Ratings based on 202 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Rexburg, ID

Great place, great staff

Posted Feb 22, 2017
Pros: It was beautiful, quiet, clean and the staff is outstanding.
Location: There is plenty to do nearby. Ride ATVs, horses, visit the beach and many more things to do.
Milton, Hotel Manager, was extremely helpful at every turn. It is beautiful and quiet location. We stayed two nights and it was absolutely wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 23, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kindly comments and rating! All our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the toucans, macaws flying naturally. Close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things Jaco or Herradura Beaches offer. According with our guests plans, likes and preferences we feel happy making recommendations about the best seller’s tours, restaurants and things to do in the area, it´s even better when we have control of the service and schedules of the activities, it is better when our guests trust us for a better experience exploring Costa Rica and taking care of our guest’s budget. Milton is very grateful you mentioned his work, he really cares about our guests satisfaction and we are very happy with his work! Hope to have you back in the future leaping into happiness at Pumilio!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Paradise!!

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The hotel is small, children friendly and set back away from the hustle and bustle of Jaco Beach. Yet it is only a short cab ride away.
This was our first trip to Costa Rica. We are senior citizens and don't speak Spanish. This was not a problem. The hotel staff was most accommodating and eager to help make all the arrangements we needed to visit the area. The locals are very friendly and most speak English. The rooms are large with tile floors (no scary hotel carpet). Each room has an outdoor kitchen which we really enjoyed. In fact, the only time we spent in the room was to sleep. The bathroom was a nice size with a large shower with a rainfall shower head. A hot cooked breakfast was prepared every morning and served in an open air dining room where guests could mingle and exchange recommendations on things to do in the area. But the best part of the hotel is the infinity pool nestled in luxurious tropical landscape. The weather was perfect - we will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kindly comments and rating! All our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the toucans, macaws flying naturally. Close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things Jaco or Herradura Beaches offer. The rooms were planned to be spacious and bright with the kitchen outside so our guests can keep contact with nature and avoid the food smell inside the room. We ended up remodeling the entire hotel last year! We don`t like carpets at the hotel since it's harder to have them as clean as we like! For breakfast, we decided not to have schedule, guests that are going to tours frequently needs it before 7 a.m. and other want to sleep until late, we change daily because people love long stays. We added “tamales” typical dish for Christmas in Costa Rica, now we serve them at breakfast every day so our guest can try them. At Pumilio every day is a Holiday! This little spot is perfect to enjoy the pool embraced by the forest with ocean weather, like to hear you enjoyed too. Hope to have you backing the future leaping into happiness at Pumilio! Best regards!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hard bed and poor refrigerator

Posted Feb 7, 2017
We stayed one week Bed is the hardest I have ever sleapt on Two other couples that week felt the same way Asked for a better bed but they are all the same One of the selling points of staying here was the kitchenette but the fridge was terrible, either not working or doze everything in it Had to throw food away Cutlery, knives and frying pan were terrible No SIM cards at the front desk but continue to display the logo for the company on the window Good air conditioning but they always turn it off while you are away Usual problems with not getting a full set of hand towels and bath towels every day Staff friendly, nice quiet location, good pool Groundskeeper works very hard Breakfast adequate. Hard working cook I expect better for $150 per night Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for you feedback your opinion truly helps us make our guest’s experience even better. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. Sorry to hear you had a bad time with the bed and the person you asked for help didn't let you know we have some memory foams for those that prefer a softer bed, I will work in a way our guest can ask for that option easier, thanks for letting me know. We already fixed the refrigerator, sorry about the inconvenience. Best regards!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa, Canada

Costa Rica and Pumilio were fabulous

Posted Feb 7, 2017
Pros: Friendliness and attentiveness of the staff Attention to security Tranquility, gardens and wildlife Rooms/beds/pillows were outstanding
Cons: Nothing of substance.
Location: Ziplining, kayaking, Beaches (Jaco-surfing, Herradura-relaxing, Playa Blanco - white sand, etc) Carara and Manuel Antonio for hiking and wildlife
We have just returned from a fabulous 10 day stay at Pumilio and hope to return. The hotel was exactly what we were looking for; a quaint, comfortable and tranquil hotel that was still close to Jaco and other beaches. From waking up to the birds, the fresh breakfast, the excellent attention and advice from Milton and his team, the massage therapy, through to evening swims and breezes on our second floor room deck, everything at the hotel and the friendliness of Costa Rica combined to make an excellent holiday. During our stay guests ranged from couples to families. This is not a "party" hotel or a large resort with restaurants and bars and was quiet by 9:00pm when the pool closed. The hotel website accurately portrays the hotel. It is important for first time travellers to Pumilio ( like we were) to recognize that the beaches at Herradura and Jaco are about 5kms away and are reachable by bikes (relearning to ride a single speed cruiser is required). Taxis to/from Jaco are approx 4,000 C or $10USD each way but are easy to call and timely. Hotel staff made great recommendations for activities. We used a shuttle service to/from San Jose airport ($230USD) arranged by the hotel but rented a car in Jaco once we saw the roads and the cost to get to the national parks and other places. Be vigilant on the rental car insurance as the third party liability and the "0 deductible insurance" (reduces deductible for liabiity and CDW) will cost at least as much as the car.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 13, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kindly comments and rating! All our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. It was a pleasure to have you spending 10 days at Pumilio and exploring Costa Rica like been pamper at home! Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the toucans, macaws flying naturally. Close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things Jaco or Herradura Beaches offer. For breakfast, we decided not to have schedule, guests that are going to tours frequently needs it before 7 a.m. and other want to sleep until late, we change daily because people love long stays. We added “tamales” typical dish for Christmas in Costa Rica, now we serve them at breakfast every day so our guest can try them. At Pumilio every day is a Holiday! Like you hear you enjoyed our Spa, being outdoor and surrounded by nature is and unique adventure instead of been in an AC Spa and the perfect complement for a relaxing and spoiling time. The rooms were planned to be spacious and bright with the kitchen outside so our guests can keep contact with nature and avoid the food smell inside the room. We ended up remodeling the entire hotel last year! According with our guests plans, likes and preferences we feel happy making recommendations about the best seller’s tours, restaurants and things to do in the area, it´s even better when we have control of the service and schedules of the activities, it is better when our guests trust us for a better experience exploring Costa Rica and taking care of our guest’s budget. Looking forward to have you back in the future! Best regards!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St Catharines

