Ratings based on 240 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Safe deposit

Posted Jan 20, 2017
The safe deposit box was locked. Although I told the receptionist, nothing was done until I checked out. On the second day of my stay, I called using the hotel service button indicated on the phone in the bedroom but the person in the other end put me on hold as he said I should tell it to the reception but no one answered my call. So I gave up. That afternoon I informed the reception about the safe but everyone there denied hearing about my feedback. I do not know why the in house telephone does not have a shortcut to call the reception. I guess that they are shorthanded.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by mini, Hotel Management
Dear Vincent Greetings from Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square. Firstly, allow me to take this opportunity to express my sincerest regret for the inconvenience that you encountered during your recent stay with us. We at Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square understand the importance of fulfilling our guest expectations and it concerns me greatly that you have left the hotel with such a negative impression of our service performance. We do value your constructive feedback and please be rest assured, I will table and share it with our respective department head for our further review and immediate action and to ensure this type of issue will not repeat in the future. Thank you once again and I hope there will be an opportunity to welcome you back in the future and somehow to restore your faith on us. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly, as I will be delighted to assist you with all the arrangements. With my best regards, Fabrice Mini General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 19, 2016
Room is dirty TV is old and reception is bad Broken towel rack Aircon controls not accurate
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 21, 2016 by mini, Hotel Management
Dear Nil We thanked for your comment it is very sad to know that your experience during your stay with us, its not meet your expectation. For the matters we will info to our departement concern for their improvement. We hope you can give us a chance for give you the better experience in your next stay again with us. Best Regards Fabrice Mini General Manager
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Bad Hotel

Posted Dec 17, 2016
Bad Hotel and I not recommend this hotel for anyone and bad location
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by mini, Hotel Management
Dear Valuable Guest We thanked for Your comment and rating score in expedia, Felt sad to know that during your stay its not being your expectation. Your experience we will share to our team to encourangement and to improve our quality and service in the future. Hopely that can meet you again in our hotel. Best Regards Fabrice Mini General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Good location. Near the international expo.

Posted Dec 16, 2016
Pros: Location, rooms sizes, service.
Location: Shopping malls nearby, close to many attractions.
Spacious rooms. Hotel staffs are friendly and helpful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by mini, Hotel Management
Dear Yuki It was a great pleasure to be your preferred hotel during your trip to Jakarta and learned that you have a very good experience while staying with us. Thank you also for your complement for our staff. There is no better satisfaction than knowing that we were able to exceed your expectations. Your appreciation will surely motivate our team to provide a heartfelt service to our Guests. I would like to thank you also for recommending us to fellow travelers and I look forward to welcome you back again at Novotel Jakarta Mangga Dua Square!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Clean and Very convenient hotel.

Posted Dec 13, 2016 on Hotels
the convenience of staying beside the shopping mall, mangga dua square. with so much choices in food. however, do not travel out of the area after midnight, police will set up road blocks down the main road and stop tourist to ask for a bribe.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valuable Guest We thanked for your rating and comment for our hotel. All your comment its very valuable for us. It is very a pleasant to know that you have a great experience during your stay with us. We will wait for your next stay again with us. Best Regards Fabrice Mini General Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 12, 2016 on Hotels
Room interior too old
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 20, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valuable Guest We thanked for your rating and comment for our hotel. All your comment its very valuable for us. We would like to inform you that right now our hotel is under renovation for improvement our product and quality. We hope you can give us a chance for keep give the best service and quality to all guest. We thanked again and we wil wait for your next stay again with us. Best Regards Fabrice Mini General Manager
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

stay at novotel

Posted Nov 24, 2016
The room was noisy due to renovations going on the fifth floor, and no carten in the room so the room is full of light
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by mini, Hotel Management
Dear Haitham We thanked for your comment and rating for our hotel. We so also apologize for inconvininet during your stay with us. We would like to inform you right now our hotel its under renovation for improvement our quality and product. All your comment we will share to all team and department concern for our improvement. We thanked again and we hope you can give us a chance for give you the best experience than before. Best Regards Fabrice Mini General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Convenient stay both for leisure and business

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Pros: Very convenient to go about. Located within a shopping mall, you can get what you want including meals without leaving the hotel
Cons: Toilet a bit old and run down. No coffee satchets were provided inroom for those who drink coffee
Location: Many entertainment spots nearby including Ancol wonderland. At nights, can go for entertainment spots like Crown and sun city
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by mini, Hotel Management
Dear Henry We thanked for your comment and it is a very a pleasant to know that you are very enjoy with our location. And we also do apologize for inconvenient during your stay with us. All your comment we will share to all team and we believe its will be motivated and encourage all team for keep give the best service and our quality. Best Regards Fabrice Mini General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2016 on Hotels
Check in was not so good as the girl spoke broken English .but after that it was a pleasant stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 2, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valuable Guest We thanked for your comment and we do apologize for inconvinient happened during your stay with us. Your comment it will be for our improvement in the future for give the best experience to all guests. We thanked again and we wish you have a great day a head. Best Regards Fabrice Mini General Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 27, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Valuable Guest We thanked for your comment and rating and we felt a pleasant to know you have a great experience with us. We will wait for your next stay with us. Best Regards Fabrice Mini General Manager