaire et des employés Hotel très agréable et très calme malgré la proximité de la ville Bon petit déjeuner , piscines très agréables avec des iguanes autour, des petits îlots de repos au milieu des jardins
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado, USA

Needs new beds and it would be a good stay choice

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: Free breakfast good coffee
Cons: needs new mattresses! Hot water did not work in one of the rooms and was very slow to work in another.
Location: Just 2 blocks from downtown Jaco.
The rooms are cute, outdated, but cute. The AC worked well. Our first room did not have hot water. We were willing to deal with that for the night but after about one hour of trying to sleep on the very very hard, spring ridden bed we got up and asked to see if any other rooms had a bed we would be able to sleep on. They showed us 4 other rooms, all the beds were hard but we chose to switch rooms for a bed that seemed to be less worn, meaning we were not being stabbed by individual springs. It was still pretty uncomfortable but we made it work for the night. We had planned to stay 3 days but checked out the next morning. Because we paid with credit card we could not be refunded any of the taxes charged by the Country of Costa Rica. So beware, taxes are not refundable! There are much better choices for only $20 more in the area. New mattresses, would be a world of improvement and until they do that I would not recommend anyone stay here unless you have no intention of sleeping. Breakfast was free and consisted of eggs and bacon and good coffee. The potential is there, but a few updates are needed for the above $100 a night price.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The staff is very accommodating and welcoming!

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Great location close to beach and even closer to shopping and restaurants. Parking was easy - on quiet side street. Really appreciated the quieter new wall-mounted AC with the condensing unit located outside. AC cooled the room down fast and quiet! I would definitely stay again - thanks!
4 out of 5
by Mark from Florida

Lovely Little Place

Posted Mar 5, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful stay. Nice hotel with super friendly people. Great family atmosphere.
4 out of 5
by Reijo from Sverige

Posted Feb 26, 2016 on Hotels
Misstag vid ombokningen i receptionen, men hotellägaren ordnade upp saken med bravur. Ett stort tack från oss för en trevlig vistelse!
4 out of 5
by Paul from San José Costa rica

Jaco beach

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
Two day getaway