Ratings based on 217 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from uk

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Lovely spot away from the madness of jaco... would be improved with a bar although they have a good drink and food service available to rooms. Wonderful staff and great rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 17, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kindly comments and rating and sharing this nice picture! All our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the toucans, macaws and lots of birds flying naturally and the lizards walking around. Close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things Jaco or Herradura Beaches offer. We are thinking about having a bar on site, hope to have it in a near future, thanks for your opinion that is important for us and counts! The rooms were planned to be spacious and bright with the kitchen outside so our guests can keep contact with nature and avoid the food smell inside the room. We ended up remodeling the entire hotel last year! Hope to have you back in the future leaping into happiness! Best regards!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sevenoaks, Kent

Best hotel in Jaco?

Posted Apr 2, 2017
Pros: The staff - the wildlife - the pool - the comfortable room - the location
Cons: Not much at all - perhaps a bit more choice for breakfast
Location: On the edge of a forest and a couple of miles away from downtown Jaco. Quiet location
We stayed for 11 nights at the Pumilio Hotel - we decided to do this to avoid wasting valuable holiday days moving around different parts of the country and delighted with our decision! The staff make you so welcome and the rooms are wonderfully comfortable, including the beds. The outside kitchen is a great idea, and was complete even including washing up liquid! The location of the hotel is quite close to Jaco but secluded so you will see lots of wildlife. During our stay, we saw toucans, white faced monkeys, squirrels, scarlet macaws (some way off though) and many iguanas and the fascinating basilisk lizards (or Jesus Christ lizard). Although there is no restaurant, this is not a major problem as the staff have a room service, providing meals from local restaurants for a very fair cost. We loved our time at Pumilio and hope to go back some time in the future.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 4, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Hello! It has a pleasure to meet you and have you leaping into happiness at Pumilio for 11 nights, very smart decision to explore Costa Rica been part of Pumilio´s family and take advantage of our strategically locating to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the toucans, macaws and lots of birds flying naturally and the lizards walking around. Close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things Jaco or Herradura Beaches offer without loosing time changing hotels. Thank you for your kindly comments, rating and share some photos! All our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. The rooms were planned to be spacious and bright with the kitchen outside so our guests can keep contact with nature and avoid the food smell inside the room. We ended up remodeling the entire hotel last year! We chose the best restaurants in the area and have their menus and bring what our guest chooses and serve it where they prefer, dining room, terrace, balcony suite or even at the pool deck. For breakfast, we decided not to have schedule, guests that are going to tours frequently needs it before 7 a.m. and other want to sleep until late, we change daily because people love long stays. We added “tamales” typical dish for Christmas in Costa Rica, now we serve them at breakfast every day so our guest can try them. At Pumilio every day is a Holiday! If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you. Hope to have you back soon. Best regards!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Good Choice Hotel

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Hotel is located about 2 miles from the beach in a hillside area. It is a intimate environment that is great for couples and families. I don't think it would be good for singles.There is a breakfast buffet that goes until all guests are served. They provide free taxi service to and from the beach and Jaco.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kindly comments and rating! All our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the toucans, macaws flying naturally. Close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things Jaco or Herradura Beaches offer. For breakfast, we decided not to have schedule, guests that are going to tours frequently needs it before 7 a.m. and other want to sleep until late, we change daily because people love long stays. We added “tamales” typical dish for Christmas in Costa Rica, now we serve them at breakfast every day so our guest can try them. At Pumilio every day is a Holiday! If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you. Hope to have you back soon. Best regards!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, ON

