Ratings based on 1,439 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ottawa Canada

Lovely area

Posted Jan 7, 2018
Would stay here again the hotel is beautiful and full of Emily Carr oil paintings. The restaurant and pub have great food and accessible from the hotel lobby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver Island, BC

A Nice Inn close to downtown and friends apartment

Posted Jan 6, 2018
Pros: It was very clean and quiet. Location was perfect.
Cons: No improvements necessary.
We just wanted a pleasant evening visiting our friend and going out for dinner. It was New Year's Eve, the weather was perfect for walking and Victoria -was still lit up for Christmas - beautiful. We had been upgraded to a suite - very clean and quiet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Convenient

Posted Dec 30, 2017
Pros: Ditto from above
Location: From experience box
We really enjoyed the 'days gone by' look and feel of the inn. CONVENIENT: close to family we were visiting, a pub/restaurant at the location with very tasty meals, close to the bay and government buildings, a nice walk to the ocean. Clean, uncluttered rooms. Quiet. Staff--front desk, housekeeping, pub/restaurant-- who understand hospitality. The Inn provided a continental breakfast for Christmas morning.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Interesting old hotel.

Posted Dec 28, 2017
Pros: close to the family I was visiting.
Interesting, is the best description. No room cleaned on Christmas Day, which they did not tell me when I checked in. No compensation in the room rate for that day either. When I questioned this, they said there was a letter on the front counter.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2017
Great place to stay in Victoria. Really clean, comfortable and close to every interesting places to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from comox valley, b.c.

Fine and funky

Posted Dec 7, 2017
Great older hotel across from Beacon Hill Park. Nice blend of older architecture and comfortable up to date amenities.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great location

Posted Nov 20, 2017
Pros: location
Cons: to be able to control room temperature
Location: lots of walking to shops, imax, water front.
We love the location, and the price. Only complaint was the room was to hot and we had no control over temperature.We opened our windows at night, but then we got the noise of the traffic. All in all a good stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Classic Hotel - Very good restaurant

Posted Nov 16, 2017
Pros: Very clean, cozy and comfortable.
Cons: Needed an extension cord to plug in all my electronics at night. Trouble logging into wifi with my PC though no trouble with my phone.
All personnel very friendly. Rooms "classic", very clean and comfortable. Cozy pub and a very good and not expensive restaurant. Very friendly and efficient service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Parksville BC

Nice Heritage Hotel in James Bay

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Having the restaurant and pub in the building for meals. Quiet neighbourhood and close to downtown tourist area.
Cons: Having an elevator in the hotel would be nice for mobility issues.
Location: Beacon Hill Park, Fisherman's Wharf, Parliament Buildings, Royal Museum, Empress Hotel, Inner Harbour, downtown Victoria within walking distance!
This is a nice Heritage Inn Hotel in James Bay and walking distance to lovely Dallas Rd., Beacon Hill Park, the Inner Harbour, the Empress Hotel, the Royal Museum, Parliament Buildings and a nice walk into downtown Victoria. Very clean rooms and comfortable beds. The rooms are not new and modern because it's an older heritage hotel, but very homey feeling, and very clean. Bathrooms are very clean, with a bath tub and shower combined. Lots of parking. The Restaurant and neighborhood Pub is below the Hotel. The Restaurant is open for breakfast at 7:30 am - nice variety of breakfast items and the restaurant is also open all day for lunch and dinner - kid friendly - and the Pub is open from 11 am into the late evening - legal age is 19. The only drawback to the hotel is that there is no elevators, so you have to climb about 12 to 15 steps outside of the hotel to get to the main level to the Hotel, which is the first floor. If your room is on the 2nd or 3rd floor, then you have more stairs to climb. If one has mobility issues, this could be a problem, especially carrying your luggage up the stairs. In the mornings, there is coffee, tea and water available in the hotel lobby to take back to your room or they have a lovely sitting area in the lobby along with a public computer available. As long as you have no mobility issues for climbing stairs with luggage, it's a nice hotel and so close to everything in the downtown tourist area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alberta

Character hotel great location

Posted Nov 15, 2017
Pros: Location, price, unique feel.
Cons: The only drawback which didn't affect us but might others is there is a long flight of stairs to access the main lobby. No elevator.
Location: Very easy to walk everywhere including museums, harbour, Empress hotel and legislature. In an older area so lovely to walk through.
This older hotel has lots to offer for a reasonable rate. Our room itself was on the smaller side but large bathroom and a nice little reading area just down the hall. A balcony also down the hall to sit out on. It is situated in a beautiful area of Victoria with lots of older and beautiful homes. There is a cafe downstairs which had great breakfasts as well. Being able to walk down to the harbour/legislative buildings in about 15 minutes was really so handy.