Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

3.5 out of 5
70% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don't eat here

Posted Nov 23, 2016
We got food poisoning. Don't eat here. The room wasn't that clean either.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Worst Idea

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Cons: Everything. Major overhaul
They hotel was nice back in the days. Right now, the rooms are dark and dirty, outdated baths and it smells very humid. I think that they need to do a major renovation before thinking in offering the place to people.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CR

Hotel needs an urgent update

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: Location,
Cons: Room bathroom and general status of the Hotel
Location: is not in the middle of Jaco Downtown so you are close of everyting. with the beach behind the hotel but a litte appart of the crowded sections.
ther room was just Ok. A/C was not working properly. it supposes the temperature was 18 degreess but the room was still heat. Bathroom smell dirty.... By the price you can get another better option in Jaco
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place on a budget!

Posted Nov 6, 2016
Pros: The staff was very friendly.
Cons: A rude guest.
Location: If you walk the beach south, the beach gets better and the hills around the area are just beautiful!
Not knowing a lot about Jaco or Morgan's Cove we wanted to see C.R. on a budget. The room is good and the restaurant/bar nice. We originally booked for 8 nights and we stayed 2; not because of the resort but the beach (and the other reason below). We are used to Mexico white sand beaches and Jaco's beach at Morgans is rocky and mud like sand. So the resort let us check out early and we moved down the coast to Manuel Antonio. Now the other reason we decided to leave, there is a french men from Dallas that apparently stays there often (10 days to 3 months at a time) he was really drunk, rude and obscene. Beware if you book, ask if David from Dallas is going to be there
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run down hotel :(

Posted Jun 28, 2016
The room was clean but very old and in need of repairs. I couldn't believe how run down they let the hotel get. It has several pools a swim up bar and a great little restaurant with so much potential but they didn't clean the pools out, the rooms were super run down the swim bar was closed down and the overall resort looked abandoned. I would never stay again, the price wasn't worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Heredia, CR

Nice hotel, no so good beach

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Excelente hotel! Great experience in The poolbar, herradura and hermosa beach is much better and very close.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

yes

Posted May 18, 2016
Pros: close by the town
Cons: maintenance and some upgrading in the bathrooms
Location: unlimited things to do
Great place to stay for the money value. ocean nearby. food was good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DC

Run down hotel

Posted May 13, 2016
Location: Inconvenient location - 10 minute walk to town.
Morgan's Cove was a disappointing experience - the resort is old and run down, door to balcony had a large hole, didn't allow room to cool down, tiles cracked, ceiling cracked, rusty shower head, wifi didn't work. Expedia rated the room 3 star, I'd give it 1 star. Location was inconvenient to everything as well. Breakfast was underwhelming.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Location good, hotel terrible

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Come if you want to be treated terribly, have rooms with cockroaches but be near a beach. First of all, like most other reviews they lie and say they are full. They didn't switch our rooms after we killed 2 cockroaches and watched them come up the drain. The tide was too low for the surf lesson so they wouldn't return or refund our money. DONT PURCHASE THE PACKAGE. If you want it, you can easily pay there but you'll never get your money back. The pools were okay. Location was close enough to the beach but about 10-15 minute from the action. I would never recommend this hotel to anyone.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New York

Posted Apr 30, 2016
Pros: Breakfast was OK.
Hotel cleanliness is OK and I guess that is the most important, but the staff is not really friendly. The fact that you have to pay for the key of the safe, while it is free for all of the other hotels that I have been to (and not only in Costa Rica); the fact that you have to wear a bracelet to make sure you are not a "resort crashers"; and the fact that the wifi was not working... all these little details were a bit upsetting. Overall, it is mainly that the hotel does not convey a nice atmosphere.