Ratings based on 2,502 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from vancouver

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Goodview and best plavc. Breakfast is super and staff are kind
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Salem, OR

Great get away!!!

Posted Sep 23, 2017
Pros: see above
Cons: Having lunch available, aside from breakfast and dinner in restaurant.
Location: Most convenient to government buildings and museums.
Great get away; a terrific view of harbor, nice, exceptionally clean room, friendly helpful, staff, convenient to sights and sounds of a beautiful city........
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from bc

If I had 4 kids it would have been good

Posted Sep 21, 2017
I'm used to an up to date hotel. The fixtures carpet and furnishings were out dated. The towels were on the tiny side and the room was not laid out with any design. No a/c made the room feel warm and moist. If Someone were to go in and reposition most of the wall hangings and some of the furniture it would help Also the kitchen had no way of doing dishes aka cloth and soap so it made us leery on using any of the dishes. It was however very spacious if we had needed to through a bunch of kids on the ground in sleeping bags. The water pressure was good And although the pool was small it was a good temperature and clean. close to the marina
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 21, 2017
The hotel is elderly. There is a sign on front of the hotel suggesting that the hotel will be converted to condos. Nothing will therefore be up dated Breakfasts were very poor except the porridge. Not worth it
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island

Posted Sep 20, 2017
It is in my financial bracket, it is located where I like to stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Garbage found in room and drains did not work

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Pros: View
Cons: Cleanliness, attention to detail
Location: Location is great
When I first arrived the room was not ready, we had a drink across the street and waited. Once it was ready we were able to change and go check out the shops. We came back to the room after dinner and found that there was garbage left by the previous occupants, fast food containers, half used toiletries in the shower and left over room keys. Small clutter that I just tossed in the garbage. Went to have a shower and the water was pooling up to my mid calf. When I got out of the shower I called the front desk to advise them of the issues. They just THANKED me for letting them know, hotel standards should always offer an alternative. In the morning, when we showered the water pooled again and this time pulled up a bunch of sand from the drain. The bathroom drain did the same, just washing your face or brushing your teeth left a sandy pool. We were on the 10th floor so not sure how sand was getting up the pipes, but this is just a sign that the drains were severely clogged. When checking out I told the front staff and all she said was "you should have called maintenance," I told her that it only happened this morning, which is why I am telling you now. Overall the hotel is dated, it has a nice view, but I would be concerned about the cleanliness. Definitely not worth the $224 that we paid, we won't be coming back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Hotel pros and cond

Posted Sep 19, 2017
The hotel is older however for the most part it's suitable. Stayed in an ocean view suite; I'm sure harbour view would be more appealing.The suites would be ideal for families. The beds are very comfortable. The rooms do not have A/C which is uncomfortable during warm seasons; the ceiling fans are not enough. Some upgrades required as the fan in living area rattled and was noisy. It was nice to have the buffet breakfast included complimentary; really nice selection. The Vic restaurant pricing is too high for this hotel; they are trying to serve higherend meals in a 3.5/4 rated hotel. The location of the hotel is perfect, walking distance to Fishermen's Wharf, the pier, harbour and downtown.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Langley, BC

Beautiful views

Posted Sep 18, 2017
Had a very nice stay here. Location is great as are the views. Staff was accommodating to our needs when our plans changed and we needed to check in early. Would definitely book this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 18, 2017
No complaints. Great staff, convenient location, excellent breakfast!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Hotel close to pier

Posted Sep 17, 2017
Pros: Closeness to the pier and right in downtown Victoria
Cons: Rooms
Location: Excellent location
This hotel was OK for overnight stay in Victoria as it was right across from the Parliament building and only one block from the pier. The room needs to be refreshed. We stayed next to three rooms of teenage boys who went in and out of their rooms and had music turned way up. Had to call the front desk to ask them to address the issue. Parking was free for expedia members which was a nice bonus but breakfast was not included.