Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
by Esther

Best accommodation in India

Posted Feb 12, 2017 on Hotels
Mr Pareesh the manager is truly proud of this heritage building and rightly so. The staf, under his direction, are very attentive and work hard to ensure every aspect of your stay is first rate. The pool, peacocks and luxurious accommodations were a very welcome respite.
5 out of 5
by mahandren

The pink city

Posted Feb 8, 2017 on Hotels
Great service and amazing food. Very friendly staff.
4 out of 5
by Kathleen from St. Augustine

Palace for a pauper (exteacher)

Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Hotels
A classic heritage hotel with huge bedroom suite and A palatial lobby to match. Good stay for the price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Comfortable, quaint, heritage hotel

Posted Feb 9, 2016 on Wotif
Pros: The decor and furnishings are stunning and in keeping with the heritage feel.
Cons: For a boutique property some of the finer expectations are missing,tissues,hairdryer,iron&board (on request only), refrigerator.
Location: Easy to hire a taxi or auto rickshaw to visit the major sites: the Amber Fort, Palace of the Winds and excellent jewellery shopping in the city.
I stayed during the Jaipur Literature Festival for over a week. I stayed in one of the smaller rooms, 'deluxe', which was comfortable and decorated in the period style. Govind, the new manager is bringing in new ideas and approaches to the hotel, which are needed. I was looked after by the staff who were very friendly and helpful. On India Republic Day, we had a lot of fun over breakfast while the staff dressed in traditional clothes and India colours. I ate several times at the hotel, which offered a fair selection of dishes that were freshly cooked to order. The hotel is set back from the street so mostly quiet, and a local school is nearby, but not noisy. Although there were many weddings and parties in nearby buildings at night, which were a bit noisy for other guests who had rooms near the front of the hotel. The way I think about this hotel is a cross between The Marigold Hotel (film) and 'Fawlty Towers' (TV series). So although somewhat ramshackly, and wait service that varied, the overall experience was comfortable and I felt looked after as a woman traveling on her own. For a boutique property some of the finer expectations are missing, such as high quality bedding, face tissues in the room, face cloths, a small refrigerator, electrical charging points, and an iron and hair dryer are only available on request. However, definitely worth staying in, to enjoy the heritage site and the experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good

Posted Nov 25, 2015
Nice hotel to stay. In the middle of the city. Very well maintained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Srini from Chicago

Nice hotel. Close to all sightseeing spots

Posted Dec 12, 2013
Pros: The overall ambience. Very quiet. You can see peacocks percehed on the rofs, different types of birds chirping around.
Cons: The restaurant staff can be more professional and efficient.
Location: Central to all the good sight seeing spots. Birla temple is around 1 K. The City Palace , Jantart Mantar and the Hawa Mahal is around 5 K
It was a wonderful expeirnce staying at this heritage property. It is an erstwhile palace converted to part hotel. The rooms are very well done. It is fitted with all modern facilities. The rooms are very quiet and private. The ambience is very nice. The food is good as well. The bar is excellent The restaurant staff is very courteous but not very efficient. This is not a chain hotel so pls do not expect a typical hotel environment. I would definitely recommend this place.
2 out of 5
by Alasdair from Notts, UK

A tired hotel attempting to live off past glories!

Posted Nov 4, 2013
Pros: Not much
Cons: A lot
A most disappointing experience. We expected a palace. We got a tired and shabby hotel, living off past glories ( apparently Bill Clinton visited/stayed several years ago). The room was poorly equipped and un-modernised, while the bathroom sink was cracked and the toilet seat stained with the mark of cigarettes having been stubbed out. When I commented on my disappointment no-one seemed surprised. The poorest and most expensive hotel during our stay in India.
3 out of 5
by Jai from Delhi

Ok Ok hotel, location is only advantage

Posted Aug 19, 2013
Pros: location
Cons: service and upkeep of the hotel infrastrcuture
See I havent got anything against this hotel. Yes its a heritage hotel , but I am seriously disappointed by their services and upkeep of the hotel. The foremost and the most horryfying thing I faced in this hotel was that one evening when I returned ( it was raining) to the hotel , I found that hotel entry gate was knee deep n water and it was very dirty water, I thought for a moment that is there a flood coming near by or wat. The second issue I faced was that they have not got much option in dinner and lunch menu & I personally think they are overpriced. Another critical issue that I have is with service, when I came back hotel from a good rain , my shoes were very wet, so i requested the manager next day if he can get my shoes kept in the open or somewere near heater so that they can be dried, no action was taken on the same for two days. Only good thing about this hotel is its location- very very near to jaipur old city and tourist spots.
3 out of 5
by Kano

poor staff quality especially at the reception

Posted Aug 6, 2013
The cleanliness of the room was good except t there was a small stench of cigarettes. The staff kept on messing up things- got no for an answer most of the times.
4 out of 5
by Prathiba from New Delhi

A quaint stay!

Posted Apr 2, 2013 on Hotels
We stayed only for one night at this quaint lil' "Palace". True to its word it is old! Antiquated ~ but marvellously so! The pool is great! So were the rooms and the breakfast buffet. They gave us a free ugrade to the MahaRaja Suite. Cozy... Cute.. and Absolutely lovely! We had a direct view of the pool and looking out in the night after lights out in the moonlight, with the backdrop the very symbols of Jaipur's Charm ~ Beautiful! We loved our stay!