Ratings based on 36 Verified Reviews

4.9 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
4.9 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.9 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Bert

Hidden gem

Posted Apr 6, 2017 on Hotels
Hidden Gem..
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 23, 2017 on Ebookers
Amazing place. Everything was perfect. Especially loved drinks by the amphitheatre at sunset
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Kelowna, B.C.

amazing boutique hotel!

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: the infinity pool at the top of zephyrs is out of this world.. since the hotel only has seven suites there rarely was anyone else at the pool
Cons: the dinner at villa caletas was always very good, the breakfast on the other hand is okay at best. maybe stick to fruit salad.
Location: the location is at the top of a mountain with beautiful views and an awesome spa with very reasonable prices
we stayed at zephyrs palace for 2 nights on our way back to San Jose from Santa Teresa. Perfect location for a quick 2 night get away. This place was absolutely magical.. we stayed in 2 rooms while we were there since we booked last minute and our favourite room was the "new world" suite. It has a hot tub on its own little terrace that has plenty of privacy from the rest of the rooms. great place for a romantic vacation
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Exceptional Hotel

Posted Feb 20, 2017 on Orbitz
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Private Hilltop location away from the road. You will need a rental car or cab if you want to venture off property.
Everyone has there own idea of what makes a hotel great. In my opinion this hotel is fantastic. It sits high on top of a hill 1100 feet above the ocean with suburb views in all directions. Location Location Location. Yes it's not on the beach but the views more then make up for that especially at sunset. However there is also a beach area below that is accessed by a dirt road. Taking the shuttle is recommended unless you have a 4x4 suv. The food and drink at the beach area excellent as well. It's very private for the most part and the two days we went there we were the only ones for most of the time. It Felt like our own private beach. The Zephyr Palace has to be experienced to understand how relaxing and calming it is. this is a couples hotel and is very private. The room we had was outstanding with fine art on the walls and a large bathroom. We never heard another sole in any of the other rooms. The balcony that overlooked the rain forest and ocean was so big it had a Jacuzzi hot tub on it with ample space to spare. Also the property itself is fairly big with many unique areas to explore and enjoy. We love it. From excellent food and fantastic cocktails in the bar area to how private and romantic it can be this place will steel your heart.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Carmel, IN

Beautiful views, pool, and room

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Zephyr pool and the Oriental suite
Cons: Service at the restaurants was sometimes slow or not attentive. Bed was a bit hard.
Location: Mostly stayed at the hotel, but there is a national park and alligator tours nearby. Also near Jaco.
We spent two nights here and wished we had stayed another. Absolutely gorgeous pool with amazing views. The Zephyr is separate but connected to Villa Caletas Hotel. They send a golf cart to transport you back and forth as it is very hilly. However, the Zephyr does have it's own large pool for only 7 suites and it is wonderful. Only two suites were occupied during our stay so they didn't have the bar at the pool staffed but we could of called and they would have brought food and drinks over. The main hotel has several restaurants and a bar which were vey nice. They also have a shuttle that brings you down to their own private beach area where several monkeys kept causing issues in the kitchen. The beach had cabanas (no charge) and a good number of chairs along with bar service. The whole resort has beautiful grounds. It reminds me of Rhodes (it is built out of stone and looks medieval).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Close to heaven

Posted Sep 7, 2016
This hotel is beautiful. It was quiet great food and three great pools. Great spa and its own secluded beach. The staff was also very helpful and polite. A great place to propose or get married or simply have a romantic getaway. You get a lot for your buck. I highly recommend it.
5 out of 5
by Jody from Beach city texas

Amazing property great food

Posted Aug 26, 2016 on Hotels
Amazing place. The Zephyr Palace section is incredible. The road sign more clearly says Los Caletis and google wont find Zephyr Palace. Just fyi.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Florida

Over the top

Posted Nov 10, 2015
We hopped down to Costa Rica for a quick Birthday getaway. We stayed in the Zephyr Palace, 20 years suite and it was fantastic!! Private balcony overlooking the ocean, outstanding room with a hot tub also overlooking the ocean. Guy's, if your looking to score BIG points on the romance side, this place is "Over the Top"
5 out of 5
by David

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 12, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Bert from Atlanta

Botanical garden

Posted Jun 25, 2015 on Hotels
Excellent hotel... quiet and peaceful...