You do not want to leave

Posted Jan 22, 2017
The hotel has only 10 rooms. The staff are very welcoming. The hotel is very private. Each room has its own kitcenette on the balcony overlooking the pool. If you don't feel like cooking, you can order dinner in from a variety of local restaurants at reasonable prices. On site spa services. A little piece of paradise.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 24, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kindly comments and rating! All our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature, see the toucans, macaws flying naturally. Close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things Jaco or Herradura Beaches offer. The rooms were planned to be spacious and bright with the kitchen outside so our guests can keep contact with nature and avoid the food smell inside the room. We ended up remodeling the entire hotel last year! Like you hear you enjoyed our Spa, being outdoor and surrounded by nature is and unique adventure instead of been in an AC Spa and the perfect complement for a relaxing and spoiling time. We chose the best restaurants in the area and have their menus and bring what our guest chooses and serve it where they prefer, dining room, terrace, balcony suite or even at the pool deck. Hope to have you back in the future leaping into happiness at Pumilio! Best regards!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

paradise

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Pros: location, peacefulness
I've been to Pumilio about 4 times now and every time I'm more in love with it. the staff are extremely helpful and kind. love the location and facilities
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2017 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback - your opinion truly helps us make our guest’s experience even better Our staff was very happy to see you again, I was so sorry I missed you this time, hope to have you back soon, Pumilio is like your home! Nice to hear you liked all the investments we made last year. Happy New Year! Hugs from all of us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Gainesville,FL

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Pumilio is fantastic!Clean and comfort room and private. The staff are sooooo warm and helpful! They are the best hotel staff I've ever seen! Also, if you don't want to go out to eat, they will help you order delicious food and deliver it to your room at a very reasonable price (you don't need to pay more than you go to the restaurant by yourself). There are plenty of great activities to do around the area and you can easily make a reservation whether by emailing Pumilio or at the reception desk. If I'll go Jaco again I'll definitely choose Pumilio!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 29, 2016 by Laura, Hotel Management
Hello! Thanks for your feedback and kindly comments that are very important for us, the best way to keep improving for our guests satisfaction that has been our priority! We give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. We chose the best restaurants in the area and have there menus and bring what our guest decide and serve it where your prefer, dinning room, terrace, balcony suite or even at the pool deck, it's the best way to have variety specially in Jaco that we have lots of restaurants! If you ever forget, or lose your happy all you have to do is come back to Pumilio. We know how to find the happy in you. Hope to have you back soon. Best regards and a Happy New Year!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, Ma

Posted Dec 15, 2016
Great place to stay. Staff were very friendly and helpful. Will definitely go back again. I recommend it if you are staying in Jaco Costa Rica.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 16, 2016 by Laura, Hotel Management
Hello! It was a pleasure to have you with us! Thanks for staying with us. We work hard to make our guests happy and appreciate your feedback! Hope to have you back soon in the future leaping into happiness at Hotel Pumilio! Best regards!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel close to Jaco. Stuff in hotel grea

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Stuff in hotel went above and beyond. Great view from the room
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2016 by Laura, Hotel Management
Hi! Thanks for your kindly comments and rating that is very important for us! All our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. Nice to hear our staff is doing a good work! Hope to have you back in the future!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Corona, California

I'd love to come back

Posted Nov 10, 2016
Beautiful location, spacious and comfortable room, very friendly and helpful staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 11, 2016 by Laura, Hotel Management
Thank you very much for your rating and kindly comments that really counts! All of our guests are always more than welcome in our Boutique hotel. We work hard to give the importance that our guests deserve, especially knowing that they are sharing with us their vacation time. Pumilio is strategically located to explore Costa Rica like being pamper at home surrounded by nature but close enough to lots of activities, restaurants and things Jaco or Herradura Beaches offer. The rooms were planned to be spacious and bright with the kitchen outside so our guests can keep in contact with nature and avoid the food smell inside the room, we try to have all the basics to make it easier to use them. And we finished renovating last June! Nice to hear you like them! Hope to have your back soon! Best regards!