A little restful gem just outside bustling Jaco

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: The service! The pool! The room! The atmosphere! Even the lizards who liked to hang around! :)
Location: This is about a five-minute drive to Jaco, which was perfect for a family wanting to stay safe and relax before their next activity!
There is very little we can add to Pumilio that wasn't already written in reviews. This is why we chose this place - the exceptional service by the manager and his team alone is worth it! I have never seen such nice service with a constant smile. Staying at Pumilio was like staying with family. The hotel is very small (10 rooms) with beautiful relaxing pool. The rooms are clean and modern, with a little outside kitchen if you want to hang out near the pool. The staff organized our activities and they made our trip. From check-in to check-out, we enjoyed ourselves and look forward to returning on our next trip to Costa Rica!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 21, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for you feedback your opinion truly helps us make our guest’s experience even better and are very helpful for those choosing a good place to stay during vacation time. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the toucans, macaws flying naturally. Close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things Jaco or Herradura Beaches offer. It`s better when our guest trust us and book the tours and activities with us instead of making ahead by themselves, depending in our guests plans, likes and preferences we know which tour operator will be the best option, we take care of the schedule and can double check for the best service to our guests, we love to be part of your plans, so you can relax and explore Costa Rica like been pamper at home. The rooms were planned to be spacious and bright with the kitchen outside so our guests can keep contact with nature and avoid the food smell inside the room. We ended up remodeling the entire hotel last year! It was a pleasure to meet you and looking forward to have you back in the future leaping into happiness! Best regards!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Nice hotel with wonderful breakfast.

Posted Mar 1, 2017
Pros: Property grounds, staff, room, pool and breakfast
Cons: nothing
Location: The hotel is set upon a hill near 2 beaches (Playa Jaco and Playa Herradura), Manuel Antonio National Park was an easy 1 hour 15 minute drive
The hotel staff was very friendly and welcoming. The included breakfast was typical Costa Rican (rice and beans, meat option, and fruit) and included belgium waffles and omelets. We mostly spent our time exploring Manuel Antonio National Park, Nauyaca Falls, Parrito, and watching the sunset at Jaco Beach and not lounging around at the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 5, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for you feedback your opinion truly helps us make our guest’s experience even better. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the toucans, macaws flying naturally. Close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things Jaco or Herradura Beaches offer. For breakfast, we decided not to have schedule, guests that are going to tours frequently needs it before 7 a.m. and other want to sleep until late, we change daily because people love long stays. We added “tamales” typical dish for Christmas in Costa Rica, now we serve them at breakfast every day so our guest can try them. At Pumilio every day is a Holiday! Best regards from all the staff that is very grateful that you appreciated our service that they enjoy giving our guests. Best regards!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rexburg, ID

Great place, great staff

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: It was beautiful, quiet, clean and the staff is outstanding.
Location: There is plenty to do nearby. Ride ATVs, horses, visit the beach and many more things to do.
Milton, Hotel Manager, was extremely helpful at every turn. It is beautiful and quiet location. We stayed two nights and it was absolutely wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kindly comments and rating! All our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the toucans, macaws flying naturally. Close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things Jaco or Herradura Beaches offer. According with our guests plans, likes and preferences we feel happy making recommendations about the best seller’s tours, restaurants and things to do in the area, it´s even better when we have control of the service and schedules of the activities, it is better when our guests trust us for a better experience exploring Costa Rica and taking care of our guest’s budget. Milton is very grateful you mentioned his work, he really cares about our guests satisfaction and we are very happy with his work! Hope to have you back in the future leaping into happiness at Pumilio!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Paradise!!

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The hotel is small, children friendly and set back away from the hustle and bustle of Jaco Beach. Yet it is only a short cab ride away.
This was our first trip to Costa Rica. We are senior citizens and don't speak Spanish. This was not a problem. The hotel staff was most accommodating and eager to help make all the arrangements we needed to visit the area. The locals are very friendly and most speak English. The rooms are large with tile floors (no scary hotel carpet). Each room has an outdoor kitchen which we really enjoyed. In fact, the only time we spent in the room was to sleep. The bathroom was a nice size with a large shower with a rainfall shower head. A hot cooked breakfast was prepared every morning and served in an open air dining room where guests could mingle and exchange recommendations on things to do in the area. But the best part of the hotel is the infinity pool nestled in luxurious tropical landscape. The weather was perfect - we will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kindly comments and rating! All our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the toucans, macaws flying naturally. Close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things Jaco or Herradura Beaches offer. The rooms were planned to be spacious and bright with the kitchen outside so our guests can keep contact with nature and avoid the food smell inside the room. We ended up remodeling the entire hotel last year! We don`t like carpets at the hotel since it's harder to have them as clean as we like! For breakfast, we decided not to have schedule, guests that are going to tours frequently needs it before 7 a.m. and other want to sleep until late, we change daily because people love long stays. We added “tamales” typical dish for Christmas in Costa Rica, now we serve them at breakfast every day so our guest can try them. At Pumilio every day is a Holiday! This little spot is perfect to enjoy the pool embraced by the forest with ocean weather, like to hear you enjoyed too. Hope to have you backing the future leaping into happiness at Pumilio! Best regards!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hard bed and poor refrigerator

