Ratings based on 196 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
60% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by kevin

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 28, 2017 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by Ryan

Quiet, close to city and beach

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Hotels
The stay in the hotel was good, really great for families with children. Everyone is really nice and helpful, pools are great. We weren't too impressed with shower though(water was mostly cold). It is extremely quiet resort, we were expecting a bit more of a nightlife there since is a middle of Jaco/surf and tourism centre. We would probably pick something with the beach view and beach front restaurant, where we could enjoy more of an evening entertainment.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 5, 2017 on Hotels
3 out of 5
by David

Right in the middle of everything

Posted Feb 3, 2017 on Hotels
Staff were very friendly and the facility was very family oriented. The foreign and local guests were all enjoying themselves on their holiday
5 out of 5
by Linda

Great HotelStay

Posted Jan 12, 2017 on Hotels
Enjoyed the excellent service. Price was great and the included breakfasts were a perk. They really try to cater to the guests when ever they can.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 4, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Just around the corner from everything

Posted Aug 31, 2016 on Hotels
Staff was very friendly. The room had lots of comfortable seating as well as a coffee maker, fridge and blender. Was worried it would be noisy as this is more of a family style hotel but it was very quiet and was only a short walk from the main street in Jaco where there are lots of restaurants and shops and the beach was only a few blocks away as well. Loved how it was just off the beaten path to be quiet but close enough that it was easy to enjoy the town without having to get in the car. Hotel also had secure parking which was nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plano, TX

HUGE rooms

Posted Jul 26, 2016
Pros: HUGE rooms. Close to restaurants and the beach. Bed is nice and cozy. Staff is friendly and helpful.
Cons: Add writing desks to each room.
Location: Walking distance to all the restaurants and the beach. Just walk to the main street and head south over the little bridge.
I was a guest at the Mar de Luz in July 2016. First off, the rooms are HUGE. The first one they put me in, Room #29, had a malfunctioning AC unit, so they moved me to Room #28. Both rooms are HUGE. Although, my preference would be for Room #28 because it had some really large windows that allowed the morning light into the room. Also, #28 had two large double-beds (and probably could have fit a third), whereas #29 just had one. The beds were nice and cozy. It rained a few hours one day, and I just sat in bed watching TeleHit on the TV. Wifi connection was decent from both rooms. Only downside is that neither room possessed a writing desk, so I had to set my laptop on the little mini-fridge to do any work.
4 out of 5
by Alvis

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Perfect!!!

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Perfect for visiting the place with the family. Nice location, facilities, etc. Kind staff and affordable price.