Ratings based on 59 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
58% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful quiet place with gorgeous views.

Posted Jan 16, 2018
The staff here is so friendly. We loved seeing the ocean from our room and eating Oceanside at the restaurant. The black sand beach was really neat and the area is beautiful. Great spot for a budget hotel!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Good location

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Cons: general updrade
Location: Hermosa beach with amazing sunset. Close to Jaco
hotel is outdated and in need of an uplift. however the upper pool was clean and not busy. the hotel is right on Hermosa beach and only a few minutes from Jaco. we only had breakfast there which was ok. we only stayed at this hotel for one night and it was fine. It can be a bit noisy if staying on the upper unit closer to the main road. the one thing I did not like about the room is the fact that the mattresses did not have a removable cover.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cartago, Costa Rica

Quite hotel in front of the beach

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Great hotel to relax and get out of the stress, good pools, great breakfast. You can't swing in the beach but Jaco is less than 5 minutes away. Sunset is amazing
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Fernando Leitón Brenes, Hotel Management
Carlos, thank you very much. We are here to serve you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara, CA

Nice hotel on the beach

Posted Oct 12, 2017
Pros: The pool and the restaurant were both very nice. Get the nachos!
Cons: The rooms were very bare. Even a few posters on the wall or something would have made it nicer.
Location: 10 minutes to Jaco where the nightlight and surfing is mostly located. Not too much closer than that, but the hotel is ON a black sand beach!
This was a very last minute booking after the hurricane washed out our previous plans, but we were pretty happy with the hotel. It was off season so some things were a little strange, but overall the staff was very nice. Most were pretty good with English and we had no problem getting our room and ordering food. The hotel is about a 10 minute drive from Jaco with a few twists and turns, but nothing too bad. I really liked the hotel grounds and restaurant, but was disappointed the pool bars weren't open (my friend and I were basically the only guests at the hotel during our stay). We did see lots of iguanas and macaws though so that more than made up for it! The rooms are very bare (just beds, nothing on the walls), but it did have air conditioning which was very nice to have. Overall, I'd probably come back here but it might be a little more fun during on-season.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overrated.

Posted Mar 13, 2017
VERY old place, staff is extremely unpolite and useless.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

the hotel is decadent and should not lie open.

Posted Feb 8, 2017
Pros: See above
Cons: Unfortunately, just about every thing. See above
The first room we had had chips in the sink, a shower where the water came out like a waterfall from one end, a non working phone with tape around the jack, a patio with no chairs. The fridge was disgusting, full of rust. It should have been replace years ago. The whole place was desperately in need of a paint job and had been sorely neglected for years; so much so that it appeared dirty. The first receptionist was surly and totally unhelpful. We changed rooms and the next room was just acceptable. The location is gorgeous and the food was basic but good with good service from the waiters. All in all the hotel should be torn down and rebuilt.
5 out of 5
by Juan

Relaxing and Great Ocean Views

Posted Jan 13, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel was great, pool and some commons areas do need some attention. Food plan is extremely expensive $140 per adults and $70 per child per night ! You can easily spend $200 and eat a family of four, lunch & dinner. Staffing was great !
2 out of 5
by Daniel

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
The first room we were given had not been cleaned so they moved us to another room that had ants crawling all over the place. Overall the hotel is very run down and shabby. It is directly on the beach and had a nice view from the breakfast dining area but there are no views from the room and location a bit remote.
2 out of 5
by Michael

Overpriced in need of repairs

Posted Jan 1, 2017 on Hotels
upon our check in, we went to room to find no door knob on bathroom door and it wouldn't stay shut. They sent down a service tech to install old corroded, used lock set in door. They moved us to room 118 instead. When we arrived in 118, shower didn't work properly and no outside light on balcony. Again they sent a service person to repair. WIFI was very spotty. Grounds were beautiful. Pool was nice, but in need of repairs also Front counter was in state of confusion and it seemed people were complaining about things. This property is in desperate need of repairs and it doesn't seem like it is getting done. We were charged 450.00 for two nights. it was extremely overpriced. I will never stay there again. I was expecting a very nice place for the price with well maintained amenities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, near the beach and good for surfers

Posted Sep 18, 2016
Excellent for surfers, good waves, safety If you are a international surfer this is your place