Ratings based on 188 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just around the corner from everything

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was very friendly. The room had lots of comfortable seating as well as a coffee maker, fridge and blender. Was worried it would be noisy as this is more of a family style hotel but it was very quiet and was only a short walk from the main street in Jaco where there are lots of restaurants and shops and the beach was only a few blocks away as well. Loved how it was just off the beaten path to be quiet but close enough that it was easy to enjoy the town without having to get in the car. Hotel also had secure parking which was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plano, TX

HUGE rooms

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: HUGE rooms. Close to restaurants and the beach. Bed is nice and cozy. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Cons: Add writing desks to each room.
Location: Walking distance to all the restaurants and the beach. Just walk to the main street and head south over the little bridge.
I was a guest at the Mar de Luz in July 2016. First off, the rooms are HUGE. The first one they put me in, Room #29, had a malfunctioning AC unit, so they moved me to Room #28. Both rooms are HUGE. Although, my preference would be for Room #28 because it had some really large windows that allowed the morning light into the room. Also, #28 had two large double-beds (and probably could have fit a third), whereas #29 just had one. The beds were nice and cozy. It rained a few hours one day, and I just sat in bed watching TeleHit on the TV. Wifi connection was decent from both rooms. Only downside is that neither room possessed a writing desk, so I had to set my laptop on the little mini-fridge to do any work.
4 out of 5
by Alvis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Perfect!!!

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Perfect for visiting the place with the family. Nice location, facilities, etc. Kind staff and affordable price.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado, USA

Needs new beds and it would be a good stay choice

Posted Mar 15, 2016
Pros: Free breakfast good coffee
Cons: needs new mattresses! Hot water did not work in one of the rooms and was very slow to work in another.
Location: Just 2 blocks from downtown Jaco.
The rooms are cute, outdated, but cute. The AC worked well. Our first room did not have hot water. We were willing to deal with that for the night but after about one hour of trying to sleep on the very very hard, spring ridden bed we got up and asked to see if any other rooms had a bed we would be able to sleep on. They showed us 4 other rooms, all the beds were hard but we chose to switch rooms for a bed that seemed to be less worn, meaning we were not being stabbed by individual springs. It was still pretty uncomfortable but we made it work for the night. We had planned to stay 3 days but checked out the next morning. Because we paid with credit card we could not be refunded any of the taxes charged by the Country of Costa Rica. So beware, taxes are not refundable! There are much better choices for only $20 more in the area. New mattresses, would be a world of improvement and until they do that I would not recommend anyone stay here unless you have no intention of sleeping. Breakfast was free and consisted of eggs and bacon and good coffee. The potential is there, but a few updates are needed for the above $100 a night price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The staff is very accommodating and welcoming!

Posted Mar 7, 2016
Great location close to beach and even closer to shopping and restaurants. Parking was easy - on quiet side street. Really appreciated the quieter new wall-mounted AC with the condensing unit located outside. AC cooled the room down fast and quiet! I would definitely stay again - thanks!
4 out of 5
by Mark from Florida

Lovely Little Place

Posted Mar 5, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful stay. Nice hotel with super friendly people. Great family atmosphere.
4 out of 5
by Paul from San José Costa rica

Jaco beach

Posted Feb 24, 2016 on Hotels
Two day getaway
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 4, 2016 on Hotels