Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jan 15, 2017
Pros: Spa is fantastic (but only a certain therapist)
Cons: Facilities to work properly (e.g. A/C and toilet)
Location: Connected to Grand Indonesia Mall where you can get anything required
Convenient hotel with good location. Gym is really fully equipped. Spa is excellent. Breakfast was good with plenty of options. The only disappointment is the slight noise coming from the A/C throughout the night, and the tub is leaking. So if you plan on taking a bath, the water leaks and kinda wet the entire floor.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Best Hotel in Jakarta

Posted Jan 6, 2017
What can I say, this was the best stay I have ever had during my many visits to Jakarta! Not only is the location of the hotel perfect, the staff go above and beyond to make you feel like you are at home. The hotel has wonderful amenities, the rooms are modern, clean and 5 star international standard. I would highly recommend this property for both business and leisure guests needing accommodation in Jakarta and would make it my first and only choice!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 12, 2017 by Alex Pichel, Hotel Management
Dear Andrew, Thank you for giving us such a positive feedback on TripAdvisor. We are thrilled to hear how much you have enjoyed your stay and that you appreciated the hotel’s convenient location, the amenities, as well as the level of service extended by our team members. Your comments will definitely encourage my entire team to consistently maintain the high standards which you have experienced during your recent stay. On behalf of my team, we certainly look forward of having the opportunity to welcome you back soon. Warm regards, Alex Pichel General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MAL

Nice hotel with good facilities

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Near to Thanrin Mall and Grand Indonesia and Plaza Indonesia...
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Great name but falls far short...

Posted Nov 17, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Food quality.
I was quite disappointed with the hotel. The room looks nicely designed but slightly impractical. Absolutely no reading materials and bathroom has blinds that can only be closed by climbing across the rather large bathtub. Tricky and dangerous manoeuvre for older guests. Lobby has some ridiculous heavy and unstable stools for guests to perch on while checking in. Extremely dangerous for kids. Generally the F&B is poor by any standards especially the breakfast buffet. Japanese restaurant Oku is good but portions are huge. All in all, this hotel offers poor value
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MY

strategic location..nearby to everything

Posted Aug 11, 2016
There was a vast improvement in checking-in & out process..the last time i was there it took forever to check-in. Previously there were 2 separate counters for check-in & another one for checking-out, now all are combined into one which makes the process faster. However the staff should try to be more friendly and smile more often.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Central and convenient

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Amongst the best value for money for a luxury hotel in central Jakarta. Very comfortable rooms and conveniently attached to Grand Indonesia.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BDG

Excellent location, luxurious hotel

Posted May 31, 2016
Pros: Luxurious and strategic location
Cons: Bigger room size, or less furniture
Location: Hotel is located right next to Grand Indonesia Mall, with Plaza Indonesia right across
My friends have been recommending this hotel for sometime, so I thought I would give it a try on my business trip. First impression did not disappoint, however when I get to the room, the first thing that came into my mind was the size. The room was beautifully decorated, the furniture looks slick, and the work desk was made out of a piece of curved thick glass, impressive... although my phone did fell off the desk once (I forgot the edge was curved). On the other hand, the room size is actually quite small, smaller than what I expected from such priced room. The layout of the room that i got was odd as well, crampy even. The desk was laid out facing the room door, the desk chair right in front of a mirrored wall. I'm an average built guy, but sitting on the desk without the chair hitting the wall every now and then is a challenge. The glass desk was connected to the table next to it, so I couldn't freely move the desk forward, and switching the chair position won't help either (TV right next to it). Bathroom was small but still have a shower and a bathtub, with space-age toilet seat (auto seat lifter/closer, air blower, flusher, etc). I did feel a warmth heat emanating from the bathroom mirror tho. On another note, the room is not child-friendly, the bed frame has four towering bed post with sharp angles, close proximity between furniture, glass desk.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel in great location

Posted May 1, 2016
Keep up the good work, Fast check in and check out Great breakfast
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London

Kempinski Hotel Jakarta

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pros: Central location
Cons: The Kempinksi has occupied prime real estate in Central Jakarta since 1962, so pulling down and starting again would seem like a good idea.
Location: Excellent shopping and wide eating experience in both Grand and Indonesia Malls
The obvious reason to use this hotel is for its location in Central Jakarta. Adjoining the West and East Grand Malls, makes upmarket shopping highly convenient and just a short walk from Plaza Indonesia. Room decor is reminiscent of the heady days of Las Vegas hotels during the sixties and seventies which is matter of taste, but might explain the air conditioning seemingly to origin from the same era, as no matter what I adjusted, the room temperature would not budge below an indicated 24 degrees. I upgraded to include executive lounge and breakfast at $75 per night, however the executive lounge on the 7th floor was populated by families with screaming children on both evenings late into the night, with hotel staff oblivious to the fact that actually peace and quiet was needed. Buffet breakfast in Signatures restaurant was acceptable albeit some cooked items were already cold. The Kempinski is showing its age and if it was not for the location, then would not compete with the likes of the Ritz Carlton at Concorde Plaza nor the Mulia which are similarly rated.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to centre of city

Posted Feb 8, 2015
Pros: Clean and tidy rooms.Close to centre of the city
Everything was as expected from a hotel of this quality.booked online but made mistake with the bed which the staff were happy to change for my stay.Room was very clean and comfortable and of a good size.The staff were always smiling and saying"hello". Overall everything was of a high standard.