Posted Feb 7, 2017
We stayed one week Bed is the hardest I have ever sleapt on Two other couples that week felt the same way Asked for a better bed but they are all the same One of the selling points of staying here was the kitchenette but the fridge was terrible, either not working or doze everything in it Had to throw food away Cutlery, knives and frying pan were terrible No SIM cards at the front desk but continue to display the logo for the company on the window Good air conditioning but they always turn it off while you are away Usual problems with not getting a full set of hand towels and bath towels every day Staff friendly, nice quiet location, good pool Groundskeeper works very hard Breakfast adequate. Hard working cook I expect better for $150 per night Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for you feedback your opinion truly helps us make our guest’s experience even better. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. Sorry to hear you had a bad time with the bed and the person you asked for help didn't let you know we have some memory foams for those that prefer a softer bed, I will work in a way our guest can ask for that option easier, thanks for letting me know. We already fixed the refrigerator, sorry about the inconvenience. Best regards!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Costa Rica and Pumilio were fabulous

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Friendliness and attentiveness of the staff Attention to security Tranquility, gardens and wildlife Rooms/beds/pillows were outstanding
Cons: Nothing of substance.
Location: Ziplining, kayaking, Beaches (Jaco-surfing, Herradura-relaxing, Playa Blanco - white sand, etc) Carara and Manuel Antonio for hiking and wildlife
We have just returned from a fabulous 10 day stay at Pumilio and hope to return. The hotel was exactly what we were looking for; a quaint, comfortable and tranquil hotel that was still close to Jaco and other beaches. From waking up to the birds, the fresh breakfast, the excellent attention and advice from Milton and his team, the massage therapy, through to evening swims and breezes on our second floor room deck, everything at the hotel and the friendliness of Costa Rica combined to make an excellent holiday. During our stay guests ranged from couples to families. This is not a "party" hotel or a large resort with restaurants and bars and was quiet by 9:00pm when the pool closed. The hotel website accurately portrays the hotel. It is important for first time travellers to Pumilio ( like we were) to recognize that the beaches at Herradura and Jaco are about 5kms away and are reachable by bikes (relearning to ride a single speed cruiser is required). Taxis to/from Jaco are approx 4,000 C or $10USD each way but are easy to call and timely. Hotel staff made great recommendations for activities. We used a shuttle service to/from San Jose airport ($230USD) arranged by the hotel but rented a car in Jaco once we saw the roads and the cost to get to the national parks and other places. Be vigilant on the rental car insurance as the third party liability and the "0 deductible insurance" (reduces deductible for liabiity and CDW) will cost at least as much as the car.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kindly comments and rating! All our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. It was a pleasure to have you spending 10 days at Pumilio and exploring Costa Rica like been pamper at home! Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the toucans, macaws flying naturally. Close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things Jaco or Herradura Beaches offer. For breakfast, we decided not to have schedule, guests that are going to tours frequently needs it before 7 a.m. and other want to sleep until late, we change daily because people love long stays. We added “tamales” typical dish for Christmas in Costa Rica, now we serve them at breakfast every day so our guest can try them. At Pumilio every day is a Holiday! Like you hear you enjoyed our Spa, being outdoor and surrounded by nature is and unique adventure instead of been in an AC Spa and the perfect complement for a relaxing and spoiling time. The rooms were planned to be spacious and bright with the kitchen outside so our guests can keep contact with nature and avoid the food smell inside the room. We ended up remodeling the entire hotel last year! According with our guests plans, likes and preferences we feel happy making recommendations about the best seller’s tours, restaurants and things to do in the area, it´s even better when we have control of the service and schedules of the activities, it is better when our guests trust us for a better experience exploring Costa Rica and taking care of our guest’s budget. Looking forward to have you back in the future! Best regards!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Excellent service

Posted Jan 26, 2017 on Hotels
Excellent service, Juan was a great help in many ways!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 30, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kindly comments and rating! All our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. Nice to hear Juan was a great help! Hope to have you back in the future! Best regards!