Ratings based on 1,515 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

Great location; disappointing service

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Pros: Location
The hotel is a little old and tired, but it does have a spectacular location. Unfortunately, our room had no view and switching was not an option as hotel was fully booked. One night a wedding booking kept us up until after 1:00 am with their very loud music and partying. The next morning, we complained to the front desk. But because we didn't call them the night before, they dismissed our complaint, saying it couldn't have been that bad! Never apologized and didn't offer any compensation. That's a terrible service attitude.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel next to Harbour

Posted Sep 5, 2017
Pros: Bathroom, views, WIFI,, pillows
Cons: nothing
Enjoyable stay in lovely Victoria. The room was great,, outstanding bathroom with views of the harbour. Hotel was in a good location with easy access to downtown Victoria via a short walk along the seawall.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vermont

Outstanding staff

Posted Sep 3, 2017
The front desk staff, bellmen and Aura wait staff and bartender were wonderful. The front desk staff were patient and attentive and anticipated many needs. Staff members went out of their way to arrange for a bellman to retrieve a bag we had left in the parked car and bring it to our room. On our departure, the front desk staff inquired where we were headed and if we needed directions. He gave us detailed, understandable driving instructions, a wonderful map and even a list of restaurants that included up-island towns on our way to Tofino. We have drifted by The Inn at Laurel Point on the Coho many times, dreaming that one day we would stay. This time we did and could not be more pleased with everything. Our stay stands out - among many other hotels on our two week journey - as one of the most memorable, and for all the right reasons.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Bernardino, CA

A Wonderful Experience

Posted Aug 31, 2017
Pros: Ambience, cleanliness, quality of staff.
Cons: the restaurant could stand an increase in their selections and choices..
Location: There are lots of restaurants, shops and sights in the immediate surrounding area. All within walking distance.
We really enjoyed our stay at the Hotel. The staff was especially helpful, accommodating and friendly (Mary, Dan,Ray and Darren). Our room location was perfect! This hotel is awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Excellent location!

Posted Jul 25, 2017
This is our second time to stay in this hotel. The location is within walking distance to all attractions, museums, the Parliament, shopping, restaurants, downtown and a hundred yards away from the two ferry terminals, the Victoria Clipper and the Black Ball Ferry. The hotel is right in the harbor but away from the maddening crowd. Our room is very comfortable with a full view of the harbor. We really enjoyed our stay. We had breakfast and dinner at the Aura restaurants and the food were delicious. The staff at this restaurant was pleasant and efficient. The lobby and reception areas are very uninviting and need a bit of a spruce up. Overall we like our stay and will come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Brisbane,Australia

Spacious rooms,close to everything.

Posted Jul 22, 2017
Pros: Central quiet location and views
We recently stayed here for 3 nights in a Erikson studio suite.The harbour views were amazing.The main room with the bed and the bathroom were both huge.We had breakfast in Aura restaurant.The food was great.My wife rated the bed the best we had stayed in after staying in 4 other places.The location was central as it was an easy walk to central Victoria but was quiet to sleep at night.We found all the staff to be very helpful and polite.We would definately stay here again and highly recomend this hotel to others.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from P

Ideal Location!

Posted Jul 20, 2017
Not only is this Hôtel near most attractions and restaurants, it has an excellent view of the harbor. Rooms are clean, have good space, and service is both prompt and friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Santa Barbara CA

Wonderful hotel on the harbor

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: The location is wonderful. It is a very easy and pleasant walk from the hotel to the Parliament Building and Empress Hotel and downtown.
Cons: We were a little disappointed in the menu at the restaurant. It seemed that they were trying to hard to have "weird" dishes. Sea Jelly in our salad?
Location: The location is great. Easy to walk to town, the Parliament area. We had "Tea" nearby at the Pendray Inn & Tea House, and fisherman's wharf is close.
What a great hotel. We were warmly greeted and our anniversary was immediately acknowledged, with pleasant good wishes. The staff is very friendly and helpful. It is a wonderful location, with great views of the harbor. We loved it!!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from toronto

stayed at better

Posted Jul 17, 2017
Pros: Location Easy to walk to town
Cons: Overhaul of front reception Outside curb appeal Stop asking if we have a reservation every time we visit the aura ( lots of empty tables)
Location: Centre of bay Close to restaurants and some sites
Hotel s tired if you stay in the Laurel Wing No chairs on balcony so you really can't enjoy the view Cleanliness is excellent Beds are somewhat hard
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Posted Jul 14, 2017
We did not get the expected view as worth the money I paid.