Ratings based on 20 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Beach

Comfort, Hospitality and Surf

Posted Nov 21, 2015
Pros: Location, view, Hospitality and Comfort!!! World-Class Beach Break, Fast and Hollow! SUNSETS
Cons: breakfast option. But a short walk on the beach brings you to; The Backyard Bar & Grill which is where I always go for breakfast.
Location: World-Class Beach, Ziplines, Shopping 5 minutes, (1.5hr to San Jose)30 minutes to Manual Antonio, 45 minutes to Dominical, Rain Maker Forrest
It emanates all the elements of Costa Rica and that beachside hotel you've been visioning. It's tucked away within the Parrot filled tress boasting some of Costa Rica's best hollow beach break's in the area and you're view is the ocean. It's absolutely perfect in every way! It has two pools, music from time-to-time and the rooms are setup like small apartments with hands down the most comfortable beds in Costa Rica. The staff is great! They do everything they can to make your stay perfect without even trying. I've stayed in most of the hotels along the beach here and this became my new favorite. If you are new to Costa Rica or travel here often and would like a guaranteed, beautiful, relaxing worry free stay in comfort, then try and see if you can book at Marea Brava, it's really what you're looking for.
4 out of 5
by Gerry from Victoria

Outstanding views and a really nice place to relax

Posted Apr 3, 2015 on Hotels
The staff was exceptional - several issues on the first day which was finally resolved by the super friendly accommodating staff later in the evening . The first day was a complete write off due to no water to the unit, fridge that was not working and no bar so no Aqua or drinks to keep hydrated. However the staff worked hard at getting these issues resolved. Beautiful location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely grounds

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: The grounds and pools
Cons: Cold drinks on site
Staff were very helpful. The parrot was entertaining. The ground were terrific and the pools were great. I would not take children to the beach as the undertow and surf are very strong c
5 out of 5
by Rick from Oregon

Beautiful Place

Posted Jan 31, 2015 on Hotels
This is the second time we've stayed here. Wonderful Hotel, the property is beautiful! Staff is wonderful and helpful. No restaurant on site, but some within walking distance.
5 out of 5
by Rick from Oregon

Wonderful Hotel

Posted Dec 4, 2014 on Hotels
Our stay was wonderful. The owners were so nice and very helpful. The property was very beautiful! I would certainly stay again.
4 out of 5
by Mike from Houston

Great spot to surf... gorgeous view of the ocean!!

Posted Dec 2, 2014 on Hotels
The hotel itself was super clean, huge rooms, gorgeous patio views and in a great spot to surf! The one major dislike was the smell that was coming from the air units in each room. The living room unit was great, but the room units were releasing a burning smell and I was not able to sleep with it on, which made for some pretty warm conditions.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great potential but poorly managed

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: The main pool
Cons: All of the above
Location: Surfing
The landscaping and the main pool are the highlights of this hotel, which is right on the beach. We stayed in a standard 2-bedroom suite which could have been upgraded given the fact that there was no one else at this hotel. The suite was a disaster -- the kitchenette was badly in need of repairs, for example, the faucet leaked a steady stream. The bathroom didn't have the basic necessities such as shampoo, conditioner and soap. In one of the rooms, the ceiling fan looked ready to unhinge onto the bed and the bed linens were ripped in places. Let's just say the conditions might have worked for a surfer's hostel, but not for the luxe hotel experience we were led to expect. Moving onto the grounds, the landscaping is gorgeous and there is a pleasant large main pool. But there was a second pool with a wet bar which looked abandoned (dirty water, no bar!). The hotel is in a secluded location so you should know there is no restaurant on site. If you want to eat you have to go to a surfer's hotel down the beach or drive into Jaco. The hotel buildings are well designed but just haven't been maintained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TF from Montana

Beach front convenience and poolside awesomeness!

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: The local feel of the community and where it is situated at the end of the street was private. Very close to Jaco for more city amenities.
Family of three adults had a most excellent time, poolside, surfing, and exploring Hermosa's local community. The staff from the moment we were shuttled from the airport to fulfilling any request were most gracious! All the rooms were spacious and enjoyed the kitchen, large porches and the views. The Brava has a lovely calm spirit you can feel and hear as the ocean tides move in and out. We spent 5 days here taking a day trip out to see the country side and zip line.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from mexico

very Nice and helpful staff!

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: staff
Cons: no loud geckos at night
Location: beach, I bar few spots to eat. beautiful beach
No internet, geckos in room at night, clean enough. My favorite was the hotel staff and the quiet and tranquil surroundings. Maybe im just to city for this place.
5 out of 5
by Duke & Kimy from La Jolla, CA, USA

Perfect location for a playa hermosa surf holiday

Posted Aug 31, 2013 on Hotels
The Marea Brava is not a new hotel and it is definitely a little pricey but the location is perfect, at the northern end of playa hermosa, on the sand in front of the surf. Our primary objective was surfing as much as possible and this hotel fit the bill perfectly. We are not party-ers so the quiet and relatively remote feel to this location was ideal. It's definitely not far from the restaurants, bars, and other hotels in hermosa though, a quick walk south on th beach was all it would have taken, had we been interested. The rooms were spacious and comfortable with large decks and great views. The pool is large and surrounded by lush greenery and brightly colored flowers, really lovely. The furniture is a bit old and the appliances too but the kitchen is large and functional with microwave, stove, blender and coffee maker. The hotel staff were kind, friendly, helpful and spoke excellent English. All in all we were very happy there and plan to return!