Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
76% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MI

Nice location and friendly staff

Posted Aug 5, 2017
Pros: again location, staff and food.
Cons: OLD room.
Location: Again, you can go to beach and relax or go some shopping to main street. Great location, I say again.
I stayed there for 4 nights. Pro: location - half block to beach and half block to main street. locationwise, I could not ask for more. Staff - Very friendly and speaks both English and Spanish. I do not speak Spanish at all but had no problem. They were very helpful with my request and questions. Food - Its a restaurant and hotel. and their food was excellent especially Tuna Steak. I was really and pleasantly surprised. Con: The hotel is old. There is just no way around it and not roomy as I expected. But, most of hotel over there are.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 12, 2017 by Tim, Hotel Management
Thanks for all your kind words. Yes the hotel is a work in progress, sometimes slow progress. We have big plans over the next 6 months, to make some needed repairs and to freshen up the place!! Make sure and check back soon. Thanks for taking the time to submit a review. Hope to see you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ideal place to stay with friends.

Posted Jul 10, 2017
Cool staff, close to the beach. Great place to stay if you are visiting Jaco with friends.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2017 by Tim, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Hotel Poseidon
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beach Hotel

Posted May 22, 2017
Somewhat dated...what do you expect of a hotel one block from the beach. Needing updated, BUT GREAT value. Also there is a night security guard, and unlike some other hotels, they do not charge extra for bringing a guest to the room...
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 3, 2017
Great staff, great location, great food, great atmosphere. Highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from florida

Party it Up!

Posted Apr 4, 2017
This hotel is in a great location with very friendly laid back staff, you get a delicious free breakfast every morning if your up in time. There is a club right next door to this hotel so it can be noisy at night if your going to bed early. If your down to have a great time there is a pool that seems to be open 24/7 and from what I saw there is just a night time security that stands outside the gate to avoid stragglers from coming in. The rooms are very clean, there's a small fridge and the beds are nice and fluffy. I would stay here again if I went back to Jaco.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from c

Awesome location and great breakfast!

Posted Apr 4, 2017
Friendly staff and cool vibe with reggae sounds playing at the pool. On Saturday's the bar nextdoor got loud but other than that it's a great spot. More for young couples and singles. Pura Vida!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great little hotel in the middle of town

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Staff were awesome, Food was great! my surf instructors Mauricio, Eder and Nino were the best. The Hotel is in a great location. Wifi worked well
Cons: Refrigerators are old and rusty. Safe should be more modern with combination. Ice machine outside Pool area improved maybe happy hour, room decor
Location: Beach: swimming, surfing, fun in the sun. plenty of restaurants, bars, can book jungle tours, zip lines, cruises also banks, grocery and liquor stores
This hotel is probably a 2-3 star if that. It's a bit dated and needs some maintenance. The room had no views and was rather dark, but the place wins stars because of: Location - its right in town and half a block from the beach Staff - they are awesome, very nice and super happy to help and flexible with your plans Food - the restaurant at the hotel is awesome. Locals even recommend it. I had a tuna steak that rocked 3rd parties - they work with a surf shop "Mauricio's" that is awesome if you want to take surf lessons or rent boards Bookings - they had a surf deal when I visited that included surf lessons for ~$20 more. I lesson (or rental) per night stay - awesome deal. Great place to stay with no frills but friendly staff and good service. I also felt safe they have a night watchman and safe box in the rooms. I had a great experience in Jaco and place is a good choice but keep in mind its not a fancy nor amenities filled hotel. Comfort level as far as bathroom and room are clean but dated. Lighting in room was poor but I did not spend too much time the room. Appliances were old. Again not a 4 star place or even 3 but for a 2-3 star hotel with great location and services from staff, 3rd parties and food. I'm coming back to Jaco and most likely book again at the Poseidon Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from New Braufels, TX

Perfect location, quaint setting

Posted Feb 19, 2017
Pros: Location. Clean. Friendly staff. Quiet location considering the proximity to several late night bars & clubs/hostiles. The bar TVs were in English.
Cons: Some of the fixtures in the bathroom were older and could use some updating, in the sink and shower, and the lighting.
Location: Perfect location. Beach, ATV tour, swimming, zip lining, surfing, restaurants, bars, plantation tour, monkey and butterfly tour, sightseeing.
The location to downtown Jaco and to the beach is absolutely perfect. It is centralized to all shops, restaurants and bars. The beach is half a block away and there was plenty of free on-street parking. The restaurant served us a sit down breakfast every morning that was delicious. The rooms were quaint and clean. There is a nice little pool in the courtyard which is great for kids and family.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston

Nice hotel near the beach

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Great staff, atmosphere and food. Very friendly and clean hotel. A safe place located in the middle of the strip right off the beach. Excellent breakfast also. The rooms are nice and always clean. The pool is nice. Very. Ice bar good drinks
5 out of 5
by Stephanie

Recommend

Posted Jan 24, 2017 on Hotels
I loved the hotel because it was located next to EVERYTHING in the center. You can walk to all the popular clubs and they also served amazing food. The only downfall was there is not laundry service you would need to go around the corner. Other than that it was clean, everything worked inside the room, service was great!