Ratings based on 1,374 Verified Reviews

4.1 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Freeland, Wa

Quiet location but near city centre

Posted Sep 20, 2017
We're two seniors in our 70's. From where we got off the ferry from Port Angeles, it was less than a 5 minute ride on our bikes to the James Bay Inn. We dropped off our backpacks and went on a great ride along Dallas and Crescent Rds, up Beach drive to the Kiwanis tea room. Back at the Inn, we found our room spacious , comfortable, and very clean. We enjoyed the $4 daily cocktail special from the Pub downstairs, had an adequate dinner in the restaurant, and a delicious breakfast there in the morning. We walked for five minutes to the IMAX theatre in the BC museum. All in all, a very enjoyable 24 hours in Victoria.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Quaint Clean Hotel Close to Parliament Buildings

Posted Sep 19, 2017
Front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful. Nice quiet central location with clean rooms. Will definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary

Posted Sep 17, 2017
The hotel made a big effort to provide power for our electric vehicle. Much appreciated!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cardiff UK

Quiet but good location

Posted Sep 15, 2017
We stayed in the house which is next door but one to the hotel. It was great, two double bedrooms, a lounge and a kitchen. Everything was so clean and above our expectation. The staff on our arrival were very accommodating. We were going whale watching with Eagle Wing Tours (which I also highly recommend) and the chap on reception on his instigation phoned to check whether we needed coats etc. (in fact they supply everything you need). We had supper in the pub attached to the hotel. It isn't gastronomy but it did the trick for us after the day out at sea. Service was efficient and very pleasant. Breakfast was good too. We left with a feel good factor.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Posted Sep 11, 2017
Pros: Food was excellent and service in the pub was great.
The hotel is a short walk to the waterfront. Staff were helpful and rooms are nicely renovated while maintaining the history of the building.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Great location!

Posted Sep 10, 2017
Pros: Location and comfy lobby.
Cons: Our room was a little snug, but it is an old building. Parking was tight too.
Location: Walked downtown to the Inner Harbour and further to Chinatown. Walked to the Emily Carr House.
Loved being walking distance from downtown and the Emily Carr house. Restaurant downstairs was handy and our discounted breakfast was tasty and economical. Also liked the water and free coffee & tea available in the lobby. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Quebec

Well situated. Charming hotel. Good reception

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Pros: The welcome. Accessible to downtown and the port. Facilities : Restaurant. open at 7h30. It was good for us.
Cons: Nothing that I can see.
It was satisfying. We were not disappointed. The price was correct.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Wellington New Zealand

Comfortable and well located hotel

Posted Sep 9, 2017
Very comfortable room. Good restaurant on site. Hotel is well located, with downtown Victoria and many of the sights within easy walking distance. Hotel does not have a lift which would be an inconvenience to some. Also hair dryer in room would be an improvement. Overall, we really enjoyed our three-day stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san fransisco ca

Posted Sep 8, 2017
Pros: It was a old hotel and cozy room.
Cons: I don't think do any things more because the place is old
Location: That was excellent very close to town
The place was good because it was very closed to all the activities and we like walking to town
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alberta

Lovely location. We'd stayed in the house two year

Posted Sep 6, 2017
Great food, room is very basic. Wished they'd had a hair dryer.