Ratings based on 8 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
62% of guests recommend
3.1 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Palm Beach

Comfort, Hospitality and Surf

Posted Nov 21, 2015
Pros: Location, view, Hospitality and Comfort!!! World-Class Beach Break, Fast and Hollow! SUNSETS
Cons: breakfast option. But a short walk on the beach brings you to; The Backyard Bar & Grill which is where I always go for breakfast.
Location: World-Class Beach, Ziplines, Shopping 5 minutes, (1.5hr to San Jose)30 minutes to Manual Antonio, 45 minutes to Dominical, Rain Maker Forrest
It emanates all the elements of Costa Rica and that beachside hotel you've been visioning. It's tucked away within the Parrot filled tress boasting some of Costa Rica's best hollow beach break's in the area and you're view is the ocean. It's absolutely perfect in every way! It has two pools, music from time-to-time and the rooms are setup like small apartments with hands down the most comfortable beds in Costa Rica. The staff is great! They do everything they can to make your stay perfect without even trying. I've stayed in most of the hotels along the beach here and this became my new favorite. If you are new to Costa Rica or travel here often and would like a guaranteed, beautiful, relaxing worry free stay in comfort, then try and see if you can book at Marea Brava, it's really what you're looking for.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Lovely grounds

Posted Mar 11, 2015
Pros: The grounds and pools
Cons: Cold drinks on site
Staff were very helpful. The parrot was entertaining. The ground were terrific and the pools were great. I would not take children to the beach as the undertow and surf are very strong c
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great potential but poorly managed

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: The main pool
Cons: All of the above
Location: Surfing
The landscaping and the main pool are the highlights of this hotel, which is right on the beach. We stayed in a standard 2-bedroom suite which could have been upgraded given the fact that there was no one else at this hotel. The suite was a disaster -- the kitchenette was badly in need of repairs, for example, the faucet leaked a steady stream. The bathroom didn't have the basic necessities such as shampoo, conditioner and soap. In one of the rooms, the ceiling fan looked ready to unhinge onto the bed and the bed linens were ripped in places. Let's just say the conditions might have worked for a surfer's hostel, but not for the luxe hotel experience we were led to expect. Moving onto the grounds, the landscaping is gorgeous and there is a pleasant large main pool. But there was a second pool with a wet bar which looked abandoned (dirty water, no bar!). The hotel is in a secluded location so you should know there is no restaurant on site. If you want to eat you have to go to a surfer's hotel down the beach or drive into Jaco. The hotel buildings are well designed but just haven't been maintained.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TF from Montana

Beach front convenience and poolside awesomeness!

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: The local feel of the community and where it is situated at the end of the street was private. Very close to Jaco for more city amenities.
Family of three adults had a most excellent time, poolside, surfing, and exploring Hermosa's local community. The staff from the moment we were shuttled from the airport to fulfilling any request were most gracious! All the rooms were spacious and enjoyed the kitchen, large porches and the views. The Brava has a lovely calm spirit you can feel and hear as the ocean tides move in and out. We spent 5 days here taking a day trip out to see the country side and zip line.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Liz from mexico

very Nice and helpful staff!

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Pros: staff
Cons: no loud geckos at night
Location: beach, I bar few spots to eat. beautiful beach
No internet, geckos in room at night, clean enough. My favorite was the hotel staff and the quiet and tranquil surroundings. Maybe im just to city for this place.
2 out of 5
by Superarket from Encino, Los Angeles, CA, USA

Couples - stay away, Surfer Dudes - enjoy

Posted Jun 7, 2013
Pros: Right on the Beach, epic surf, beautiful black sand
Cons: dirty, broken down, strange staff, needs maintenance, too expensive for room quality
Location: location cannot be beat, Jaco riff raff has flowed into playa hermosa
The online information about this hotel was deceiving. We stayed here one night on our travels farther down the coast. We chose this place because it is located right on the beach. The location is absolutely amazing, 10 second walk to the sand, but the hotel had many problems. The room was not very clean and everything was old and breaking. The sheets were not clean and the hotel staff reluctantly changed them for us. The kitchenette was old and pretty gross. Bottom line, compared to the other hotels we stayed in the off season, this was way too expensive for such a dumpy room and I can't understand how it is 3 stars. We booked a double room because that was the only thing available but because I was just with my wife, we were given a single. This turned out to be great because we had a fantastic ocean view through the broken blinds. We saw the double room and it didn't have a view and looked really bad. If I was traveling with a few friends on a surf trip this would be the best place! Right in front of a world class surf break! Since I was with my wife, we were about 1 minute away from canceling our room, eating the cost and finding another place. The beach is so nice and that made it almost worth it. We probably would have been better off camping on the beach. The surfing was amazing, I woke up and stepped onto the beach and into some barrels before breakfast. Not a place for couples, great for single surfer dudes. I should have come here 10 years ago.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 17, 2015
Des fourmis ont envahi nos provision sur le comptoir de cuisine. Pas de cafetière ni cuisiniere, mais un micro-onde et une poêle électrique. Juste la vaisselle minimale fournie: assiettes, bol, cuillère, fourchette, couteau a beurre et verre. Belle salle de bain avec grande douche. Beau site. Petite épicerie et resto a proximité. Directent sur une grande plage tranquille. On entend les vagues de la chambre.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

es un hostel, no un hotel.

Posted Aug 18, 2012
Pros: Los exteriores (playa, jardines y piscina) y los trabajadores del hotel.
Cons: El gerente. La habitación. No hay ningún tipo de servicio.
Location: Al borde de la playa (lo mejor), pero lejos de todo. Sólo para surferos.
El gerente es muy antipático. La habitación demasiado vieja, fea y descuidada, para el precio que tiene. Deberían venderlo como un hostel, no como un hotel. No hay cambio de toallas, el wc se atasca, las ventanas no cierran bien. No hay ningún tipo de servicio, sin posibilidad de tomar ni una botella de agua, sin desayuno. No tenían controlada la reserva de expedia. La habiacion la prepararon tarde y olía a perro.