Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

3.6 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.6 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Not 5 star but good value

Posted Feb 1, 2016
A little bit tired and swimming pool closed due to renovation work (end Jan 2016). But OK for business trip. Asked staff to borrow room to change before airport. Simple request but told to use toilet. Not a 5 star response and was disappointing end to OK stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from UK

Ideal location for the GBK stadium.

Posted Sep 13, 2015
Stayed at The Sultan after the Bon Jovi show at the GBK. The location was excellent. Staff, room and facilities were very good. The hotel was very busy however and as a result the breakfast buffet area was extended in to corridors and meeting rooms which was a little poor and the buy one get one free nightly cocktails seemed stunningly complicated for many of the bar staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A little behind its time

Posted Aug 26, 2015
Pros: Just being able to hang out at the pool for some time was great, while at the same time being close to the convention center mad this a good location.
Cons: Hotel could need an update.
Location: Convention Center is close by, so a good location if you have a convention/ congress there.
Overall nice stay, while one senses that the hotel is in need of some update ... it kind of feels like it got stuck sometime in the late 90s.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Reno

Great for proximity to convention center

Posted Aug 24, 2015
Cons: The Sultan was especially stingy when it comes to the amount of free drinking water available in each room.
Location: The location is very close to the convention center.
This is a nice mid-range hotel very close to the Jakarta convention center. I stayed there three nights while attending a geothermal conference. Although I paid for a regular room, I was given a better room apparently because the regular ones were full. The bathroom alone was bigger than some of the rooms I rented at a similar price in New York City. The room was quiet, food was good, the personnel nice. I work out regularly and the fitness center was exceptional. Overall value for Jakarta was average; meaning that other less expensive hotels have many of these same features for about 2/3 the price. But if your business is at the convention center and you're not on a meager budget, this is a good hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Good hotel to stay when seminar or exhibition

Posted Jun 3, 2015
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location of hotel is very convenient when attending a seminar or exhibition in annex exhibition center linked by underground and cooled tunnel with people movers. Hotel is approx. 40 years old and shows, but generally well kept.Needs some updating/grading. Room comfortable, good bed and spacious bathroom where new fixtures are badly needed(hot/cold mix taps not working very well and need some fiddling to get right temp). Staff very friendly and helpful; hotel manager very hospitable. Location on main road direction airport helps to avoid loss of time, a major problem in Jakarta. Even on Friday afternoon taxi made it in 45 min!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Convenient to Trade Show

Posted May 15, 2015
Short walking distance to the trade show exhibition center. Saved time due to not having to travel through Jakarta traffic to get there. Overall, if was a pleasant stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Posted Mar 28, 2015
Pros: The staffs are friendly and helpful
Cons: Renovation is ok as long as the management needs to ensure the hotel area is tidy
It is good location, but the hotel was under renovation during our stayed. Therefore, it is considering messy around the hotel area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from singapore

Good hotel

Posted Aug 19, 2014
The exterior looks a little old but the interior n room was super nice and comfortable . The breakfast was very good also n staff were very pleasent
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ana from Costa Rica

Beautiful, Aging Hotel; Needs Customer Service

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: The food was great!
Cons: Customer service. The staff is friendly and polite, but the hotel seems understaffed.
The hotel is opulent, though some of that opulence could use some maintenance. The Indonesian decor is a treat. The staff, though friendly, seem overburdened with too many guests to attend at the same time. While apologetic and courteous, they lack the ability to properly meet all guest needs. I could not get in contact with room service. I asked for a power adapter and it took two hours to receive. The room did not have its own iron and when I asked for one, it took an hour and a half to be delivered. Reception always had a wait period as there were too many guests and too few receptionists.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Bridget from London, UK

Excellent for the Convention Centre

Posted Jul 19, 2013
Pros: Tunnel to the Convention Centre, garden swimming pool, Chinese restaurant
Cons: slow lifts, slow reception desk, dodgy plumbing
Location: great for the Convention Centre; with Jakarta traffic anywhere is difficult to get to!
This was obviously a classy hotel when it was built but it needs some attention. I was in the tower block, floor 16, and sometimes had to wait more than 10 minutes for a lift as those that arrived were full. The hot water wasn't working and an engineer had to adjust the pressure for the floor, which they did as soon as I reported it, to their credit. The checking in and checking out process seemed to take a very long time, with queues forming. On the plus side it was great to use the tunnel to get to the Convention Centre without being soaked, carrying all our literature, in the monsoon downpours. The lobby cafe and the Chinese restaurant on the ground floor were very good, and the swimming pool in the garden is lovely. (Particular thanks to a very helpful porter called Cunaya who helped me frame a signed football shirt one evening when no-one else in Jakarta could do it in less than 10 days!)