Ratings based on 71 Verified Reviews

3.4 out of 5
56% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.7 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Not great

Posted Apr 2, 2018
Pros: restaurant on beach. Serene feel will sound of waves. Close to jaco.baby pool. Breakfast was good. Friendly restaurant staff. Cons: swim up bar only open one hour in morning, room lacked basic amenities and hotel was old. Couldn’t swim because undertow and sand was too hot to walk on
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CR

OK but treat is not nice

Posted Mar 26, 2018
Hotel location and infrastructure is OK, but hotel has so many rules, and they receive you with the "rules" printed, it makes you feel guilty already. Don't allow to stay at the pool after the checkout. :(
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from costa rica

Needs a lot of repairs

Posted Mar 5, 2018
Curtains torn, blankets and comforter old and torn, walls need paint, furniture old, this hotels has a very nice pool and garden areas with a good location but need a looooot of care, repairs and a lot of love to be attractive again....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 22, 2018
Great view on the ocean, inside the nature. Great ameneties (2 pools). We enjoyed our stay!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Nice old hotel

Posted Feb 5, 2018
It's small, the food is nothing much, rooms are small, and the mattress old. The pool is nice and the hotel is right on the beach. It's not a great hotel, but there is nothing else in Playa hermosa
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful quiet place with gorgeous views.

Posted Jan 16, 2018
The staff here is so friendly. We loved seeing the ocean from our room and eating Oceanside at the restaurant. The black sand beach was really neat and the area is beautiful. Great spot for a budget hotel!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beach stay near Jaco

Posted Jan 11, 2018 on Hotels
Very friendly staff and away from the crowds of Jaco so it feels like you have the beach to yourself though the water is rough. Beds could be replaced, mattresses worn out and rooms felt like they could use a makeover. Breakfast was good in open air restaurant with iguana guests. Two pools that were nice though never busy while we were there
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from canada

Good location

Posted Jan 11, 2018
Cons: general updrade
Location: Hermosa beach with amazing sunset. Close to Jaco
hotel is outdated and in need of an uplift. however the upper pool was clean and not busy. the hotel is right on Hermosa beach and only a few minutes from Jaco. we only had breakfast there which was ok. we only stayed at this hotel for one night and it was fine. It can be a bit noisy if staying on the upper unit closer to the main road. the one thing I did not like about the room is the fact that the mattresses did not have a removable cover.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cartago, Costa Rica

Quite hotel in front of the beach

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Great hotel to relax and get out of the stress, good pools, great breakfast. You can't swing in the beach but Jaco is less than 5 minutes away. Sunset is amazing
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 9, 2018 by Fernando Leitón Brenes, Hotel Management
Carlos, thank you very much. We are here to serve you.
4 out of 5
by Joyce

It was ok

Posted Nov 27, 2017 on Hotels
I had booked and paid on line. When I arrived, they claimed they did not have my reservation. I had to email them a copy. She then said I only held the reservation with my cc and that I had to pay even though it stated on my confirmation that I was paid in full. As of today, I am still waiting for it to be resolved. The room is real big, but out dated. The breakfast sandwich was delicious. My daughter ordered the banana pancakes, only received 2 that were just a little larger than a silver dollar.